24 Hours To The Big Day

I don't need to wait for him to find out by himself. Tomorrow is the day that we will together say "I do" to each other and I want to make that vow with a clean mind. Whatever comes out from this revelation, I am ready to accept it, but I hope things turn out well for me. I love Mike, and this is why I have to let him know about my past. I said to myself before heading to the coffee shop where I had invited Mike.

Hey, don't tell me you have cold feet at this point when we are about to profess our love before God and man. I never believed that I would fall in love within a short period, but here I am with the woman who means a lot to me". Mike said to me with his killer smile.

I was meant to blush or at least salivate at his kind words but tears forced their way from its prison and began a slow journey down the cheek which has been lightly painted. I understand perfectly that I will ruin my make-up but that is not important for now, what I desire most is to make the big revelation and see how Mike reacts.

Dearie, Wipe those tears, Vicky, you know very well that I hate to see you do this. I know you are as happy as I am, and the tears of joy I see can affirm it, but you seriously need to stop. Mike said, drawing closer to wet my dried lips.

I withdraw myself from him and finally let loose the truth that has been forcing itself out of my heart.

If these were tears of joy, they would have been dried by the lightning from your charming face, but they are tears of regret and fear. It is barely 24 hours to the big day but I can't get myself to walk down the aisle with you when you are not aware of my past which may destroy this beautiful world we are building in the future. I have been legally married before but it was a mistake that I wish I could erase from my mind. A day with Charles is like 365 days. I had to file for divorce but he refused to sign the papers. He vowed to frustrate me by not signing the papers, so he traveled out of the country. It has already been two years and no one had heard about him. This means we can only have the church wedding for now until the court annul the court wedding.
Am sorry I didn't tell you this earlier. I was scared of losing you but I have come off my shell to make sure that my vows tomorrow are pure. If you want to call the wedding off, I will respect your decision. We agreed our court wedding will come a year after our church wedding but I wouldn't want to keep it that long
.

The face that had been emanating Rays of light started to dim. It was as if the tears were pushed out with force. He gave me a look that made me feel disappointed in myself. Without uttering a word, he left for his car and I followed him immediately. I was continuously calling his name but it seems Mike is already in another world where he hears nothing else but his thoughts. I followed his car which was at a speed far beyond my set speed limit. I wasn't bothered by the fact that I am at a very high speed even though I am still learning how to drive. All I want is to catch up with him and make him say one or two words to me".

img_0.26491857854932993.jpg
IMAGE SOURCE

Not up to five minutes we engaged in the marathon, a car with his headlights pointing directly at my screen passed me, I could feel my hand struggling with the styling of the car. I ended up in the woods.

img_0.46239756482044714.jpg
Image Source

I don't know how long I slept but I could see from my closed eyes, Mike standing by my bedside. I can hear his voice but my mouth seems heavy for me to talk and even when I was able to call his name, he couldn't hear. I heard him telling me that he is not going back on the journey which we have started. I heard his words of hope and trust but sadly, we were in two separate worlds.

Could it be that I am in a coma? Why am I unable to move my body?. I want to thank Mike for staying with me despite what I have done, but I can't do so. Could it be that Mike was saying those words just to see if it could help bring me back to life?
If he meant his words, I still have a problem. Charles may come up unannounced at our wedding. He will want to create a scene because that's what he is good at.

All these thoughts were going through my mind while I still struggled to lift my body.
I just want to get out from this world where I feel incapacitated. Whether Mike meant his word or not, and whether Charles will show up at our wedding is of less importance now.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency