One year

halo7.png

I was arriving home and it felt different. The paint on the house, the fence on the gate, the flowers scattered in the yard, and even the smell of breakfast was strange to me. They weren't different, but they were foreign to me.

I walked forward intrigued as to how my mother and two sisters would see me. I stood in front of the wooden door and prepared to knock, but I didn't. I stood there for five minutes inhaling the smell of the varnish. The house was freshly painted, it was nearing the end of the year. However, for me, it was the beginning of a new life.

"A year ago I left," I mused and knocked.

I listened to my younger sister Alicia's embarrassed steps and heard how she complained to my mother about having to open the door.

I mentally counted 3 minutes in my mind as she gave way to her life again. As soon as she saw me she screamed outrage, she couldn't help but smile as my little sister jumped on me. My sister Ana also came out and when she saw me she looked at me with hatred, but the worst of all was to see my old mother. When my mother saw me, she burst into tears and I couldn't help crying too.

"It's been a long time, my son."

"One year, mother," I said, sipping my tears.

I had changed. My mind was no longer the same, I kissed my mother, hugged my sister, and watched TV with them for a while before going to bed. After a warm welcome, I found myself in my bed staring at the ceiling. I couldn't sit still tomorrow, I had to move, I was in constant motion for a year, even when I slept. However, despite the discomfort of silence and stillness I slept until ten o'clock in the morning.

"You've changed," my mother said to me as she watched me make my bed.

"Why do you say that," I asked, pretending to be innocent.

"Before, you didn't make your bed."

"I was planning to clean the whole room today."

My mother smiled and left me alone.

The next day I got up earlier. At six in the morning, I was already dressed to take my papers to the university. Those papers turned into a week and the week turned into a month. After a month of correcting the internship report and handing in my missing papers, I was not left alone with that routine.

"You have become ambitious, son," said my mom one day when she came over to see what I was looking at on the laptop.

I was looking at apartment prices and local rental prices.

"I can't stand by and wait for time to pass in front of my face anymore, mother," I kept looking apprehensively.

"You've changed," she mused as she walked away and left me in the darkness of my room.

My graduation was in three months and seven days counting. I had to generate the money to pay for the event, as well as pay for the courses I had to take to become a professional. I began to push forward with my entrepreneurship.

I had read countless books on entrepreneurship, but this was different, it was living in my bones. However, I learned to lead and listen carefully within a year. I went to work as a math teacher and helped other friends' businesses. I immersed myself in the tide of work, something I thought unthinkable the year before. I can't lie, I was tired of the routine, but on the high seas, the work was worse. Still, I longed to return.

My venture paid off and my income increased. I decided with those small profits that remained for me to invest in bonds in the stock market. I had previously taken a course and knew how it worked.

"You look like a man" My mother hugged me and kissed me on the forehead.

I was dressed in my toga looking at the entrance to the aula magna, where I would be given my degree. I was nervous, but I had my family supporting me.

"After this, what's next?" asked my sister Ana.

"More work," I said determinedly.

"And your dream of starting your own company," my sister snorted mockingly.

"Shut up," interjected my mom and my sister Alicia.

"That's why, sis, there's more work to do to build it.

"And isn't it enough to sail for a few years? That's what you always said, sail and set up your own travel agency company!"

"That's what I'll do, sis," and I hugged her to shut her up. "I need more than that to cement it, I need more contacts, I need more experience, and all that leads to more work."

Shutting up my mouthy sister I walked into the classroom. Standing there on the dais looking at my family and friends I thought, yes, all that comes from working, but working for yourself. I received the cap with the degree and I only thought of one thing.

"You have changed, son," said Captain Anton as he shook my hand.

"That's exactly what I was thinking, Captain" I was already a third officer in the merchant navy. "One year changes life."

halo7.png

banner ultimo diseño (2).png

Cover taken with Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 S and Banner made in Canva; Separators made in photoshop

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency