The Ink Well writing challenge | The Merchant Marine

ship3493887_640.jpg
Fuente

rojo.png

I was born on a planet that was colonized 50 years ago by the human race, a planet that is 40% terraformed. Equipped with a sun almost identical to the old one, with 32 hours of rotation and 249 days of translation, a little smaller in size proportions, with three moons or asteroids orbiting the planet, and, above all, 30% of land to settle humanity. It is mostly made up of islands.

I am the first generation born on the planet to become a merchant marine. One of the best paid careers after astronauts. Because inter-island trade enriches the economy of society. However, humanity, being conflictive from the beginning, fights for its territories against its own species. The first generation with the greatest offer for a deficient fleet of ships willing to give us shelter. I was born in a world where survival is paramount. I grew up to become indispensable, obtaining knowledge about navigation on the high seas, advanced first aid, astronomy, reading currents, electro-quantum, resistance mechanics, administration, chemistry, and an endless amount of knowledge to get a place on one of those many ships that sail the sea.

After a year waiting for my academic internship, my investment of knowledge finally paid off and I boarded my first ship.

ʻThe Night Breeze is one of the oldest ships of the seas of this world,ʼ said the Bosun haughtily. ʻIt has never been demolished in these 25 years it has been built, it is a ship conceived for bulk cargoes. And you newcomers should understand that it is up to us to see that this ship reaches its destination.ʼ

Although I was a cadet destined to become third deck officer, I had to learn all the trades and parts that made up the ship, from the keel to the names of the bulkheads. And no one better than the Bosun for that task, at that time I was a mere sailor.

The first few months I spent on deck taking orders from the bosun, mostly cleaning and tidying up like the other sailors. The ship did not sail either, due to the brawls on the open sea it was difficult to organize a sea route to carry the shipment. The day I was first assigned to the second officer we set sail.

ʻSet Sail!ʼ they were shouting, while the alarm was sounding on the bridge.

I was going to witness what it meant to sail the seas. The Night Breeze was a ship that despite being old could reach 25 knots in a short time. As soon as we left the port the real machinery of the ship came to light.

ʻWe are approaching the Sea of Battle, cadet. Named for the countless battles fought there every day. It is inevitable to avoid that pointʼ he was showing me the nautical charts reflected in the holograms, in which the draught, the direction of the tide and the wind, as well as the location of the ship were visualized. ʻIf we leave unharmed in 4 days we will be in Nova Orpheus.ʼ

The radar was detecting targets as the ship advanced into the war zone, it was essential to use it to navigate, the smoke from the shots and incessant explosions make navigation difficult. I saw the radar and located ships surrounding us, however, the captain gave orders left and right.

ʻFull ahead, helmsman, 45 degrees to starboard immediatelyʼ he did so by consulting the radar.

So many cannon shots were heard that sometimes the captain's orders were not heard, but through specially adapted headphones for radio communications on the bridge they were clearly heard.

ʻHelmsman correct course, keep the course we had been on for another 5 minutesʼ we could hear the orders as if he were at our side. ʻReduce speed, 15 degrees to port immediately.ʼ

Several times we avoided collisions with various wrecks. A CPA from a nautical mile away appeared on the radar screen. I had to be vigilant and learn what I could. The situation was getting tricky, so the third officer sent for me. In the midst of the storm of projectiles and evasive maneuvers, I found myself checking with my superior to make sure that the lifeboats were in a condition to set sail.

A few moments were enough for the ship to break in half. We had not boarded any shipwreck, one of the projectiles exploded off the starboard side, causing the flooding of the engine area in the process. It was seconds before the force made a mess and the ship broke up. Following the command of the third officer, I boarded the lifeboat accompanied by the second officer and three sailors who were experts in the art of navigation. I wanted to protest such decisions, but I was silenced by my companions, there was no time to lose.

The boat came out of what was left of the Night Breeze, we dodged in the air countless warrior ships. We had weapons as well as the destroyed ship. They delegated the function of sniper to me and another sailor, between the two of us we kept different enemy ships at bay. My eyesight did not leave the sea for a moment. Wherever I put my eye, I was sinking targets, but I also detailed the picture that I could not see on the bridge. It was a battle all against all, many ships had electromagnetic shields more powerful than the Night Breeze and their resistance to fusion bombs was robust.

ʻWe can manoeuvre more easily, we're not affected by the leeway, full ahead helmsman with 25 degrees to starboard,ʼ shouted the second officer.

Many times we pass through huge holes in other ships wounded in battle. Our helmsman was an expert in using other ships as a shield and getting rid of the sinking. The crunch of steel shook my bones, the cries for help were constant and the smell of death emanated from the sea.

Thanks to our performance we were able to get out of the nightmare, I remember it was already night and the sky was clear. We were entering an island, a swamp to be exact. Mangroves surrounded our surroundings, the noise of the struggle still echoed in the distance and combined with the noise of the local crickets. Peace reigned there.

ʻRest what you can, we must regroup with the survivors of the Night Breeze, each lifeboat is equipped with an EPIRB, which emits the signal for help. If other vessels from the same shipping company were to locate us by their radar.ʼ

No matter how much the second officer spoke, I lay down on the floor to look at the sky through a small opening made in the hull of the boat.

ʻCadet all right?ʼ the officer's shadow soaked my eyes. ʻIt's normal to be overwhelmed by what happened. It is difficult at first to process how humanity is degraded to the point that it competes for resourcesʼ the officer sat next to me.

Above us millions of stars shone without the pollution of the cities. Apple, The Colonel, The Western Dragon and The Dancing Swan were reflected as one of the many guiding constellations of the planet. I studied them for so long that it was easy to materialize them in my mind.

ʻCompetition is something natural in human beings. It is immersed in your genes, so you must live competing against yourself all the time, and don't be fooled by books, against others too. This new world is a replica of the old one, led by the most powerful companies that fight to take over unexplored regions to obtain more goods and more power.ʼ The second officer remained silent, but proceeded to be motivated by the atmosphere he had created ʻwe are just pieces that they move at will.ʼ

That night as I stared at the naked sky something changed in me. I stopped being a cadet and became something else.

rojo.png

otrotamaño.png
Separators made in photoshop

The Ink Well Challenge


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency