The ink well prompt #53- The Deal

photo_1565614692945_c3dce55a0a98.jpeg

Adrian Moise

So the other day my friend Michael came to me requesting for help, just a little favour from a friend to a friend.

"It's not going to be difficult trust me, my guys would have done it if it were any other department and students of any other level, it's just that we can't afford to lose to 100level students now and in the same department no, I promise you I will pay you" Mike said.

Mike wanted me to play for his team, his department was hosting a football match between 200level and 100level students.

"But Mike you know I'm not in your department what if we get caught?" I asked.
But Michael was so convincing with his plan "We won't get caught! Guy why are you afraid.. Okay see, I'll give you one of my guys' reg. number. And just like that we are good to go"

"Okay, but what if we don't win? "

"Ha that is not a issues, we will win, I trust you. There is no body in this neighborhood don't know you as a good player."

After thinking about it for some minutes, I agreed to help Michael after all the plan was good and I needed the money.

" Okay, I will help you guys but immediately after the match, I want to see my 5k" I told Michael.

" No problem. match is by 5pm and your reg no. is 19/AR/PH/100, please don't forget."

" Okay".

By 5pm, I got dressed and I called Mike, he told me to meet him in school to get my jersey and also prepare with them a little until they start match by 6. I took my last money from the house, boarded Keke to school where I met Mike. Everything went as planned until we got to the Field.

I don't know if it was my village people or Mike's village people that wanted to disgrace us that day.

We got to the field, the official insist to verify the students reg number of Mike's department, A guy in the other team approach me that I should not be afraid, he has done it before playing for this team.

I heaved a sigh of relief that I didn't know I have been holding in for so long.
People started checking themselves in. I waited for the first five people to go then I followed.

Official: Sir, are you a student of this department
Me: yes sir
Official: Okay, what's your registration number
Me: 19/AR/PH/100

Official typed in my details and then looked at me
Me: Sir please what's wrong?
Official: Are you sure you are in this department?
Me: Yes Sir
Official: Mr man it seems you have forgotten your registration number
Me: No sir, that's not possible I just gave you my registration number now and I am very sure it is correct
Official: But this registration number belongs to a girl

My mind: Eweeeeeeee, Michael you have finished me

Me: Ha Sir maybe there's a mistake did I say 100?
Official: Yes
Me: Sorry Sir, indeed I was mistaken my reg no. is 19/AR/PH/101

Official typed it in again and still looked at me with that same expression and I just knew... Whoever's village people it was, whether mine or Michael's, they had caught us

Oh! My 5k

Official: This is also a girl's registration number
Me: Haaeeewww Michael what's this? Sir please try 102
Official: Does it look like I'm playing lucky number with you?
Official: Will you get out of here before I lose my temper

Ahhhh!!! My money for transport has been wasted?

"No Sir, Sorry Sir" I said, trying to fight the tears that stung my eyes, I quickly scanned the area for Michael and I found him buying sachet water at the far end of the field.

"Today Michael will kill me or I kill him, whether I play this match or not he must pay me. My money would have bought me a plate of rice this night, I won't take that nonsense." I thought within me.

As I was about going to Michael, the official called out to me again

Official: Come here boy
Me: (walking briskly) I'm here sir
Official: Which level were you supposed to play for?
Me: 200level Sir (Maybe this man has noticed that I was about to cry, I thought and quickly wiped my tears "about to drop".
Official: You people think I am stupid right? They went and brought you from another department to play for them, just go and tell your captain that you people have been disqualified, I don't want to see you people again till this tournament is over.

Ahhhhhhhh!
What kind of disgrace is this one.

With my head bent, I walked over to Michael to break the news to him. His so called excellent plan had gone wrong and I was even the one that ended up getting all the disgrace instead of him. "He will see me today, "I said to my mind Michael will see me today.

I searched everywhere for Michael but I couldn't find him. " this is my village people at work. How will I go home now?" I cried

" Guy why are you crying?" Someone asked behind me
" Is it because they disqualified our team?"

I didn't know how to explain to this girl that I spent my last money on transport and I couldn't find Michael and I didn't have transport back home not to even talk of Dinner tonight,
Michael will so hear from me.

"No it's not that, I just received bad news from home and I don't have transport to even get there 😭"

"Oh my God, sorry about that, how much is your transport" she asked.

" I told her the amount"

She opened her purse and handed the money to me, I thanked her for it and decided to trek home so that I could at least eat that night.

After trekking for about 1hour and 30 minutes, I finally got home little did I know that my money did not get home with me until after I had finished eating.

Aunty Ima, the woman that owned the food bazaar walked up to me after I had finished eating

Aunty Ima: please the money for the food
Me: Ma wait oo, let me remove the money from my pocket
After checking my pocket and I couldn't find the money that the girl at school gave me.

"What's this one again".

"Ma please I have forgotten my money"I told her.

"Please if you know what's good for you just give me the money now and go your way" She told me.

"Ma I'm not lying to you, I swear"

"I have met a lot of people like you, please stand one side, you are not going home today, you will wash all my plates till tomorrow morning"

Ahhhhhhhh! I knew My own was over that day.
When I got home the next morning I was broken

Don't just ask me what I did to Michael
That's a story for another day.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency