The Ink Well Prompt #53 - THE BLACKOUT

eberhard_grossgasteiger_ovfz9zf_tha_unsplash.jpg
Photo by: Eberhard Grossgasteiger on unsplash

"Hey, young girl! Can I give you a ride?"
"I would love to give such a beautiful and charming lady like you a ride if you don´t mind"


I am a young girl and also an introvert. I love my lifestyle but it seems my way of life doesn´t suit anyone including my parent who could have just encouraged me and be happy I am making them proud. It was an intentional act for me because I wasn´t born an introvert. I just decided to change my life as soon as I got to the university. I never wanted a friend except for the only person I have had from home - Binta.

"My name is Agnes and a 23 years old tall girl with no pimples but fresh skin as I would always describe myself with. In fact, I love my kind of person and I am determined to be better in all I do and most especially to do what my parent had supported me with, being a lawyer."

It was the first semester´s examination and as the custom would be, all students are enjoined to visit the library to study and for those who aren´t used to going there, they tend to stay in their houses to read especially at midnight. I wonder how some students would read in such a noisy environment in the school hostel. One of the things that distract me the most is noise. My hostel is situated in the school but it seems the fence demarcating it leads to a bread bakery and they work overnight. The noise alone makes me want to scream and change to rent a home outside the school but my parent would always say "learn to adapt to such environment and focus."

My mom especially will never understand me but as it is, I just had to dance to their tunes and this has made me got acquainted to the library since I entered the school. If you do not have your library I.D card, you aren´t allowed to enter into the library and so, I already registered and started going to the library to read.

On the third night of going to the library, I took a cab as usual to the library section. I met few students whose number aren´t encouraging at all. Does that mean other students are accustomed to staying in their hostels and houses? I immediately find a location where no one would disturb me. After two hours of reading and was leaving for my hostel, suddenly, there was a total blackout in the library. I forgot my phone and I thought everything would be fine.

"We are sorry for what just happened. We didn´t expect it and the generator isn´t working for now. We would implore all students to return to their hostels as soon as possible." One of the Librarian softly spoke to us.

We started dragging our feet out of the library while those with phones and torches were able to see the road.

When I managed to get outside, I waited for a cab but after twenty minutes of waiting and not following others when they were going, I decided to pass through a route which I believed would be faster to my hostel. As I walking through the lonely path, my mind was beating and scared at that time. It was around 10pm and according to what I have heard from students, this is the moment where the G-boys are always out looking for ladies to carry and sleep with them. If others aren´t lucky, they are used.

Then suddenly, I saw a car behind me with its headlight on. The fear in me grew to the extreme and I was pleading for mercy from God. The car stopped beside me and the person introduced himself to me in a polite manner and offered to take me to the hostel. He saw how frightened I was but assured me not to be worried. I opt into his car and he took me to my destination. We exchanged numbers and our relationship started from there.

Thanks for reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency