This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Certificate saga

I could practically feel my heart beat hard against my chest as though it would rip off to the open. My sweat drops were as thick as oil despite the air conditioner that blared hard in my direction. I fumbled with my document in an attempt to distract my troubled mind, hoping my fidgeting fingers would come to a stop. I was next in line to be called for the job interview at Oceanic Oils, one of the top-notch oil industries in Lagos, and here I was, clad elegantly in a black corporate gown almost reaching my ankle with a black cover shoe to match. Earlier this morning, I wore my best smile as my selling point in addition to my smart dress but that mattered less to me at the moment as my world seemed to spiral into a deadhead-original degree certificate was missing among the documents I arrived at that interview venue with. I knew Kehinde, my twin was responsible for the missing document, it could only be him. We had a heated argument the day before, a verbal aggression that our parents had to intervene. Though we were 24 years of age, we still quarreled and fought like kids. Kehinde was the male while I was the female. He had an intimidating physique and because of my smaller stature, he almost always wanted to take advantage of me which I was quick to refute. Unfortunately, we were the only children born to our parents, and probably a reason why the frequent friction between us occurred.




"Miss Taiye Akinlolu, you may come into the conference room for your interview." A baritone voice spoke through the public address system located at the waiting Hall where I sat alongside other people waiting to be interviewed, jolting me out of my deep thoughts. My heart skipped a beat for a moment but notwithstanding, headed to the door of the interview room, my legs shook visibly and every ounce in me wanted to pull back but I managed to proceed. The brown aesthetically designed door easily gave way as I turned the handle and my entry was greeted by numerous searching eyes of the interviewers who sat in a row opposite a large table. A single chair was left opposite the table, obviously for the applicant. They were in black tuxedos with slightly different shades and they all looked elderly except for two younger ones whom I envied to have been in such exalted positions.


"Please, have your seat Miss Taiye Akinlolu, let's start with your credentials. You can hand them over to Mr. Buhari." A man in his late fifties spoke out gently, gesturing to a young man in his early thirties who approached me to take my documents. I knew the interview would get to this at some point but I didn't envisage it would be this quick. I tried as much as possible to be in my best composure which came harder than I could imagine.

Mr. Buhari collected the documents from me and sorted them out right on my table. "Your original degree certificate is not included?" Mr. Buhari said in an audible whisper alone for me to hear however with an obvious frown on his face.

I became speechless at that moment, having not prepared a tangible excuse in advance. "I'm sorry," I replied in a whisper, knowing fully well my chances were slim. Mr. Buhari sorted the other documents and went straight to the man who had requested my documents and presented them on his table. I saw him whisper something to him before stepping back and yet again, my heart pounded harder against my chest. I wish I could just disappear or find a tenable excuse but I had none. I noticed other interviewers, eight of them kept silent with indifferent looks except probably for one of the young-looking staff who busied himself pressing his phone.

source

"So, Miss Taiye Akinlolu, why did you consider coming into the room with incomplete documents? Do you think we have time to waste here?" The old man spoke out with obvious but controlled annoyance.

My head went blank at that moment as I saw the intentional stare of many pairs of eyes expecting a tangible response which I was soon to disappoint. "I'm sorry, this was not intentional." I managed to say, knowing fully well they expected more from what I had just said.

"Well, you can leave, we'll get in touch with you." The elderly man said, handing over my documents to Mr. Buhari to relay to me. I had heard several of these lines in different or same formats before in my search for a job, convinced this was yet a futile journey, all thanks to Kehinde, my twin who had gotten his revenge.

"Are you by any chance Kehinde Akinlolu's twin?" The young man who busied himself on his phone earlier spoke out. His diction was soft and enchanting. I crushed on him despite my predicament but I had to face the challenge of getting a job first. Hearing my twin's name was a scare for me. He had always been a stubborn soul and even our classmates knew him to be one. I wanted to deny him at this point, sensing affiliation with him could further jeopardize the opportunity already slipping out of my hand.
"Yes, he's my twin brother." I could not believe the words dropping off my lips as I bowed my head in shame. I noticed Mr. Buhari stopped midway and the others equally kept silent.

"So, where is he now? Is he still as stubborn as ever?" The young man continued excitedly, further exposing my twin, dwindling the very slim chance I hoped and clung to.

"Regrettably yes, he's in town sir," I said, ignoring the stubborn part of his question. 'That scoundrel has wrecked me eventually' I thought to myself.

"That's cool, say me well to him, tell him Adesanya asked after him." He said smiling. Taiye and I went way back to elementary school. We were friends for a brief moment but I enjoyed his company right before I went overseas. He brought out a card from his tuxedo and handed it over to Mr. Buhari who rushed to his side, nodded severally as he took the card and brought it in my direction. "Be sure to resume by 8 a.m. on Monday. Mr. Buhari here will take you through. And please, ensure your documents are complete by then." Mr. Adesanya smiled at me.

Mr. Buhari brought my documents and also the complimentary card to me and only then did I just realize what luck I just had.

"Thank you, sir, thank you very much. I'm sorry for the documents sir. Thank you so much, sir." I said profusely. At that moment, I could hug anybody, even Taiye, my twin who always got on my nerves.

"It's fine, do have a lovely day," Adesanya said, waiving me off.

Mr. Buhari walked me to the door I had earlier come through and whispered into my ears. "Lucky you, he is the chairman's son and the new CEO." I gasped at that realization and a smile crept through my happy face.

Every step I took was light, I wanted to jump into the air and dance but I composed myself and headed home right away.




I saw my twin, Kehinde, lying down on the couch in the sitting room immediately I walked into the house. He didn't look in my direction, probably still pissed at me and I was but not any longer. As much as I wanted to break the joyous news to him, I struggled to hold back and hold onto pride. "Adesanya asked after you," I murmured threw the complimentary card at him, and walked out on him immediately, heading straight to my room.

Less than two minutes later, Taiye walked and barged into my room without knocking. "So, you met Sanya, that guy is back in Nigeria?" He sounded excited.

"His number is there, call and ask him yourself. And try to knock before entering my room, I've warned you countless times Kehinde!" I spat at him, pretending to be angry. And your evil plan of hiding my certificate did not work out so please, gently bring out my certificate before I pound on you." I threatened.

"You look more beautiful whenever you're angry. Kehinde teased and disappeared only to reappear with my certificate in his hand. " I'm sorry Taiye, it was after you left this morning that I realized what I did was terrible. I'm sorry, I hope we can stop our fights. You know I love you right?" Kehinde said and walked towards me with arms apart for a hug.

"If I punch you, you will roll out of here" I retorted.

"Or I'll roll into your arms sweet sister," Kehinde said as he forcibly wrapped his arms around me. I resisted initially but truly, I missed him, missed our happy moments, and mostly, grateful that our relationship paid off in today's job pursuit.

Logo
Center