A unique excursion | The Ink Well Prompt

THE INK WELL (11).png

halo7.png

The first time I went up the mountain alone and got lost. I am used to the mountain environment. Its imposing cloud forests that enveloped the most cautious to get lost, that essence of finding myself in prehistoric times when contemplating the huge rocks scattered on the path to the spiritual nothingness. My routine was to go exclusively for the first time and feel alone with nature.

Now I was lost. I had encountered a Y-shaped path, shrouded in mist-laden with water droplets. By inertia, I chose the left path and passed a log that I had to pass crouching down. A log teeming with life and flora, a log that, even though it had fallen from the storms, struggled to shelter the neighborhood. Mushrooms, flowers, and ants scurried about the log.

I took my time walking that path, taking pictures with my cell phone. Captivated by a path that I thought I already knew beforehand. I felt that I should soon find myself in the sub-páramo zone, but the cloud forest continued to envelop me with its leafy trees. I tried to turn back the way I had come, but it turned out to be the same way I was already walking. That is, if I turned back, I didn't turn back, I just kept walking as I was walking, heading towards the strange.

At no time did I feel the trees moving like in the movies. It was as if backward or forwards were the same direction. For the first time, I felt disoriented in that place. Until I understood that I had just walked through a door.

The atmosphere changed.

In front of me, a natural panorama was drawn. It was as if instead of being on a mountain, I was in the same cloudy jungle. In the distance, I could make out an imposing mountain. That could not be possible.

Maybe the lens I had for my eyes were confusing me. However, even the weather was colder. The mist was coming out of my lips, while my astonished eyes saw a singular eagle flying.

The eagle was huge, but, although it seemed to fly, it seemed to appear in different areas at the same time. As if there was a small opening in the air that transported it to another place. The animal also glowed a platinum color, as if it were made of steel. However, it was that such an animal could fly, let alone transport itself in a few moments to the right, then to the left, and finally appear about 10 meters ahead.

I thought my eye lenses were defective, cleared my eyes, and contemplated again. Then some deer appeared in front of me. The animals did not gallop through the forest, but flew as well, or somehow appeared in the treetops and then magically appeared near the ground, only to disappear again. They emerged a few meters in front of me and vanished before touching the ground.

Curious, I took a few steps forward, where they disappeared, and I was transported to the top of the trees. Something pulled me and I saw myself back on the ground, but 20 meters ahead I materialized.

I was in a world where moving would be a problem for me.
My movements attracted the attention of the predator in that habitat. A golden jaguar that shone as brightly as the eagle I had previously observed. I didn't think twice and ran, or so I thought I did. I could see myself being transported to different directions without being any specific one. The golden jaguar just yawned at me in the distance, as I skated through that world.

The most unusual thing was the rain. The drops did not end up falling to the ground. They danced like the leaves in our world before crashing. As it danced unintentionally through the air until it hit the ground, I visualized the raindrops as flocks of birds or columns of water that ended up merging into a thin column that crashed against the trees or the ground. Either way, it was a chaotic beauty that mesmerized me.

In my stumbles, I ended up plunged into a kind of floating river. As I submerged in its waters I could see that where the riverbed passed the land at its feet nothing grew. I tried to swim to that land, but the force of the current was stronger than me. A last glance before passing out was to detect coins, pieces of metal, and plastics deposited on that ground.

I opened my eyes. Water was trickling down my body, but it was due to the rain that was falling. I was lying on the ground, I felt like I was in my world again. The mist enveloped my being, a mist that did not disperse in any direction, it was a concise mist that clouded the vision of my eyes in any direction. I was back in my prehistoric world.

halo7.png

banner ultimo diseño (2).png

Cover and Banner made in Canva, Cover image of Canva; Separators made in Photoshop

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency