An Inkwell Prompt: A Sinkhole of Emotions

img_2263.png
Source

“Has anyone heard from Amber?”. Jessica asked.

“No, I’ve been calling her phone. It rang for sometime then went straight to voicemail now it’s switched off”. Maryann replied.

“Let’s check her dorm room”. June said finally.

Amber, Jessica, Maryann and June were good friends. They were all in Med school studying Medicine and surgery. They had written their third professional exams like three weeks ago and the results came out. They passed all the courses, except for Amber. Out of four courses she passed two and had failed two. Now she has to re-sit the two she failed in three weeks. If she doesn’t pass she’ll either have to repeat the year or be withdrawn from med school.

Amber stayed in a one-person dorm room so she didn’t have any room mates. She had gone through a terrible breakup with her boyfriend or ex-boyfriend now- Darren just few days before the exams started. She was devastated and shattered to say the least. This wasn’t who she was. She had never failed anything that had to do with academics in her life, this was a first for her. She had been locked up in her room all day crying.

Her friends are knocking on her door now.
“Amber please open the door”. June pleaded.

“We know you’re in there so don’t bother ignoring us”. Maryann said.

They all heard Amber still sobbing silently in her room.

“Okay, Amber just let us in. You don’t have to talk to us if you don’t want to. We just want to be there for you. But we need to make sure you don’t do anything stupid”. Jessica added.

Finally Amber opens the door and goes back to curl up in her bed. Her friends don’t talk to her they just stay there sitting around watching their friend sob. At this point their presence would have to do the talking for them instead of actually talking.

Two hours of Sobbing Later....

“You girls I feel so stupid”. Amber said in between tears.

“I don’t know what to do. How can I let this whole Darren breakup thing distract me so much? My life is a mess right now, where do I start from?”. She added and start weeping again.

Her friends now moved closer to console her.
“Babe, you’re not stupid. It was just a little setback and it got the better of you”. Jessica said.

“There’s no need to beat around the bush. We know you’re really smart. I mean you basically tutored the rest of us for most of our exams during the previous years. This doesn’t signify your intelligence. You need to stop crying and get back on your feet. The make up exams are in three weeks and you have no option than passing them”. Maryann said as well.

“Yea Amber. You’re a really smart girl. I know you’re wondering what people would say but that’s the least of your problems right now. You need to focus on your studies now and ace the exams and all this would be over in less than two months. A month and half even!”. June replied.

“Okay but I need all the help I can get. I can literally feel myself slipping into a depressive phase”. Amber said while cleaning her tears.

“Yes we know. We don’t expect any less but don’t let it pull you down. This is just a phase and it will pass. I promise you”. June said while giving her a bear hug.

Maryann and Jessica joined in on the hug too. Amber was done crying. It was game time now. Enough was enough.

Self pity is also a sinkhole. A sinkhole in which no hand can rescue you from because you made that choice to sink.

Two weeks later...

All the girls were in Ambers room.
“How’s everything going?”. Maryann asked.

“Good good. I just need to go over the flash cards a few more times and answer most of the review questions by heart. Then you guys can quiz me again. I’m feeling pretty much confident”. Amber said in a lighter tone.

She has been experiencing a lot of mood swings the past few weeks, none of them were happy moods either. This was the first time she sounded cheerful.

Just then her phone rings and it’s Darren calling. Immediately her friends look at her with a knowing look.

Amber stares at the phone for a few seconds while it rings. The call ends and she lets out a sigh she didn’t know she was holding in.
Darren calls back again but this time she ends the call and immediately blocked his number.

The sinkhole will always there, it’s just waiting for something to trigger it.

“Yep, I blocked him. I need to get my priorities straight now and the first thing on there is acing my exams. Let’s go back to studying”. Amber said sounding much better.

Her friends smile back at her and they spend the rest of the night quizzing her about everything concerning the exams.

Three weeks later...

The exams were over three days ago and the results were out now.
As usual everyone gathered in Ambers room. After so much deliberation, they decided Jessica would be the one to check it.

“Okay soooooo????”. Amber was curious.

“Well ummm....I guess...you passedddddd!!!!!”. Jessica screamed.

“Yessssss!”. Maryann shouted.

“I knew you could do it!”. June screamed too.

“Thank you guys for believing in me. I’m so happy I have such great friends. You guys endured all my shitty annoying mood swings for the past five weeks and sad depressive episodes. Thank you so much. I love you guys”. Amber said while hugging them and shedding tears of joy.

Disappointment can cause a lot. It can put you in a giant sinkhole of depression. This sinkhole is a place you have to fight go get out from. You have to overcome all odds and transform your failure into success.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency