Tears of Joy

pexels_photo_3769706.jpeg

imagesource/Pexels

I was sad and bitter, when I got a letter from the University (VC) Vice Chancellor I wasn't expecting it at all. But deep down I knew something terrible must have happened. I was scared, everything I could think of was trouble. I couldn't get myself to open the letter I got from the VC. The only thought on my mind was bad news, it is a well known fact in school that if you get a letter directly from the VC you were in trouble. Either expulsion or otherwise.

I had no choice but to kneel down and tell God, let your will be done. Gradually I opened the letter. I was gently bringing it out from the envelope. With shaky hands and cold feet my heart was beating so fast. I wasn't myself I felt something terrible was going to happen when I read this letter.

Summoning courage I began reading. Still engulfed with bad memories of friends who got the same letters from the VC.

"Dear Jerry,

This is to notify you that your struggle to pay up your school fees has ended. Your fees have been paid by someone who wishes to be anonymous.
Note you're no longer owing the school till your final year."

I was in shock. I became so excited and happy. I couldn't contain the joy in my heart.

I had struggled to fund myself through school. I could remember when I almost lost hope in paying up my fees, I begged and looked up to people for assistance.

My family wasn't buoyant and couldn't afford the meagre sum for my fees so calling home for assistance wasn't even helpful.

Dad had passed away and mum has been struggling to Carter for me and my siblings. Things were hard, so when I was admitted to the university it was a thing of joy but mum told me I should forfeit the admission due to lack of money but my mind set kept telling me I should work towards it, not knowing my God has a big plan for me.

Now I can focus on completing my education, get a job and get my family out of poverty. Maybe one day find the anonymous helper and repay him.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency