The Deal

Oh dear!! I'm so sorry. I didn't mean to. I was lost in thoughts." Vee apologized as she intentionally bumped into the stranger letting all the stuff he had on him fall to the ground.

He was her new neighbor. He just moved in last night and was unpacking. Vee and her friends Eve and Mariah had seen him last night as they drove into the parking lot. He was dragging his box through the hallway down to the elevator. They had fantasized about how handsome he was.

img_0.7092130392068621.jpg
imagesource

Vee had in fact agreed on a deal with her friends to talk to the new occupant and in fact go on a date with him. How brave she was to make such a deal. She hardly socializes, always all about work for her. Too focused on her career.

She could vividly remember how she came up with the deal with her friends. They had seen him at the parking lot as they drove into the compound. He was trying to drag his bags inside the elevator. And they couldn't stop talking about it all through the night.

"Oh my! How lucky is his girl." Eve had said as she unlocked the door to Vee's apartment and stepped in, she held the door for the rest and locked it once they were all inside.

"I know right, whoever it is must be a lucky girl. I mean, did you see those huge arms?" Mariah concurred as she heads to the fridge to get some water

"Common girls, he's just like every other guy. There's nothing special about him." Vee said. She flipped her shoes off her feet and across the room. And slumped into her bed. Just a look at her room even a blind can detect it was a ladies room. She had teddies all around her bed. Eve had told her one time, that she was still single because she finds companionship in those teddies as she talks to them most times.

"Says someone that doesn't even have a guy."

"Yeah, and can't even stand a few minutes talking to one."

"What do you girls even mean by that. I...I talk to guys everyday at work" Vee stammered

"Work vee. We are talking about flirting. I can stake five hundred bucks you'll literally sink to the ground if you talk to a guy as cute as that"

"Well am not doing that"

"Just as we thought, she is scared" they girls mocked her laughing.

"I'm not"

"Then do it"

"Fine tomorrow, five hundred bucks,I'm not just talking to him but I'm going on a date with him too." How she found the courage to accept such a deal was still a shock to her.

"Wow, that's a huge move for someone like you. Brave"

"Really brave. Okay deal is on". Eve said looking her straight in the eye. "But how do you intend to do that"

Vee had seen him the next morning as she stood by the window with a glass of water in her hand. He was dressed in brown cargo shorts and a white shirt . One could tell he wasn't off to work. Besides, it was Saturday. She didn't bother at first. But then on her way out to jog she saw him parked outside the streets taking some stuff out of his car trunk. She decided then was her chance.

And now here she was shooting her shots. Trying to broker her deal. She knew her friends were eagerly watching her from the window. And she wasn't ready to lose. Of Course as a career woman she was losing isn't what she does. She loves winning and that has brought her this far. So clearly she was ready for whatever it takes.

img_0.808802277938652.jpg
imagesource

"Let me help you with that," she said as she quickly bent down to pick up the books lying on the floor before the handsome man would decline.

"Here you go, all fresh and clean" she joked, cleaning off dust on the books with her hands. She looked closely at him. Truly he was a huge and handsome man, with skin like butter mixed with milk. His hair shines like the well polished boots of a military man. He had brown eyes that seemed like they pierced your soul just by staring. And when he spoke he had this tiny voice that she thought didn't really compliment the looks.

"Thank you" the man said as he collected the books from her and turned back to shut his car trunk which was still open .

"So you must be the new neighbor?" Sensing that that might be the end of the discussion if she didn't talk further Vee asked.

"Yeah, I am. I just got in yesterday" he replied with a smile.

"Yeah I saw you"

"You did?"

"Yeah, while you were fighting with the box" clenching her fist. She was so nervous. But she managed to keep her cool "Not like I was stalking you, If that's what you think or what it seems like. I just...I just. I was just getting into my apartment and I couldn't help but look"

"Couldn't help but look." He imitated her laughing. "You're funny." Shutting his trunk and leaning in it. "You know you actually saw me in my not so proud moment".

"Sorry but I didn't mean to.'

"It's okay" there was silence. "I'm Joe. As in Joseph, but I prefer to be called Joe" stretching out his hand for a shake.

*"Vera. But I prefer Vee" reaching out her hands to meet his

"So Vee, this might sound crazy but, have we met before?."*

"No, I don't think so "

"Really, you look like someone I've known from school. I must be mistaken" He scratched his head and stared at his watch. "So Vee, I'm sorry but I've got to run. I was actually enjoying this conversation. But I have an appointment."

"Yeah me too. Not an appointment though but I've got to complete my jogging as you can see." She made gestures with her hand.

"Okay, it was nice meeting you. See you some other time. Bye" Joe said as he turned and headed back to the compound.

Vee shut her eyes and swore. She has lost the deal. No date. No wins. She stood there staring at the huge mass of a man walking away. She shrugged and turned. Lucky for her she was still gonna jog. She wasn't ready to meet the girls now. They were gonna laugh at her. Just as she made to leave she heard a voice shout her name.

"Hey Vee" She turned, it was Joe.

"I was wondering, since I'm new in this town. You, me, later in the day we go on a drive while you show me around. And maybe grabbed something to eat too. If it's okay by you"

"That would be great." She smiled.

"Meet me right at this spot by five" Joe concluded. Giving her the thumbs up.

She won after all.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency