THE INKWELL PROMPT #45: A SICK DAY BEFORE CHRISTMAS

thermometer-833085_1920.jpg

source

Tossing and turning all night.

I sprang out of bed to the crow of the first Cock. It was still pitch black. The breeze blew calmly as though wanting to wipe out the memories of last night, and the night before and so many nights before that. A sad smile broke on my face. At least I was now awake and somehow in control of my fate.

I grooped gently and quietly. My hands in search for the kerosene lamp in the dark. It got knocked over but was swiftly caught mid-air. Thank heavens for cat-like reflexes, which helped avoid it clattering on the floor. I could feel the sweat break out of my pores, my heart was racing, my head was pounding.

Everything was seemingly a nightmare.

My hands shook uncontrollably as I lit the old lamp. The sudden brightness blinded me for a split second so I laid back on the floor and allowed the cold tiles suit my tormented body, my bruised body, my injured soul.

woman-5941896_1920.jpg

source

I rolled over, wiping off beads of sweat from my forehead, I wasn’t sure which was more disturbing, my pounding head or my burning temperature.

Tears rolled down my cheeks, hot, painful tears. I was definitely losing it, I could feel it all sipping out of me…. Everything was fading away and the room was slowly becoming a haze. This must be the transition they say. Right? This must be it.

I heard the Cock crow again. This time, loudly.
Louder than any I’ve ever heard
I was jolted back. My transition was halted.
How rude! Oh how rude!
It must be 5:15 again.

I needed some kind of motivation, if not this illness would claim the little funds I was hoping to get. Give hours and at least I’d get something with which to feed a family expectant of a blissful Christmas holiday. Well...

I check my phone and there it was. A quote by American Lawyer and Politician, Frank A. Clark. It says, “If you can find a path with no obstacles, it probably does not leads anywhere”.

I have to overcome this obstacle, because 25th of December depends on it.

No, wait! I need the restroom again.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency