The Ink Well Fiction Prompt #7: The Library | "In that library"

image.png
unsplash

It has been a year since I started staying at the library during my vacant time. I've been staying there to hide from my bullied classmates. As a matter of fact, I wasn't one of the bullied teenagers before. But when the COVID ruined the whole world. They began blaming me for being an Asian. That's why the library has become my sanctuary.

Those bullies couldn't do anything to me inside the library because a group of people and noises are not allowed. However, racist people became larger in their numbers. I stayed for a longer time just this once. I saw them waiting outside because they figured out I stayed there often. Because of my fear, I didn't go outside until I didn't notice I fell asleep. No one sees me because I was hiding at the back where students don't usually go there.

The lights are off and the surrounding is completely dark. I used my hand in leading the way to make sure I will not hurt myself if I stumble a wall. While I am walking, one book falls to the ground. I'm searching for it by the use of my hands. Accidentally, I opened the book. Colourful lights and some mythical creatures are going outside one by one. I stunned and couldn't believe what I saw. I remain standing as I continue watching them going outside of the book.

image.png
unsplash

Creatures, as I saw in fairy tales, are becoming true in front of my eyes. The library turned like a colourful garden. So many flowers, trees, and many more. There's nothing I feel but joy. It's like a dream but this time it's a reality.

"Come, join us."

One of the creatures and it's a woman that has wings invited me. They are so happy playing outside and just roaming around the room. I don't know how it becomes possible when the library is not that wide. And yet, I'm seeing endless garden like I'm inside the forest.

"Sure," I said but I woke up.

"What was that?" I asked myself.

I go outside and it's already morning. I go home, eat my breakfast and prepare to go back to school. While I'm inside the campus I think it's odd. No one is running towards me or to approach me to hurt me. I'm confused and wondering what's happening.

I arrived at the library again after my class. I searched that book again but I couldn't find it. I went back searching but again I couldn't find it.

"What's the meaning of this?"

I asked myself full of wonders. I'm waiting until it gets dark. I'm thinking that maybe they will just come out during the night. I'm hiding in that same location to hide. I fall asleep waiting to get dark.

image.png
unsplash

I woke up because I heard some laughing. When I opened my eyes I'm already inside that colourful garden again. I'm curious how they got outside when no one can open the book. I'm walking around to search if there's a human inside. I'm thinking that maybe he was the one who opened the book. I found none so when that woman with wings smiled at me. I didn't hesitate to ask.

"How did you all come outside that book?"

She laughed at me and all of them began laughing.

"What are you talking about?" She asked.

"Ah, you're confused?" She added.

I nodded my head.

She smiles at me and explains things.

"The moment you opened that book we were totally free. We were imprisoned by that book for one quack doctor long ago. He thought that we cursed that one child before. But he didn't know that we didn't do anything bad. That child just became like you that could see us all the time but this place is our place. You can't see us roaming around."

I'm just listening to her story.

"Have you noticed some changes to you?" She asked.

"Yes," I nodded.

"As you can see we have magics. We know why you're staying here in this place all the time. We didn't curse you, of course, don't be afraid. We just cast some spells on you to make those people who hate or hurt you will not feel like that again."

"I see," I just said.

"But...there's but. We can not protect you when you're outside in this room. Also, don't tell anyone about our existence because not all of you human, can see us."

After what that woman said I feel a little bit better. I was afraid just recently then she enlightened my fear. Since then I'm not afraid to come to school and I always go to the library. Not because I wanted to hide but because I love to see those creatures and that beautiful garden.

Thank you for reading

mrnightmare

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency