The Ink Well Prompt #58 - THE KING´S LAST WISH

kw_arts_ejz6jnfhg20_unsplash.jpg
Image on unsplash

In the kingdom of Zutanga, all the inhabitants including the strangers were living in good accord, in oneness and enjoying the reign of King Abada. King Abada was a noble man who had his people at heart and wouldn´t for once think of hurting them because he wants to see them happy with their lives and be able to work and get rewarded for their efforts on the farm. The king had a wife who got pregnant and had a son. The secret was between the king´s assistant (Jade) and herself as she pleaded with him not to reveal the secret as she wants her son to be the next after the king.

The king, in his palace alone, was thinking and ruminating over many things which made his face so wrinkled and didn´t know when his assistant entered to feed him back on the last message he sent him.

He spoke in a low tone, "My king, why is your face blank? Is there anything I need to know? Speak my Lord!"

The king turned around and heaved a heavy sigh, "Jade, how can I be happy when my reign is about to be destroyed? The heir to the throne is out of sight and anytime from now, I would be called to join my ancestors. I have no one to put on the throne. My son, whom I was hoping to be the next king, is something else. Just look at him. I am sure the people would suffer if he sits on my throne. What do I do if the kingship is given to another family? This means, none of my generation would be king again"

In a pitiful condition, Jade tried to pacify the king and encouraged him, "My Lord, I know this is why you are worried and I believe one thing, that the gods of our land will intervene and would change the prince's heart. This, I believe"

Looking as if he was trying to find a needle that dropped on the floor, he told Jade to move closer to him and whispered something in his ear....."shh, don´t scream! I am trusting you on this and I know you will help me out"

"Hmm", trying to reflect on the conversation, he assured the king to keep it a secret and make sure his son was found. On the other hand, he knew the prince was not the king's son, but the wife had an affair outside which made Jade know about it and decided to keep it a secret.

Few months later, the king was sick and summoned for Jade alone in his room. He held his hand so closely, "Jade, I have trusted you with my whole life since I mounted this throne of my forefathers. I believe in you, but I have this last wish to make which you must help me out."

Looking at the king with full focus and making sure no one was eavesdropping, "Speak, my Lord for no one hears at the moment"

With fainted eyes and lacking strength to speak out, he continued "Please, find my son, who is the first heir to the throne and make sure he is crowned king. Do everything you can in your power to make it possible"

"Yes, my Lord. I promise to do what you asked from me and it is already done"

The king gave his last breath and gave up the ghost.

His funeral was conducted and after some months, the wife started acting weirdly together with his son which made the villagers tremble in fear. With the aid of an external priest, the prince was crowned king, after Jade was sent out of the village and warned never to step foot in the palace again.

That was the beginning of suffering in the whole neighborhood and for three years, things were going bad for everyone as the son was the opposite of the previous king. He acted according to his mom´s law and would inflict pain on all guards and maids in the palace. For every little mistake made, they are thrown in prison and would be denied food for days.

The community weren´t in support of the Prince as they kept praying to their gods to save them from such calamity until one day, a young man stepped into the palace seeking for Jade.
He was taken to the palace to meet the young king.
"Young man, who do you say you are looking for?"

"I am looking for Jade as I was sent to ask for him when I get here"

Before anything could be done, words have reached Jade in the neighboring town that a young boy came looking for him. He ran as fast as he could and went to the palace.

"Hey, you man! Haven't you been warned never to step your feet in this town again?" said the queen

He wasn't paying attention to what the queen was saying but concentrating on the young man and he smiled touching his face and body, leaving everyone on seat in dismay and were surprised at what was happening

Jade spoke in a harsh and angry tone which made the chief and those in the palace calm. "Everyone! The day has arrived when the secret will be exposed, but before I say anything, all the villagers would be invited and this would be done the next day"

He quickly called the town crier, "Go now to every house and inform them of the sudden invitation"

"Yes Sir", the town crier bowed in respect and hurriedly left the palace with his bell to make the proclamation.

The next day, everyone was seated ready to listen to the secret that has been covered for many years and would soon be exposed.

Jade started his speech while the priest of the land was seated too, "My greetings to everyone seated today. I have been waiting for this day, as I already promised the late king Abada, but because of circumstances and how I was sent away by the Queen with no reason for my banishment, I have always prayed to our gods to save us which he did through this young man who walked into the palace by himself."

He took a silent breath and called the young man to come beside him as he placed his hand on his shoulder and after looking at his left and right to make sure all eyes were on him, he split the word out, "This is the king's biological son whom he told me about and when I saw him yesterday, I knew he was the one"

Everyone was shocked and everywhere became silent while some were in awe and trying to understand the situation.

Looking at the queen in disdain, he pointed at her, "This woman sitting over there is the bad one in our midst. She brought in another man's pregnancy for the king which I know of. It was her greed that made her bring the pregnancy in, begging me not to reveal the secret. I thought she would be a nice woman as she always had been and would train her son in the best way, but after the king's death, she revealed her true self".

He continued, "The priest would have to take necessary steps to install Gbadebo as the new king while the queen and her son should be banished forever away from this village".

All the villagers shouted with joy and supported the sayings of Jade and they all sent both of them out without taking anything out of the palace.

"I want this to be a lesson to everyone who thinks they can get away with their wicked acts because a day of reckoning is coming where you will not be able to face the unpleasant circumstances that would follow after", He stopped while the priest crowned Gbadebo as the new king and all villagers shouted and were happy.

THE END

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency