A Chance at life

jpg_20220110_094632_0000.jpg

There it was, another dull morning. I woke up to the sun's ray on my face. To weak to stand, to weak to do anything. I stared at the wall in front of me, trying to plan my day; what to eat, what to wear for work... everything.
For a lady in her late 20s, my life had become... dull, no excitement and yes I do not have a boyfriend. I am lonely, bored, alone you name it. The only thing that kept me busy was my work and that's starting to get boring too...

I looked at wall clock and realized I was 20minites late. It didn't bother me at all, I was prepared to get another yelling and fire threats, so I sluggishly stood up from my bed, walked to the bathroom, brushed my teeth and took my bath.
I wore any thing I could find in my wardrobe not caring how it fits. I took a pair of shoes and rushed out of my apartment.
After spending an hour on the road due to lagos traffic, I finally got to work and to my surprise I wasn't the only one late or so I thought. Just as I was trying to understand why we were so few in the office I saw my friend Nike coming down the stairs. .
"Hey" I waved for her to notice me.
"Xup Teni, what took you so long?" She asked coming to my direction.
"Was really tired today. Good morning" I greeted pecking her.
"Did you get drunk?" She pecked back.
" No, I didn't. I've been feeling kinda weird today. Beside what happened to workers? Did they get fired?"
"Oh no they weren't fired, we were all granted a day leave, didn't you know”
"A day leave? I didn't know, Why?" I asked.
"Something about a renovation, how didn't you know Teni, sure you're okay" Nike asked with a face. “Anyways I came to get my bag" she said heading for her bag which was on her desk.
"So I guess it's straight back home right?" I said
"Yes honey" she replied.
"You coming over?"
"No, not today b" she replied already heading for the exist door.
" Come on Nike, what else will do with day" I said giving a pleading face.
"Hello I got a boyfriend, unlike some people"
"Seriously!, You ditching me for him?" I said still giving the pleading face.
"Yes I am lol. You can't give me what I need right now"
"And what's that?" I asked raising an eyebrow
"Go get a boyfriend Teni and you would know” she replied with a laugh. “I love you" she said as she made her exit.

I took a deep breath before making my way out to go buy myself breakfast.
As I walked down the street, next thing was I was shoved down by somebody only to look up to find out that a brake faded vehicle was on course my way while I had no idea because I had my ear pods on, a homeless man close to this incident quickly pushed me out of the way. It was because of this man I was able to see another day, and given another chance at life to right my wrongs.

Since that day I promised never waste this second chance at life and live a exciting life. However the once homeless man is no longer homeless I got him a place to stay as an appreciation. He is my hero

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency