Letting Him GO | Headlights prompt story!

pexels-taryn-elliott-4099305.jpg
(picture from pexles): https://www.pexels.com/photo/man-and-woman-sitting-on-black-jeep-wrangler-4099305/

This is my entry for the 'headlight' prompt! enjoy!


The drive would’ve been completely silent, if it weren't for the low hum of the engine.

While Jerone kept his eyes locked on the empty road ahead, Mieta stared out to the right of her window, looking at the forest beside them. The rich green leaves on the trees were covered in water droplets, and the ground below was covered in dark, wet leaves.

Joshua sat in his carseat in the back, his arms crossed. His eyebrows were so low, they shadowed his eyes.

Jerone had finally made it to the top of the mountain, where there was a full deciduous forest. The place was empty. Good.

It was time to do what needed to be done.

“All right family. Out of the car.”

Four car doors opened. Jerone’s, Mieta’s, Joshua’s, and YED’s.

When YED got out, the car leaned to one side and then jiggled and bounced back to full hieght. The ground made a boom, as YED got out.

“Fix your face, Joshua.” Jerone said to his son.

Joshua blinked.

“Now.” Jerone snapped.

Joshua uncrossed his arms and raised his eyebrows slightly higher.

YED’s emerald eyes flashed from Mieta to his Jerome. His fingers twitched.

Jerone huffed. He tilted his head down to look YED in the eyes.

“YED. it’s time for you to go.” Jerone said.

“But Dad… I don’t really wanna,” YED said.

“You have to. If the government or police or anybody saw something like you, they’d kill you and have your body dissected and studied. You’d be put in a museum, boy. You're old enough to live on your own. You used to say you wanted to run away when you were younger. Well, here you are.”

“Dad, I was seven. You know I didn’t mean it. I can fight! I don’t have to leave. They can’t take me, I promise!” YED reasoned.

“I don’t want YED to go!” yelled Joshua.

“You stay out of this!” yelled Jerone.

“Honey, you have to go.” Mieta said, her eyes all glazy. “I hate to tell you this, but you ‘ain't human-”

“I know, I’m a yeti! I’ve known that since you both told me the minute you’d known I’d understand. The ground shakes when I walk! I once crushed a car with my bare hands! I can protect myself!

“But I have to protect my family!” Jerone yelled. “What if the police came to my house because of you!? I wouldn’t let them threaten Mieta or Joshua, I’d let them take you! I’m trying to let you free, YED. I’m trying to save your life, but if you won’t listen, what else can I do!?”

A golden light was materialising on the damp forest floor and on Joshua’s legs. A car was approaching. The light was headlights!

“Go, YED, now!” yelled Jerone.

And into the forest YED ran, never to be seen (by human) again.

As the family drove home, Joshua understood. Though he would miss YED, it was better for him to run off than get killed or worse.

Joshua understood that after 4 years of having an older brother, it was time to let him go.]


Check out my NFT's at: https://ab2.gallery/address/VFJRN2LQ3F6I65YKQIMF6ULSYVF3B5HJRNLOQMTYTBNPJQNSYJANGFL6KU

thanks for reading! :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency