The ink well prompt #55/ Memory loss

pexels_photo_3967438.jpeg

Lisafotios

"Hey, relax you're safe now " the lady said to me.
"Who are you? And where am I?" I asked confused.
"In Graciela, I found you last night lying in the middle of the road cold and butt naked. Luckily you had a pulse and I brought you home".

I tried sitting up. And looked at myself I had clothes on, they were big. If she found me naked them how come I had clothes on I thought. She must have clothed me. I tried recalling what happened and how I ended up butt naked in the streets but nothing was forthcoming.

"I want to go home" I pleaded with her. Trying to get off from the bed with her sitting at the edge.
"Home? You know home? I'll be glad to take you there." She said with her eyes lighting up. Again I tried recalling but I was blank as the first time. No memories of who I was and how I got in the road. I guessed she sensed it as she held my hands and said.

"Don't worry the sheriff will be here soon. We will find your family" she stood up from the bed and made to leave. "But for the mean time breakfast will be ready in five. That's the bathroom you can freshen up and join me." She pointed to a door by the corner. And left the room.

I sat there confused. I couldn't tell who I was before but I could tell I felt different. I heard echoes in my head. My palms felt stronger. I tried grabbing a cup by the corner but it broke just as I lifted it. I had cut myself. Blood gushed out of my hands and before I could try to clean it ,it dried up.

"What's going on" I asked no one in particular.

Just then I heard noises downstairs. I opened the door and left the room I followed the voice downstairs to the sitting room where the voice was emanating from. The woman and a police man sat there discussing. I stood by the door so the couldn't see me and listened to what the were saying.

"Are you saying he could be one of them.?" The woman asked.

"Yeah. From the story you told me of how you found him that's the same way stories I'd the others that were found" the sheriff said.

"So, I'm sorry we can't take him home now. If that's what you wanted. He has to be taken to the facility and quarantined just to be sure he isn't harmful to the society"

"But, don't you think we should try find his family first?"

"No! This decision is the best for us all" the sheriff concluded. And they went silent for some seconds as the sheriff made a call with his phone. I couldn't tell what he was saying.

I was scared. I didn't know what he meant by quarantine and facility. Who are the others that was lost also?. What was going on?. I thought to myself. I looked around the room I needed to find something. I needed to do something. I tried running out through the back door. But just at the door something caught my attention. A newspaper. Lying right on the table in the hallway. I grabbed it and on the headline read.

ALIEN INVASION; TEN MORE KIDS ABDUCTED BY ALIENS FOUND IN ONE NIGHT.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency