The Test

img_0.10648059694158182.jpg
Image Source

Together we were beaten by the rain inside our hut made of bamboo, we slept under the unpleasant songs of the mosquitoes, we ate once a day but it sustained us throughout the years. There was never any step that you took that I wasn't there with you as a second eye against thorns and pebbles. These are not claims but facts of which you are a living witness. Why turn your back on me now that the couch has replaced the wooden bed we rest on? Was there any way I have offended you in the past, tell me and I will apologize. You gave me reasons to believe in love again. Why send me back to my old world where I believe that true love exists only in movies and writings?. Please, Jose, don't do this to me. Charity said to me with tears which has already formed a pool on the ground.

I couldn't stand the heat again. It was not surprising that I was sweating in an air-conditioned room. Her every word sent tears down my cheek. This is a girl that said no to soaring higher above the cloud with the eagles just to waddle with me. She turned deaf ears to her friend's advice because she saw a good future with me, and now I am left with the option of choosing between her and Jennifer

Hey, believe me, I am not happy to be in this rabbit hole ( I said to Charity with my face fixed on the ground because I can't get myself to look at her face, especially now she knows that another woman has come into the stage). If I am given a second chance to rewrite this script, I will certainly have only one character in it and that's going to be you, but for now, give me some time to see how to create a happy ending for everyone. You ladies have been instrumental to my success today. I will be back later in the evening, there is something I need to attend to right now. We will continue this conversation when I am back.

I left the house to see James at the bar because I had already texted him on my way home. I want to discuss it first with Charity at home before going to meet James.

James: Jose, your text message got me worried, trust it is not as bad as the tone of the message?.

There is a saying that when an individual sees a snake alone, most times out of fear he describes it as a python. Again a toad does not run in the day for nothing, it is either the toad is pursuing something or something is chasing after it. I came to share my lens with you to see if it can present a different image to you. Am seeing two different images when all I am looking at is a single object, my future.

James: Jose my friend, you never cease to speak in proverbs. Please speak in a layman's language so that I may be on the same page with you.

I never believed that I would be in such a mess, James. If I may ask, would you prefer to stay with the woman who has been with you right from when you had nothing till now that your life is beginning to form a shape or a woman who has made a sacrifice that will henceforth give a change to your life for good?.

James: Jose, you are getting me more confused. I know the only woman in your life is Charity, she has been with you through thick and thin, so who is the second woman you talk about?

Jennifer is my team leader and a friend. We share the same work ethics, so it was easier for us to connect. At first, I had no intention of getting attached to her but then as we spent time together working for the company, we became fond of each other. I never knew she was the daughter of Mr. Charles Hoskin, the man who happens to be the owner of our company and other conglomerates. She is not just the only daughter but the only child of this business tycoon. Today, the father invited me to his house. In his words, " Joseph, my daughter has told me that you will be the perfect man to take care of all my investments when I am old or perhaps joined my ancestors. I also learned that you are also close with each other. With her consent, I want to present her and all my companies to you. If you marry her, everything will be yours".
Now, it would have been easy for me to turn down the offer for the sake of Charity but many things came into the picture, my mum's health condition which is getting worse by the day, my dad who will soon lose all his lands due to debts, and my well-being. I can't continue to manage the amount I receive in the company. It is indeed considerably high but many responsibilities make it as if I do not work. I wouldn't want my mother to die from this sickness nor will I want our family lands to be taken by those we are owing. I wouldn't want to leave Charity who has been my backbone all these years. It will be so inhuman for me to leave her for another woman.

James: This is indeed a rabbit hole, but just as the saying goes, the only thing that has no solution is death. So, relax, we will see a way around this, but you need to answer these questions honestly; are you in love with Jennifer? Is there any way she is far better than Charity?

I have been feeling attracted to her, but I have also been pushing the feelings away because I don't believe in so-called "double-dating". Charity is a virtuous woman who has everything that a man wants in a woman, and so is Jennifer.

James: Truly, making a choice here is difficult due to the things at stake but I will advise you to open up to the man that you already have a woman in your life. As for your sick mother, God who has kept her alive all these years that she has been bedridden which made your family borrow money with the lands, will not abandon you. It is difficult to get a woman like Charity. Again, family life is a different thing from work life. You can never tell if Jennifer will be dedicated to family duties as she is to work. You never know what you have until you lose it chasing shadows.

James' words made the faint picture clearer. I knew I was never wrong to come to him for help. We talked for some time before I left home.
When I got home, I met Charity on the couch which had been soaked with tears. I drew close to her, lifted the face that was fixed on our albums, and gave her a deep kiss. Looking into her eyes, I said to her,

You are a treasure I won't trade for anything, I am sorry for bringing up the topic in the first place. I will reject the offer tomorrow.

Charity: You don't need to. Remember you need that position to be able to take care of your mother and other family issues. I am ready to let you go because true love is considerate.

I quickly placed my right finger on her lips to stop her from saying any other thing. We ended up on the wet couch. What we had that night was different. It was special.
The next morning, I went to meet Jennifer's father in his office. I went with a resignation letter as well because I thought he would fire me for rejecting his offer.
I told him about Charity and how long we have been together and made him see reasons why I can accept the offer.

To my greatest surprise, it was a test of loyalty and faithfulness. Jennifer and her father had secretly made inquiries about me. They knew about Charity, and they were only waiting to see how I would handle the issue.

You have made me proud, my son, my daughter has never been wrong in her choice, and am glad she wasn't wrong on this particular issue. My daughter already has a man in life who happens to be a medical doctor. He can't leave his profession for my business, so we decided to have someone who will run the company together with my daughter. Of course, we wouldn't want to have an unfaithful and greedy person in that position. This is why we gave you that test. Jennifer's father said to me with a smile.

Jennifer came in at this point with a smile. Together with her father, we went to the dining room and from there I returned to the office. I couldn't wait to get home to break the good news to Charity. Indeed, it was a perfect ending for me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency