Little Man.

img_0.3084253710293816.jpg
source
I was in my finals in high school when I got to understand that truly kids are such cute things. Not just cute they all have this beautiful heart too. Most times they try to express it in such funny ways. I know this because I had a kid brother. This was the case of my kid brother Danny, the last of the house yet the commander in chief. He was five years old and still thinks like a grown up. Danny was smart for his age yet so loving.

Dad always calls him the commander in chief because whenever he's out of chocolate he comes to dad and tries to bargain his way in getting chocolates.

I can vividly remember one day I was walking into the family study where I was working on my final project when Danny walks up to dad in the sitting room.

"Dad, do you know I can sing? I sang in school today and everyone loved it. " He said to Dad.

"Wow, that's nice. When are you singing again I would love to watch you sing" Dad replied concentrating in-between the newspaper he was reading and Danny.

"I can sing for you now, that's if you want"

Closing the newspaper and turning to fully focus on Danny. Dad agreed

"Ofcourse son, I would love that"

"Then you gotta buy my ticket"

"What ticket?"

"It's a private performance I'm about doing and no singer loves to sing without their fans buying a ticket" Danny implied stretching out his hand in a receiving way.

"But you asked to perform for me"

"Yes only if you buy my ticket"

I stood by the study door listening to these two. I know where it was gonna end. Dad will surely end up buying whichever ticket Danny was selling or whatever he meant by that. I smiled and tried to continue with my project but their bargaining was too interesting to let go.

"Okay son, how much for a ticket"

"Just some chocolate bars, dad I'm out of chocolate"

At this point Dad couldn't help it again. He let the laughter out. Carried Danny up and placed him on his lap.

"You could have just asked for some chocolate bars, than trying to be a smart about it son" he said rubbing his hair

"Well, I asked mum for some chocolate and she refused so I thought you'll refuse too."

I went back to studying. Those two were really an item. They definitely know how to deal with each other.

Few days later. I was done with the project but down with a fractured leg while playing football with friends. I couldn't walk to school to present my project so I stayed back at home with mum. I was gonna spend extra months in school.

I laid on the couch in our sitting room, watching a TV show with mum. Mum sat at the opposite sofa. A knock came at the door.

Mum opened and it was my high school teacher Mrs Emily. I was surprised. I'm sure mum was too. Because she asked

"Mrs Emily. What a surprise. What brings you to our home?"

"I'm here to see my student. Heard he isn't too good to come defend his project. So I thought I should come and he defend it for me here"

"Oh that's so nice of you" Mum replied.

"Mind if I come in" Mrs Emily asked, reminding mum she was still standing outside.

"Oh sure".

I greeted her and tried sitting up. Mum got my project from their study and In a few minutes I was done. Although I wasn't prepared enough for it. But I could tell I did my best when Mrs Emily announced that I got a B. Mum offered her some drinks but she refused stating that she needed to rush back to the school as fast as she could to meet up and submit the results to the panel.

img_0.8036645581597912.jpg

Source

She stood up and made to leave. Mum walked her to the door.

"Mind if I ask what made you come over to let my son present from home?" Mum asked as the got to the door.

"Your other son."

"Danny?" mum asked with eyes wide open

"Yeah, you have a man in that kid" Mrs Emily said turning to look at me "I don't know how he got to know your class or me. But he told me how you've put in so much work to that project. The sleepless night and it would hurt if you fail defending it today and spending some extra months in school" she concluded and bade mum goodbye.

Mum watched as she got into her car and drove into the streets.

"I love that boy,"I muttered to myself.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency