Inkwell prompt #60 || MISGUIDED EMOTIONS

pexels-cottonbro-4101166.jpg
Source

Second term had started, the chemistry laboratory was filled with serious students, one held up a test tube filled with a green liquid
"Finally !" He said,
'Daniel this would indicate ferrous iron, wouldn't it'.
"Um... It should" I replied absently.
Mr. Gerald, the chemistry teacher came to our table . "How are you all fairing".

"Just fine sir" we chorused,
"Daniel, you wait behind after lab"
I murmured a little bit, asking myself what I did wrong, I looked around and saw Abigail filling a burette, eyebrows puckered in concentration, she looked up and our eyes met for a brief second before she quickly glanced away.
And I began to wonder why she had been staring.

After classes, I met up with Mr.Gerald, who then asked me to help him tidy up the laboratory. He led the way into the back room that was usually empty but was now filled with microscope burettes and other new equipment.

"The school just ordered brand new stuff for your exams," he said dusting his hands on his trousers
"You students are really lucky".

"It's good sir," I said politely

He then peered at me for a short while before asking "is anything wrong?"

"No .. nothing sir"

"Good to hear that", he patted me on the head paternally. " You can go now, here is the key to the cabinet, give it to the technician"

I nodded collected the key and left the room.

On my way out I kept thinking should I have told him about what was going on, should I have told him about my mother's condition, I kept thinking out loud, when I bumped into Jessica, a very beautiful girl I had a crush on.
"I'm sorry I didn't see you there," I said helping her pick up the plastic balls that fell from her basket.
"It's not a problem," she said as she continued to pick the balls.

" So, you're still around, I thought you'd be gone by now ", I said without expecting a reply,

"Yh, I was helping Mrs.Powerbuttom set up the campaign hall for tomorrow," she said.

"Oh !..and the balls "

"She said she doesn't need them so I'm taking them home "..she answered as she stood up

"Do be careful Jessica !!" Mrs. Powerbottom shouted from the entrance to the campaign hall " I heard that some street boys clashed this morning, so be careful as you go home ".

"Yes ma'am !" Jessica replied

"So, I guess we are going the same way then? " I asked knowing the answer to that.

"And where might that be ??", she replied knowing fully well what the answer was.

"Home of course.. and if I'm not mistaken it's that way," I said pointing in the direction of home.

She laughed as we walked the path, heading back home.

We talked and laughed for the whole of the walk, but I couldn't help but notice, that she had not insulted me not even once today, and before I knew what was happening, I found myself staring at her face, lost in her beautiful smile, she looked so fresh and cool ...and fastidiously neat, as always. Her gentle perfume filled the air.. and her boobies were. ... Shame on you Daniel!!, I said to myself, catching myself in the process. Your mother is In the hospital and you are having thoughts like this.

We took a turn down the street when heard gunshots, people started running helter-skelter knocking down the basket of balls Jessica was holding
" The street boys and the police are fighting," they said as they passed us by.

Jessica was scared and grabbed my hand in the process, I held on to her and pulled her in my direction as we ran for protection...

We ran into an uncompleted building where other people had gathered, and almost regretfully she released her hand from mine.

We looked into the street and saw that more people had joined the commotion when Jessica shouted

"I know that boy !!" Pointing in the direction of a boy who was standing in the middle of the street
"he is from the school of retarded children"

"What ??" I said

"He has a learning disability," she said clearing the air ." He going to get hurt

She ran in to save him and I ran in after her pulling her to safety when she grabbed the boy.

" I know a place nearby owned by a friend of my father," I said as we ran far away from the commotion. " We'll be safe there ".

My dad's friend, a tailor who lived far from the commotion but was also very security conscious, with burglaries securing every entrance to his home, we knocked on the door secured by a burglary and a man looked through the glass window apprehensively. His expression changed when he saw them and he open the door...

" Daniel my boy !! , Please come in" he said ushering us in. "How are you, seems like there's always trouble in this part of the town, and then lowering his voice he asked me
"And who is this one now? It's not Stephanie and it's not Abigail or .."
"Stop it," I said almost blushing "she's my classmate'.
"That's why you are looking so sheepish. I don't blame you though, she's a wow ', he said.

Jessica was sitting with the boy, telling him not to worry when I approached her
"You like crazy things, crazy nice things," I said with a grin.
" No I don't, bad things just happen whenever you are around"

"I'll take that as a joke" I replied

As we both laughed and I watched her undo the band that held her hair together watching as her hair fell across her shoulders.
She looked so beautiful in the room light, with her hair across her shoulders. I don't know if It was could air in the room because of the air conditioner or the fact that we just barely survived, I suddenly felt the buzz and my emotions tingling, so I made my move only to be stopped in my tracks
" What do you think you are doing Daniel?" Jessica asked stunned by my action
"I'm sorry, I was in the moment .." I said now lost for words.
"I don't like you Daniel I was only trying to be kind to you because Sarah told me about your sick mother, stop getting ideas in your head !!." She said as she walked away in anger.

We didn't speak much after that horrible incident and at 6:pm when the conflict had completely died down we left together neither of us saying a word to each other as we dropped the boy off and went our separate way home.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency