INKWELL PROMPT #58 | THE NEXT GEN.

img_0.763051615579358.jpg

Source
Dennis Roland, the most famous man in the world of sport, known to many as the "windbreaker" due to his unmatched speed, he was truly the people's champion.

By the age of 20, be was already accomplished, winning the Balon d'Or not just once but twice. He had everything he wanted and needed in life, cars, money, girls, and fame, he was living the dream life, everyone wanted to be him, that was why his fall from Grace came as a shock to everyone.

It was during the national world cup, the whole world was watching to see Dennis play, and as usual Dennis the mighty showed why he was the youngest and most wanted player in the world, scoring goal after goal after goal, and the crowd going wild with the chant of his name at every score, and he took his team from the group stage to the finals and then the trophy.

His accomplishment was well acknowledged by the world, until a story leaked from an unknown source came to light about his rise to fame, saying that he was using performance enhancement drugs, and calling him fake. The case was thoroughly looked into and concluded that Dennis was guilty of using performance enhancement drugs after a series of tests.
His life came to an abrupt end as he was suspended from participating in sports for two years, all the deals and the endorsement stopped coming, and soon Roland the great became Roland the fake.

He was so ashamed, he went under the radar, and no one knew what happened to him ever since, until, one day a stranger walked into a bar, all frustrated and troubled

"Can I get whisky on the rocks ?" the stranger said as he took his seat at his bar counter,

"Looks like you having a rough day ?" The bartender asked while still pouring the mix,

"Hommie, it's stressful.." he said now reaching out for the drink the bartender had poured out for him.

"Bro can you believe I've been busting my ass all week on the pitch, and that crazy-ass Coach wouldn't even let me start Friday night.
Mehn!!..that's messed up bro and it don't feel right, at all ....and you know the worst part, he swap me for Meg ...I mean that guy don't even know how to catch a ball even if it were crawling...now he's quarterback... Oh! My God !!", he lamented.

"Too bad, you got injured in the last game, now that punk's trying to take your place".the bartender replied vaguely with intent to bait.

"I only wish there was a way I could get back to a hundred percent before that punk steals my spot."

"Well..there is one way ..but it's only if you are into drugs and shit.. but it's not your thing so never mind.". The Bart tender said, cleaning the liquid spill from the table.

"Bro you have gat to tell me...I need to get my spot back, so stop playing with me bro."
He said.

"Aiight,..it's called ex-k when you take it, you get super jacked, super strong and super fast, trust me it'll fix you up and get you, your spot back".

"Really?" The stranger said, totally open to this new suggestion with a little bit of doubt.

"Bro I ain't playing with you.."
The bartender replied

"Cool so where can I get one ?" He asked with desperation now written all over his face.

"It just down the street at.."

And just then an elderly voice interrupted their conversation

"Pardon me, boys but I could help but overhear your conversation" the elderly man appeared from out of the shadows, actually he was just sitting there the whole time unnoticed, probably because he was old.

"Who are you and what do you want ?... if you're a cop we ain't gat nothing and we didn't do nothing, so you can't take us in "

"Relax , young man, I'm not a cop.."

"So what'd you want ?"

"Now look here lad, you seem like someone who's probably smart enough to tell when he's throwing his future away. Doing drugs might seem like the right plan, because the drugs might help fix your body, for now, but they can also break your future...it starts with one pill, then another and another, until you can't stop, you get so blinded you don't know where the line starts or ends, and finally you end up thinking you're doing the right thing, but only time will tell if you'll end up like me or escape the onslaught..... Make the right choice now that you're young, lad. And remember you're body can still take the pain, all it needs is a little time to heal."

And with that, the old man walked away, while stranger watched him as he walked out the door, noticing he was wearing a sports vest with the name. Dennis Roland and number seven printed on the back of his vest, the exact name and number of the greatest of all time.

The stranger paused for a moment now looking back at the bartender he asked..
"Was that, Dennis Rola.."

"Nope, it's just some old geezer, who comes here every Sunday and he does this every time .. now about the drugs, are you in or out ?"

He paused for a while before saying
"Hook me up bro".
And so it began, the stranger's journey to Oblivion.

"I should know because that stranger is me, and now, I only wish I had taken my time to pick my choices and taken the advice of the man I now realize to be Dennis Roland.
It's too late for me now to right my wrongs, so I'm handing the Barton to you, don't make the same mistake I made,...John my boy..".
John listened as his father told him the story of his life while he watched, as life steadily but slowly departed from him(his father).

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency