The first human | The Ink Well Prompt #13

photo_2021-05-01_21-08-00.jpg

ol.png

LeeZeng YongHuang Jie
Alex M5NyotaThe Multiverse

New Stories

From fisherman's son to gladiator

Previous stories, read them in any order.


ol.png
Do you read me? Opening navigation log, Commander Lee speaking. I wanted to put on record that the burden of being a leader is not easy. I understand what Commander Synom had to go through with a child in his care.

Pause...

The recruits should be sleeping, as should the rest of the crew. Still, I cannot sleep peacefully. I argue again with Nyota, she does not understand that the course of events cannot be changed.

Pause...

Otherwise, I would have gone back to my parents a thousand years ago. Just before their son was abducted by some Bougainvillea. Just after I hid from those beings and saw different versions of the earth.

Pause...

The Bougainvillea are intelligent beings capable of traveling the timeline of any world. If a human could contemplate them as I did, I would compare them to a kind of living flora. I quote it for a laugh, abducted by flowers. Pathetic! But for a child it wasn't, they wanted to experiment with my anatomy. Beings with roots instead of legs, with multiple arms or branches capable of slicing with ease, with a single green eye watching my every move.

Pause...

Just then as I was running through the corridors or floral mazes of their spaceship I could see the ponds. There they were growing versions of the earth that would have traumatized an ordinary child. I saw the earth in chaos because of a massive asteroid. Although it would destroy them in a matter of 10 years, I saw them destroying themselves in panic, rather than acting...

Pause...

I saw realities where a strange purple mass emitted the eeriest sound heard up to that point. And witnessed how it absorbed human bodies until it drained their lives. I saw a world ruled by cats, proving far more peaceful than its previous rulers.

Pause...

I spent hours running from my captors until one of the O.M.O. squads showed up, the Monosodes, I called them that because it was the last word I learned from my father.

Pause...

Those memories are what keep me awake at night. Being the first human to be part of the O.M.O. I still feel the weight of possessing the secrets of the multiverses, to avoid more abuses against the human race. And here I have a human who wants to alter the order.

Pause...

The Monosodium Squadron, the Monosodium Squadron. Just to remember my father. My father who was eaten by a monster, I trained for nothing...

Pause...

I saw versions where my parents conceived another child and forgot me, versions where I never disappeared. At least in one of those worlds, my father is still alive.

Pause...

Nyota's stance puts me in a difficult position. Of course, I hate Blattoderos, nauseating beings capable of wiping out a planet in a matter of two years or less depending on their reproduction. Almost impossible to defeat, but if the equipment exists to exterminate them. But she wants to go further, to exterminate them and that is impossible. You can't go to such acts.

Nyota thinks I don't realize that her hatred is growing every day, but I can't find a way to stop those emotions. Not even when I confessed to him that my father was killed by one.

Pause...

It's as if I wanted to exterminate the Bougainvillea for taking me away from my home. But I have managed to meet civilizations capable of being generous. However, it isn't the same with the Blattoderos, in no reality or world are they able to enter into reasoning. If it were not for that unnatural ability to survive the cold of space, they would not invade worlds.

Pause...

I don't know what decision to make.

Transmission out...

ol.png

ingles banner (2).jpg


otro-tamaño.png

Cover and Banner made in Canva, image used from Canva, Dividers made in Photoshop.

The Ink Well Prompt #13


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency