The Ink Well Prompt #54 - Better Days Ahead

20220223_181116.jpg

Chike!, Chike!!, Chike!!
I had my name in the dark room
That was papa(father) calling me, I could feel his breath on my neck.
" Follow me" he said
And I immediately draged myself up, rubbing my sleepy eyes as I followed him. He led me to the family "obi"( a little hut), he placed the fire on to keep us warm as it was too cold outside .

I brought out a little chair for myself as my father was already seated with his head bowing down. I sat down, and for about 45 seconds he didn't say a word to me
Then i heard him clearing his throat as most African parents does before saying anything.
"My son" he called out
"Life has not been fair to us despite I and your mother endless effort. But soon you will be leaving this village to study in the city. Chike my child no matter what comes your way in the city please do not forget where you are coming from, don't forget how far You've come to get to this opportunity" papa said to me
"Speaking of leaving the village soon for the city, it's actually Tomorrow, yes I will be leaving the village to study in the city the place for the big men" I thought, but papa was saying it like he was scared of saying "tomorrow" and uses "soon" instead
"My son I heard the city is full of bad and corrupt things, please think wisely before doing anything" I nodded in respond.

"Come closer" he said and I stood up walk closer to him
"Kneel down my child let me bless you"
I immediately did as he said
" My Ancestors I come to you this mid night committing my son into your hands that you should go with him and protect him as he leaves for the city" papa prayed and I responded in our native way "iseee ( Amen)"
"Open your mouth" papa said, and I obeyed
Aaahhh I felt something liquid
"Papa spat into my mouth" I thought
"Swallow it"
I forcefully did so as he continue praying declaring good things on me

I couldn't do otherwise when he asked me to sallow his spit, where I came from we don't question our elderly once. We got through with the prayers and papa asked me to go inside and sleep since I will be having a long day tomorrow, I went inside but I couldn't sleep immediately I was covered by my own thought thinking about what papa meant by bad and corrupt things. Honestly I don't have a clue of what the city looks like, but I was fully prepared to face it. I thought about alot of things that I never knew when I slept off.

It was morning
Dede!! Dede!!! (Senior) my one and only sister called me in our native language as a sign of respect.
I opened my eyes to see her standing next to me with a huge smile
"Dede mama is packing your clothes" she said and ran outside
It was early in the morning and a bit dark outside. I stood up and find my way to Mama's hut
"Mama Otutu oma" ( Good morning mother) I greeted her in our dialect
"Otutu oma nwam" (Good morning my child) she responded.
I went straight to her little bed and sat closer to her as she arrange my clothes in a small old fashioned bag with the help of mpkanaka ( native light) that was made with palm kernel fibers.

Mama got through Shortly and sat down next to me, she held my hands and called out my name
"Chike, always remember where you're coming from, don't forget your father's teachings don't forget me and Nnenna your kid sister either please be safe and study hard you know this type of opportunities are really hard to get, and lastly don't forget to always pray to your "Chi"(God)"
"Ok mama I will do as you said" I replied her
"Now hurry to your hut and freshen up"
I did as she said.

I was done bathing
Wiped myself dry and apply Ude Aki our native cream. Mama has already brought out the english cloth they bought for my journey to the city. It was a karki shirt and shorts that barely touch my kneel, I cross round my little waist the brown belt laid out for me in the belt holder. I was about wearing my shoes when Nnenna my little sister walked in crying
"Nne" I called her in the way I always pet her
"What's the problem" I asked
"Papa said your leaving the village for the city, is that true?"
"Yes Nnem I am". It was like a radio was turned to it highest volume. Nnenna cried so hard, I got to pet her to see reasons why I should leave and finally she was calm. Well I understand her pain though, I am her only sibling just the two of us and Nnenna was so found of me.

I got through and walked outside with my sister, we went straight to the obi cause I know my parents must be waiting for me there.
Oh Mazi Nduka the man I was to go to the city with was already in our house.
"Good morning Dede" I and my sister greeted him simultaneously
"Good morning my children" he responded with a smile
"Are you ready Chike" he asked me
"Yes sir I am"
"chike Nwa come here and kneel down" papa said to me. I went and knelt down in front of him and mama and together they gave me their blessings..
"Mazi Nduka you two can now go" my father said

My family walked us to where Mazi Nduka packed his tortoise car and I quickly placed my bag at the back sit of the call and hop in front, sitting close to my uncle as he drive. My parents and little sister wave farewell to me as they watch us move, I could see some tears in my mother's eyes but she was strong enough to hold it.

I wasn't satisfied,I brought out my head through the window and wave continuously at them and I heard my father's voice loudly saying
"Chike my son, be a man for TOMORROW shall be great".

Picture taken by me with my phone Samsung Galaxy.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency