The Inkwell Prompt #56 - A CHANGED MIND

sean_kong_r2whdawjpxm_unsplash.jpg

Image by Sean Kong

It seems Akin has forgotten his promise while his wife was on the hospital bed eight years ago. His wife had made him promise to take care of their only daughter and must be made a priority as she suffered a chronic illness that was so obvious of leaving the world, leaving behind their 3yrs old girl with him. He knew the world wouldn't be okay if he is left with Hannah, but there is nothing to be done.

This was his first moment to know that there is no perfection anywhere. A world where money itself cannot cure any disease. Why then does he have the money when it couldn´t solve all problems?

He listened to his wife with these words;

Akin, my love. It saddens me to leave you alone when I know I should be around you, especially now that Hannah needs me. I understand it would be hard on you, taking care of Hannah, and I wouldn't want my child to suffer in the hands of a nanny or any other woman who isn't ready to take care of her as I would. Please, promise me you would take care of her, and perhaps you are thinking of having another woman, make sure Hannah is always your priority. I don't want her to be sad at all. Holding his hand, she stopped breathing. Sandra didn't finish her words before death took her away.

Akin´s attitude had changed when he remarried. It seems the woman she married had totally rubbed his eyes unknowingly, making him the opposite of what he used to be. He was never the same father to Hannah. While her stepmother would always maltreat and make her do all the tasks in the house before leaving for school, no matter how hard Hannah had tried to explain to her father, it got worse day by day. Many times, Akin would bang into her room with anger, fierce eyes and with a command tone, accompanying it with slapping to go out to get something for him, not minding how risky the road is.

The new attitude of her father has turned her into being more violent to herself inside, as she would tear herself with her teeth, bruises all over her and she never spoke anything to a single person because no one was ready to solve her problems.

Akin would always travel for business trips and might not be home for weeks, and this gave the new wife the chance to make Hannah suffer more with no one coming to rescue her. Gradually, the communication between her and her father was drifted apart.

When Hannah gets to school every morning, she would always have the thought of not going back home, but would be snapped out of it immediately because she does not know where to run to. She was just a little girl who never knew her relatives and her father made it worse by not allowing any member of his family into the house since the new wife came in.

One day, she was going round the library, trying to find a book after the closing hours of the school, when she met one of her classmates who was also reading

Hey! Why are you still in school? Are you not the girl who sits behind me in class?

I am not surprised if you do not know my name because you don't always talk to anyone and you aren't ready to listen to anyone

I am sorry, it's just that I have a lot on my mind and I have concluded no one can help me.

Really? What is your problem? Do you think everyone doesn't have a problem? We all do, in fact, the world is not a perfect place at all.
Anyway, I need to get going because of my mother. She would be worried by now

What about you? Aren't you planning on leaving for home?

Home? Which home? Let me follow you home please

My home? Why do you think my home is the option?

Let's go please, I might just spend few hours at your place before going to mine

Okay then, let's go.

As they were approaching her friend´s house, she heard some noise from inside.

Wait! Where is the noise coming from?

Come on, are you scared?

No, I am not. I just need to know where the noise is coming from

When they entered. Hannah was shocked to see a woman who is insane, being tied to the bed in the room.

Hannah, this is my mother. This was the reason I didn't want you to follow me home. You are the first person that now knows my home.

My mom has been sick since I was born and my dad ran away, leaving me behind with my mom. Thank God for good Samaritans who has always been looking after me till today because they believed it is a sickness that would soon varnish when I clock 20 years according to my mom´s tradition.

My dad couldn't endure it, as he thought it was a shame and embarrassment to him. I have been the one staying with my mom and hoping to be 20 soon so I can see my mom hale and hearty again.

Still shocked hearing all those, she had to change her mind to return back home because she thought her problem was worse, but here she is, with a problem worse than her own.

She waited for a few hours with her, taking care of her friend´s mother and when it was time, she went home.

When she got home, she found no one at home and was even more surprised to see the room empty. Her step mother had packed out of the house and Akin showed up, apologizing to his daughter for how he changed and maltreated her and promised never to marry any woman, but to stand by her always.

There is no perfection anywhere, even the world is a mess, she said

The End

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency