The Ink Well Prompt #84 FENCING - ESKRİM


Source

ENG

--I'm about to give up, I said.
--I think you should try a little harder than run away," said my fencing teacher.
-- But I can't do it, teacher, I've been coming to these courses for two weeks, but it doesn't work, I'm incompetent.
-- This is how you hold your wrist, he said and showed me his right wrist. Then, he added,
--There you see it, Jack? This is the move you have to make, he said.

I examined her carefully, looking at her wrist and then at my own. With my right arm in the air, I lifted my wrist, which was hanging down like an apple on a tree branch. I fixed it as Miss Alice showed me.

-- Well, it's better like that. Now take the foil in your hand and, turning his head to the right, glanced at the children in the field and added, and you see Mike, I want you to have a duel with him. Try holding your wrist the way I showed you.

Then she called Mike. "Mike, will you come and have a duel with Jack?"

Mike was startled for a moment when he heard his name, then started running towards Jack and his teacher. When he got to them he stopped. "Are you ready Jack?"

--I think, I could say. It was not possible to see any greed in my eyes. Actually, I had already given up, but maybe this last tip will change things up. I straightened my slumped shoulders with a final force. I was able to force a tiny smile on my face toward Mike, and we shut down our masks. I'm focused.

It seemed to be working. My foil would not fall out of my hand and the duel had been going on for 5-10 minutes. I had confidence in myself. My teacher was watching intently from the edge of the field. I was so happy, I was just about to give up the sport I had been dying to do, and I thought I wouldn't be a good fencer like my father. But maybe everything was about to change.

It was the first time I had won a duel, my mother rushed toward me excitedly when I got to the edge of the field and gave me a big hug. "Congratulations to you, son. You're sweaty, sit down and rest." He showed me the stands next to the field. I went to where she was pointing and sat down. It was a really tiring match, but I didn't feel tired at all. I was proud of myself, and soon after, Miss Alice came up to me.

-- That was great, you see Jack, that's a nice improvement.
-- Thank you very much, teacher, I am very happy. I bought this game because of you.
-- I didn't do anything Jack, you were the winner, I just showed you the right way.

I looked at Miss Alice with a big smile on my face. I take a breather in my seat as my mother thanked Miss Alice. Miss Alice went away to take care of my friends. My mother sat next to me and kissed me softly on the cheek. "You've been swinging a foil for an hour, and you haven't had much for breakfast. I made you a sandwich, do you want it?" she said. I quickly nodded my head yes.

My mother reached into her bag, stirred it for a bit, then pulled out a sandwich wrapped in aluminum foil, carefully unwrapped it, and handed it to me. That sandwich with chocolate cream was the most delicious sandwich I've ever eaten...

Thanks for reading...


Source


Source

TR

-- Vazgeçmek üzereyim, diyebildim.
-- Bence korkup kaçmaktansa biraz daha çaba göstermelisin, dedi, eskrim öğretmenim.
-- Ama bir türlü beceremiyorum öğretmenim, iki haftadır bu kurslara geliyorum ama olmuyor, yeteneksizim.
-- Bileğini şu şekilde tutuyorsun, dedi ve bana kendi sağ bileğiyle gösterdi. Sonra ekledi,
--İşte görüyor musun, Jack? Yapman gereken hareket bu, dedi.

Onu dikkatlice inceledim, bir onun bileğine bir de kendi bileğime baktım. Sağ kolum havada, bir ağacın dalındaki elma gibi aşağıya sarkmış bileğimi yukarıya kaldırdım. Bayan Alice'in gösterdiği gibi düzelttim.

-- İşte, böyle daha güzel. Şimdi eskrim kılıcını eline al ve, kafasını sağa doğru çevirip, salondaki çocuklara göz attı ve ekledi, ve Mike'ı görüyor musun, onunla bir düello yapmanı istiyorum. Bileğini gösterdiğim şekilde tutmayı dene.

Sonra Mike'a seslendi. "Mike, gelip Jack'le bir düello yapar mısın?"

Mike ismini duyduğunda bir an şaşırdı, sonra Jack ve öğretmenine doğru koşmaya başladı. Yanlarına gelince durdu. "Hazır mısın Jack?"

Sanırım, diyebildim. Gözlerim de bir hırs görmek mümkün değildi. Aslında çoktan vazgeçmiştim ama belki bu son ipucu bir şeyleri değiştirir. İki yana düşmüş omuzlarımı son bir güç dikleştirdim. Mike'a zorla minik bir gülümseme gösterebildim ve maskemizi kapattık. Odaklandım.

İşe yarıyor gibiydi. Eskrim kılıcım elimden düşmüyordu ve düello 5-10 dakikadır devam ediyordu. Kendime güvenim gelmişti. Öğretmenim sahanın kenarından dikkatle izliyordu. Çok mutluydum, tam umudum tükenmiş ve bu yapmak için can attığım sporu bırakmak üzereydim, babam gibi iyi bir eskrimci olamayacağımı düşünüyordum ama belki de her şey değişmek üzereydi.

İlk defa bir düelloyu kazanmıştım, annem heyecanla bana doğru koştu sahanın kenarına geldiğimde ve kocaman sarıldı. "Seni tebrik ederim oğlum. Terlemişsin, oturup dinlen." diyerek bana sahanın yanındaki tribünleri gösterdi. Gösterdiği yere geçip oturdum. Gerçekten yorucu bir maçtı ama hiç yorgun hissetmiyordum. Kendimle gurur duyuyordum, hemen sonra Bayan Alice yanıma geldi.

-- Bu harikaydı, gördün mü Jack, bu güzel bir gelişme.
-- Çok teşekkür ederim öğretmenim, çok mutluyum. Sayenizde bu maçı aldım.
-- Ben bir şey yapmadım Jack, maçı kazanan sendin ben sadece doğru yolu gösterdim.

Yüzümde kocaman bir gülümsemeyle Bayan Alice'e baktım. Annem Bayan Alice'e teşekkürlerini sunarken ben de oturduğum yerde soluklandım. Bayan Alice arkadaşlarımla ilgilenmek üzere uzaklaştı. Annem yanıma oturdu, yanağımdan yumuşacık öptü "Bir saattir eskrim kılıcı sallıyorsun, kahvaltıda da çok yemek yemedin. Sana sandviç hazırlamıştım, ister misin?" dedi. Kafamı evet anlamına gelecek şekilde hızlı hızlı salladım.

Annem çantasına uzandı, biraz karıştırdıktan sonra, alüminyum folyoya sarılı bir sandviç çıkarıp, dikkatlice folyoyu açıp bana uzattı. Çikolata kreması sürülmüş o sandviç yediğim en lezzetli sandviçti...

Okuduğunuz için teşekkürler...

ipexito.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency