Our After Sunset | story by @joreneagustin | 03.11.22

png_20220310_144344_0000.png

Who wouldn't love the sunset? The color of orange above the sky and darkness that started to fill the surroundings. I hugged myself and watched it. I can feel the cold breeze of air but it doesn't stop me from thinking, while I'm here standing at the rooftop.

My phone rang but I didn't answer it. I just silently watch the sky above.

“Amazing sunset, right?” he then hugged me from the back. I smiled and answered...

“I’m amazed. But something inside me is sad, thinking that this beautiful view will pass by.” I pouted after answering. I looked at the sky again and it made me smile.

“It will pass by, but sunset will always come back.”

Our relationship was both legal to our parents. They love and support us. His parents treat me as their own daughter, and same to my parents, they treat him as their own son. I may sometimes get jealous but I just laughed about that thought.

“Ellise, you know how much I love you, right?”

We're both sitting on the sands here at the beach, we let our feet be washed by the waves of the sea. I rested my head on his arm but because of his question, I arranged myself and looked at his eyes, I smiled.

“Of course, you always make me feel that, Ivan. There are no reasons to doubt. You proved that to me.”

“Thank you. I'm just happy because you love me back.” he said and smiled at me.

I don't believe in love at first sight. But yes to war at first sight, since that was the reason why we ended up like this.

I always saw him at our school, but we always fought for simple reasons. Since his dad asked him to bring me to school and take me home using his car as his dad's way of thanking my parents for what they’d done for him. I didn't know what was that but in simple words, me and Ivan were always together.

“What are you! A crawling turtle?!” he looks so angry “Get in! Faster, I'm getting late!”

I glared at him and I entered inside his car.

“I didn't ask you to fetch me, huh?” I sighed and glared at him again “I can manage.” I calmly said and stared outside.

“Huh! You must have told me that earlier! If it wasn't my dad, I wouldn't fetch you everyday!”

“Blah blah blah...” I supposed to make him mad “For you to know, I don't refuse a blessing like this. So if you can fetch me everyday, then wow! I'm glad, but sorry to bother you.”

“Yes you must be sorry, I get annoyed by you.”

“Then sorry to tell you this, but I'm bothered by your face.” I fired back that made him more mad.

I laughed hard while reminiscing about those days. We were both young, but thankfully we learned lessons from those moments.

If you were to ask if who fell in love first, then I can easily answer that it was him. I was thinking about war in between us but he was already thinking about love!

“I always got mad at you but you look so amused and happy. And when I got mad, you look happier then.” I said to him and he chuckled.

“You were jealous back then, the reason why you were always getting mad at me. And you always fight me cause you want to get my attention.” he fired back and it made me shy and blush!

Gosh!

I pouted and glared at him.

“No way!”

“Yes way!” he started to tease me again.

But he also stopped when I'm not speaking. He smiled at me and hugged me.

“What matters is... I always love you. Okay?”

“Hmmm.”

“I love you, always.” he whispered and smiled at me. I smiled at him too and my face heated and I guess it's turning red as tomato!

But I'm flattered and feel happy at what he just said.

He kissed my forehead and smiled again.

“Let’s go. We'll watch again tomorrow.”

We always watch the sunset together. Since we met, we only became friends because of watching the sunset, we both love doing that. And I'm glad that we do that until now. Until we became US together.

“I told you, it will always come back.” he said, pertaining to the sunset we're watching.

“Yeah it will. But I just want to take a picture of it. You know, every sunset has its own beauty.”

“Okay, okay. Let me take a picture of you then.” he insisted so I gave him my camera “Smile. I want you to have a picture with each sunset we watch from now on.”

“Yeyy!” Thank you. But I want both of us to see in the picture!”

And from that day on, we always took a picture together everytime we watch the beautiful sunset.

Everyday with him is a special day.

My phone keeps on ringing, but my mind is busy for thinking.

Tears pooled in my eyes while remembering those days, weeks, months and years we shared together. All I wanted was to be with him. And now...

“Ellise, dear, come here now.”

I slowly walked down from the rooftop of our beach house to the ground floor.

I smiled as I slowly walked on the carpet in between the crowds. People are watching me as I slowly went in front of the man I love the most.

Ivan...

My tears again pooled in my eyes, as I see him in his black tuxedo, and black slacks. I watch all of him while he is peacefully lying in his white coffin.

My eyes were dried and puffy. I sat down and burst into tears. I couldn't stop crying. I can't. I don't know how to start my life without him.

He died after battling with his heart disease. .

I can't Ivan, please wake up. Let's talk please.

“I-ivan...“ my voice cracked as I'm calling his name without him answering it.

My tears won't stop falling. I can't stop crying while looking at him, peacefully asleep.

I never thought it hurt so bad!

I never thought sunsets are full of pain. Because as the sun is setting, I also need to let him go. And as the sun settled down, he was finally gone.

Ivan you are the most painful sunset in my life, cause even I know that you're coming back, we can only see each other in my memories.

I love you so much, Ivan. Rest now, My Love.

jpg_20220119_063854_0000.jpg

png_20220119_065327_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency