An inkwell Prompt: True Frienship; A Test of Time.

img_2038.png
Source

Sometimes friends do stupid and foolish things. My mum told me that true friends are like gold coins. Ships that were wrecked by storms lie on the ocean floor for hundreds of years. The wood is destroyed by worms, the iron corrodes. Silver turns black but gold remains the same, it remains unchanged under sea water. It looses none of its brilliance or color, it comes out of water the same way.
A true friendship or friend stands the test of time and ‘shipwrecks’ while it looses none of its brilliance.

“I’ve had it with you Tess!”. Bri said furiously.

“And you think I’m not tired of you either!!”. Tess replied with more fury.

“I really don’t understand how petty you are. We’re best friends, we’ve know each other for several years now and yet we keep arguing about silly things”. Bri said.

“Of course you’d say I’m petty. As always when we have an argument I’m the one at fault”. Tess said.

“This friendship doesn’t feel healthy anymore”. Bri said again.

“Then maybe we shouldn’t be best friends again”. With this Tess left Bri’s apartment.

This was the end of Bridget Morrison and Theresa Collins friendship of so many years. A friendship that started in high school.

They tried to avoid each other as much as possible but that was nearly impossible. They had the same friends, they lived close by to each other. They always ran into each other. The only good thing was that where one worked was far from the others.

One of their mutual friends- Grace was having a birthday party during the weekend. They both tried to get out of it as expected but their friends weren’t having it. They all wanted them to make up and the party looked like a perfect place to do it.

Grace’s Birthday party

Grace held her party at a rented apartment and made sure she went all out. She had made sure to invite only a handful of people so that her guests would feel free and be themselves. Tess and Bri were yet to arrive so she decided to have a word with the other girls before they got here.

“So guys, what’s the plan?”. Grace asked

“The plan to get Bri and Tess to makeup?”. Stella asked.

“What other plan dum-dum?”. Judith said while she rolled her eyes.

“Okay we definitely don’t have time for this, they’ll soon be here plus I have guests to entertain”. Grace said.

“What if we lured and locked them in one of the rooms upstairs?”. Judith pitched in.

“Knowing Bri she’ll scream her lungs out while banging on the door until someone opens the door”. Grace countered.

“The music would be too loud and we’ll start up a party game to keep everyone downstairs. At least for an hour or so, that’s enough time for them to talk things over”. Stella said.

“Great idea. We just have to get them to the same room without knowing. Let’s mingle while we wait for them to get here”. Stella said then the girls dispersed.

30 Minutes later....

Tess finally arrives and Bri gets there 15 minutes later. All the invitees are complete and the party is in full swing now.
After playing a couple of games, eating, drinking e.t.c . Grace gives the girls a sign, it’s time to execute their plan.

Judith has already transferred the key from inside the room to the keyhole outside. She then comes down to meet Bri.

“Hey Bri”. She says in a chirpy tone.

“Hi Judith, you’ve been so scarce tonight”. Bri said.

“Yeah, Grace didn’t hire enough help so I’ve pretty much been helping her run around and stuff”. She replied.

“Oh wow, if there’s any way I can help do let me know”. Bri said.

“Ummm there’s one itty bitty thing you can do for me. Could you help me get the truth or dare cards from the first room by the left upstairs?. It’s in one of the wardrobes inside a box. I don’t know why Grace put it so far away”. Judith said knowing fully well that she hid it that far so they’d have enough time to get Tess into the room.

“No biggie”. Bri said and headed upstairs.

Judith quickly gave Stella the sign to lure Tess now.

“Hey Tess!”. She said happily.

“Hey Stella. Is it just me or have you been scarce tonight?”. Tess asked

“Yea I’ve been a bit busy, Grace didn’t hire a lot of help so I’ve been doing quite a lot. I’m so exhausted”. She replied.

“Oh my! And no one asked for my help? Do you need me to do anything?”. Tess asked again.

“Well since you asked yes. Could you help me bring down the crab cakes. I think Grace left them upstairs, the first room by the left. She wanted to save them for later so she hid them there”. Stella replied.

“All right I’m on it”. With that Tess headed upstairs.

Now it was Grace’s time to play her part. She followed Tess at an arms length and immediately she made sure Tess and Bri were in the room she locked the doors immediately.

“What the ...!!”. Tess and Bri exclaimed in unison.

“I’m so sorry guys, we had to do this. We couldn’t let you guys stay fighting for so long. Besides you’re messing up the whole gang”. Grace called out from the other side of the door.

“Grace you had better open this door!”. Tess screamed.

“Grace!!!!”. Bri screamed even louder.

“Now girls don’t bother shouting, screaming or calling anyone’s names. Don’t even try banging on the door. Everyone is downstairs and as soon I go downstairs I’m turning the volume up really loud while we play party games. No one will hear you scream now both of you should behave and sort this thing out”. Grace said and left.

Back inside the room....

“Great, I might as well eat her crab cakes”. Bri said in a defeated tone.

Few minutes later, Bri had eaten a dozen crab cakes and she was still eating much to Tess’s dismay.

“You might as well finish everything”. Tess said in a rude way.

“Could you please mind your business”. Bri said while placing another crab cake in her mouth.

“I’m surprised you haven’t blamed me yet”. Tess said while she rolled her eyes.

“I thought we weren’t talking to each....”. Bri tried to say before she started choking on a crab cake.

“Oh my God Bri you’re choking!!. Should I get help? Oh right we’re trapped and there’s no water nearby”. Tess was panicking at this point

Bri kept gasping for air while tears came from her eyes. Tess immediately runs to her back and wraps her arms around Bri’s stomach and conducts the Heimlich maneuver until the piece of food flies out of her mouth, into the air and finally lands on the floor.
Bri is able to breathe now while Tess finds out she was crying as well.

“Oh God. Thank God you’re okay”. Tess said relieved.

“Were you crying?”. Bri couldn’t help but ask.

“Yea, I thought I was going to loose you”. Tess replied while wiping her tears with the back of her hand.

Bri then pulls her into a tight hug. “I’m so sorry. Tess I’ve missed you so much. I’m sorry about all the things I said. I always want to be your best friend even though we fight and argue. These past few weeks have been horrible without you”. Bri begins to sob while hugging Tess.

“I’m sorry too, I said some hurtful things to you as well. Your friendship means so much to me and I wouldn’t want to loose you”. Tess replied knowing she had finally gotten her best friend back.

After what felt like minutes to them, they wiped their tears and decided to catch up on the things they’ve missed out.

“We might as well finish the crab cakes while we’re here”. Tess suggested.

Few Minutes later....

Grace opens the door.

“You finished my crab cakes!!!!”. She screamed.

“What were you thinking when you locked Bri and food up together?”. Stella said.

“On the bright side, they finally made up”. Judith said.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency