Freedom

image.png
unsplash

"RICKY WINS!!!"

I know that the announcer shouted when my opponent fell asleep after being hit with my knee. However, after a long time of fighting. My head seems heavier and I can't tell what's going on. I fought because we were told as a slave. You don't have a choice if you are a slave. You don't have your own decisions by yourself. The rich people who own you will decide for you.

I'm lucky that I have a gift in terms of power and speed. I was born and raised by a hunter in the forest. At my younger age, I was being sold to different rich people. I thought if I would be a fighter I could gain my freedom but I was wrong. I've been fighting since I became a grown-up.

"Sir," I said to my owner after I won the fight.

"Yes, Ricky what is it?"

He replied but I was so nervous to tell him what he promised me.

"Ummm, you see…"

I'm hesitating to say something.

"Come on, tell me. You won and it's right to reward you."

He said but still, I'm afraid. I nodded and said.

"What about you promised to me?
You said I will be free if I won that fight?"

My owner suddenly changed his facial expressions. He looks so mad as I can see his face turned to read.

"What did you just say? You have no freedom because you're just a mere slave."

He shouted.

"Guards!! Guards!"

The guards arrived right away and brought me into the darkest prison.

"Damn..," in my thoughts. I thought I would be free at last and now I'm here again. All I just wanted is to be free and nothing else.

A month after I have another match to fight. That day has come and the owner with his guards accompanied me to the fighting stage. We are walking because it's not far from where we stayed.

"Release my child."

A loud voice came from the block. A lot of people are there helping a certain person because the daughter was being captured. The Father even said about some debts. That's how rich people treated the poor. The poor can't fight back because every transaction has money involved.

"You don't have the right to take her because I'm paying you my debt."

image.png
unsplash
We are getting nearer to the commotion. Of course, the guards cleared our path. Since it's too crowded, some bystanders fell to a guard who held my chain. When he pushed the bystander he let go of the chain and I ran right immediately. It's my time to escape.

"Where are you going, Ricky?!"

My owner shouted with a mad voice. I ignored it and kept on running. I didn't look back so I ran as fast as I could.

After an hour of running, I'm almost outside from the City. I saw the trees and plants waving. It's like they're waving to call me. I smile because I'm thinking that at last, I'm free for how many years.

"Ssssssss"

I heard a sound of an arrow flying towards me. When I looked back while running I saw the guards and my owners riding on a horse. I let my guard down when I looked back so one of the arrows hit the side of my stomach.

"Ahhhhh," It's painful but I endure it not to slow down. I keep my pace on running.

Finally, I'm outside the City. I run into the woods so it will be hard for them to hit me with those arrows. Even though the wound is hurting me and bleeding. I continue running to make sure to escape from them.

My eyes got bigger because of being happy to see a waterfall. I'm thinking of jumping there and finally, I can lose them.

I jumped when I reached the waterfalls.

"Ahhhhh", an arrow hit my chest before I fell into the water. Blood is spitting in my mouth. I know I'm dying and I know this ends for me. I'm floating into the river and open my eyes to see the sky. I saw a bird flying and suddenly I smiled.

" It's better to die rather than living in the cell. What's the reason for living when you can't do what you want to do. There's no reason to continue the life you have when you can't enjoy it. It's meaningless when you don't have the chance to live your life according to what you desired."

Slowly I closed my eyes as my senses are fading.

END

mrnightmare

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency