Happy Beginning

jpg_20220101_144552_0000.jpg

Life won't give you what you want even though you are crossing over to another year...
1st of January, 2021, a day of joy and remembrance, a day where families gather to eat and merry, a day which people are joyous about the new year, well everyone except me.
You're probably you would why, well here is my reason.

Last year August 2020, I lost my family to a car accident. My parents and siblings all died and funny enough, I was the only person to survive and as much as most people would be happy or done would say it's a blessing, to me it was a curse!.
In hopes of surviving,I turned to the streets after my treatment, even dropped out of school.
I had never enjoyed luxury when my parent were alive but with the little we had, I had never gone to bed empty which is more than I could say now.
My name is Isabelle and I turned 18 last year. At such age I had experienced the harsh reality of life which is that “life isn't fair”.

I lived amongst dirt and filth. Rats and I were neighbours, sometimes I wake to them feasting on my feet well I am the one in their territory.
I stole to eat during hard days when I could not find anything in the waste bin.
I was caught once and I was given the beating of my life. I wouldn't blame them though, they knew nothing of my world.
Some days I always like to remind myself that my situation wasn't permanent and be strong, while some days, it gets harder and I find myself tired of life and I'd begin to cry my eyes out.
I could say I was unfortunate.

It was midnight, 1st of January 2022, at exactly 12am. I could hear people shouting "Happy new year!!!" With so much joy.
Fireworks all over, and it was beautiful. I muttered mine to myself "happy new year". And Just as I was about to close my eyes I heard my name.
"Belle" the voice was soft and calming, at first I thought I was hearing things because only my mum calls me that and she's six feet under. I heard it again
"Belle, get up". I got up immediately and started tracing the voice and it lead me to a house.
The house looked old and abandoned. Then I heard the voice say “go in” and I did immediately the door shut behind me.

I became terrified and shaky. I went back to the door and tried opening it with all my strength but it proved effortless. I turned and rested on the door and began to cry. My life was already miserable why add more to it.
A white light appeared in the middle of the room, it kept coming closer and shocked it was my mom.
She died, I saw her die, was I dead? Why is she in front of me. I panicked
Asking myself questions which I couldn't possibly answer.

"Do not be afraid belle, I could never hurt you" She said. I still stared at her blankly not really sure if I heard her speak.
"You have suffered enough, I'm here to help my dear, you will suffer no more" she said making attempt to touch my cheek.

"Mom, is that really you" I called to be sure.
"Yes it is my dear child” she replied while making a smile. All weepy I replied “I'm tired mum, I'm so tired, why did you and dad leave me, I don't like it here” I cried. “Oh my dear child” she touched my cheek and wiped the tear from my eyes. “Our legacy will not end my dear, it will continue is it will sprout good seeds, our generation will not suffer, you will make it so”.
"Look to your side and take what you see on the floor". I looked and I saw a solid rock. "Use it wisely my child, your cries has been heard, now go and don't look back". She vanished.
“Mom!! mom!!!” I cried out her name. I wanted to see her again I wanted to tell her how much I've missed her
"Mom please come back... Please" I cried pleading for her presence.
Suddenly the door opened, I wiped my tears and made my way out of the house, as walked away and turned back the house had vanished so I stood trying to process everything that happened when I remembered what she placed in my hands. I took a closer look at it. “it was gold!!!”.

Somehow my mom liberated me from poverty, from being homeless, from staying in the streets while my mates were school.
I looked up to the sky and thanked her with tears in my eyes.
She saved me and my generation to come.
Maybe new year was a good thing after all.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency