The Inkwell prompt #61. Puppy Love

img_2443.jpg

Image source

This week’s prompt: Happiness

Find the prompt here


Puppy Love

“ I’m just telling you that She broke my heart.

On a blustery day in late September Sasha left me standing at the altar with a ring in my hand.
Who would do such a thing, hey? But people do, they do…
At the time, I didn’t feel my heart at all, there was no stab of pain; just red-faced embarrassment. Good Lord, not even Gary, my best man could look me in the eye. Onlookers became bystanders to my shame. Quietly, but with a collective conscience, they hung their heads, but stole sidelong glances, furtively, as if I were bleeding to death in front of them rather than just playing the stooge.

It was so odd really, because all I could think about was how gorgeous the flowers were. Sasha had demanded a combination of pink, violet and white roses; the exquisite petals were everywhere, wafting their perfume at me, mocking me with their enchanting aura of hope. The symbols of love, so full of bloom.

I hate roses, you know, I can’t go anywhere near them; my nightmares are overloaded with their fragrance...and, of course, I don’t sleep well at all, not at all. But, who would, would you?

Fragments of my effort to disappear invaded my reality for months after the display: Tearing the flower from my pocket, Gary guiding me forcibly, trampling petals, Gary shoving me into his car, the pale orange sun blinking weakly, the rain splattering the window wipers, the slick tarmac, the uninviting warmth of our apartment. She haunted me in that space for weeks, floating over my coffee cup in the mornings, reaching for me across the sheets at night.

I moved rather swiftly, obviously. But she still taunted me, ethereal and wispy, delicate and smooth. I learnt not to turn around when I heard her laughter, I taught myself to stop looking for her.

She was toxic, poisonous, but I dreamt about her for months, I missed her. I know how insane that is, you don’t have to tell me.

So, anyway, I shouldn’t be pouring my heart out to you like this, I'm sure you’ve got better things to do. Haven’t you boy? But, thank you for paying such close attention, thank you so much for listening to my drivel. You’re so cute, you know that don’t you? I love your ears, I love you soulful eyes, l love...”

“Are you okay?” I turned away from the cage to see who had overheard my conversation with the fluffy black and white puppy.

“I’m just trying to see if we communicate well, see if he understands and likes me before I subject him to my company twenty-four-seven. Are you also looking for a dog to take home?” My cheeks flamed, but I stood my ground.

“Yes, but I’ve been eyeing the one you seem to have fallen for. I met him yesterday and decided to come back for him today.” She brushed her hair back with a rather fetching gesture. She was tall and willowy, bright chestnut hair glowing with radiant gleams of red under the sun. She was grinning at me, warm brown eyes sparkling.

“Look, you seem to have connected with him, it’s almost as if he’s been waiting for you. You take him, I’m sure I can find another puppy that’s just as cute.”

“That’s sweet of you, but you don’t have to feel sorry for me because of what you’ve just heard.” I felt my head droop slightly.

“Oh, no, I do, and believe me, although I can’t say that I’ve been through something as bad as you have, I’m also trying to recover from a wrecked relationship. I’m trying to move on and conquer my demons, too.” She looked a little pensive after sharing this nugget.

I looked at her and it felt as if the sun had just come out.

“I tell you what. I’ll take the mutt home with me, but you’ve got to agree to come over to my place and visit, often. You’ve got to agree to come and help me when I take him for walks in the park. You’ve got to help me check him out of this cage right now, and perhaps we could do coffee to work out a schedule. For the puppy, you understand?” I nodded at the cage and cast my eye at the puppy.

He barked, scratched at the cage and wagged his tail, in that order.

...and, like magic, she laughed and came over to help me release him from his confines.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency