THE UNBELIEVABLE HERO

andrew_neel_qlqnalpe0ra_unsplash.jpg

Photo by: Andrew Neel on Unsplash

Yesterday marked 3years that Christy had been working with a firm company very far from her parent's house in Lagos. She only travels home to meet her family on weekends and most times, work held her down throughout the weekend too and she won't be able to travel home, except talking to her parent via WhatsApp video explaining how tedious work is. She has always been praying for a promotion because she knew once she is promoted, things would be easier and she wouldn't have to start searching for more clients in the whole city of Ibadan.

Her mother never stopped praying too as she would always be in Church during week days trying to intercede for her daughter. Everyone at home kept hoping the best for their daughter especially that she is the breadwinner of the home. Her siblings are already in the higher institution and whatever she sends home, they are used in helping them in school and part of it would be for buying foods. She has always been doing this every month by sending money home to her parent and will never forget to get more items whenever she is traveling home.

A meeting was held two weeks after celebrating her 3yrs in the company. The company has a big contract that needs to be signed by a big company in town and with this, they are sure of making it big which would also move the company forward. Mr Dowen who is the owner of the company called a meeting and addressed everyone. He faced Christy at the end of the meeting;

"Christy, I know you have been working hard and also wanting a promotion for yourself. You will have to take up this task and get Fabricone Company to sign the contract. This assignment determines your promotion. Also, don´t forget this has a deadline too which will be submitted in one month.

"Have a good day" he said and everyone dispersed to their positions.

After two weeks

elisa_ventur_bmjaxaz6ads_unsplash.jpg
Photo by: Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

Christy was in her office with her head bowed down on the table, she was already deep in thought when her phone rang. It was her mom calling.

Hello my daughter, how are you? It's been a while you have called and we were all wondering because it's unlike you. What is the matter my dear?

"Mama, work has been much these days and I am trying to get an hard task done too. The company has assigned a tough task for me and my promotion is staked to it. I am trying to figure out ways to do it as I have tried my best submitting the file to be signed in at the company but whenever I go back, they wouldn't be signed on."

You are already stressing yourself, I could notice it in your voice. You need rest and remember God is always there for His children. He will surely help you my daughter.

"Okay Mummy, thank you. I am coming home this weekend. Greet Dad and others for me."

Christy had just stepped outside the company as she was going home when she heard her name being called. It was the security man.

"Hello madam, what's wrong with you? It seems your face isn't smiling today."

I am okay Mr. Daves! I am just tired and I need some rest. Thank you and good night.

"Okay ma, good night to you too."

The next day at the office, Mr Daves had cleaned up everywhere as he was being employed with double tasks. Cleaning everywhere including the office and also opening the gate. He would always clean early before the staff arrives.

He was cleaning Christy's office and saw a file on the table. He went through it and nod his head. He waited for Christy to arrive and so he went inside to meet her.

"Good morning Madam! How are you feeling today? I asked if there was anything wrong with you yesterday but you said no. I was cleaning your table this morning when I saw this file. If you don't mind, I could be of help. Don't look at me as a mere security and cleaner. I might help you."

Christy was surprised and also dumbfounded as she couldn't say anything. Perhaps she was thinking what could Mr Daves help her with. While still staring at him, he continued..

"Anyways, I can see you are doubting me but I know someone who would take this to the man you have been seeking to sign this for you. Just give me this file and I promise you it would be signed soon."

What are you saying Mr Daves? Do you think this is a joke? (pointing at the files on the table)

"Madam, I am serious here. Have I ever lied to you before? I know it's about your promotion here and you have been generous to me. I can be of help you would allow me."

Christy was trying to understand what Mr Daves had been saying since and she eventually opened up to him explaining how she has been going about the company but the owner of the company hasn't been around to sign for her. If you can do this, then I would be very happy.

She handed the file to him and he went.

After two days, he dropped the file on her table early in the morning. Christy arrived and was shocked to see the papers has been signed. She ran outside but couldn't see him.

She waited for him as she guessed he had gone to get something. When he returned, Christy ran to hug him so tightly..

Thank you so much Mr Daves, but how did you do it? In Just two days... she was shocked.

He explained how he had known a friend and he helped him out.

vinicius_wiesehofer_uoavp_z38le_unsplash.jpg
Photo by: Vinicius Wiesehofer on Unsplash

"You are my hero and you have saved me indeed. I owe you something great. Thank you so much." Christy was so happy

In the next meeting, Christy was promoted because of the huge task she did. The company progressed afterward.

Christy didn't forget Mr Daves as she paid three years rent for him but she never stopped giving him some things too.

Mr Daves was an Unlikely Hero to Christy and has always enjoyed the benefit.

I am glad to participate in this community this year and I hope to continue and thanks to @dreemport for this challenge too.

This is my entry for the #dreemportchallenge in collaboration with #TheInkWell community.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency