Inkwell prompt #55 | The weight of power

img_0.9947366892996615.jpg
Source: https://pixabay.com/images/id-3120717/

It was Saturday night, mother and father had gone on a date, leaving me in charge of my three siblings. It was my first time being in that position of power and I was eager to see how it felt.
Normally mom would pay our babysitter Kira to do the job, but that night Kira was unavailable as she had traveled for her mother's burial. So that night was my time to shine.

So just before mom and dad left, they dropped a list of rules which I was instructed to follow, I wasn't surprised because they usually did the same when Kira was babysitting.

When I held the list mom and dad had prepared for me, I instantly realized it was longer than the one they usually gave Kira, so I asked
"Mom, this list seems a lot longer than normal "
and she replied "Junior, just follow what's on the list and you will be fine. Your dad and I will be back by 9 pm, so no funny business. " She said as she hug my three younger siblings Aron, Eric, and Jessica, who were just 7years old, before exiting with dad.

After they left, I turned around and paused in motion as the gaze of my siblings was now on me.
Aron and Eric are twins, and they always did almost everything together, and the time they don't spend together, Aron usually uses it to cause a lot of problems.
While Jessie was the sweet innocent princess, but can also become a total nut case if provoked.

At this point when they were all staring at me and waiting for instruction, I realized I had no clue of what I was doing. So I smiled and screamed
"Who's ready for movie night?!!" I paused as I awaited their response, they stared at each other for a moment before yelling right back
"We are !!".

Shocked and relieved, I walked into the living and turned on the TV, then Jessica walked in with a bowl of microwave popcorn mom had made before going out. She looked at me waiting for me to say a word,
I paused as she fixed her eyes on me, intensely looking through me, I knew she could see my fear and smell my weakness. And with all the courage and politeness I could summon I said
"Jessie, you know you are not allowed to take sugar before bed, right..?"
Still looking at me, but now with anger in her eyes, she took a handful of the popcorn and shoved it right into her mouth.
Once again I paused.

A few moments later the whole of us was on the couch watching the newly released avatar series,
Aron and Eric were sitting on the floor, munching on the bowl of popcorn Jessica brought in earlier, while Jessica was fast asleep on the couch, I checked the time and it was 8:30 pm,

"Oh no!!, Mom and Dad will be back any moment now!!!", I exclaimed, drawing the attention of Aron and Eric.
"It's bedtime everyone," I said, but by looking at them I knew they weren't ready, so I switched off the TV, and that's where I messed up.

Aron instantly tackled me to the ground while Eric grabbed the remote, turning on the TV as he dash towards the kitchen. I ran after him and Aron followed, I tried getting the remote but they kept playing hot potato with it, all the while keeping it away from me. And with the whole ruckus going on, I didn't notice when Jessica woke up and resumed eating the popcorn again.
I was angry and frustrated when I saw this, and with the last of my depleted energy, I screamed, I yelled and I cursed.

I was so deep in anger yelling at them, I didn't know when my parents arrived. They heard all that I said, but when I tried to explain, they shut me down.
I was grounded for a whole week, I tried to explain what happened but they wouldn't believe me, they saw what did as "setting a bad example for the children".

And I was never allowed to babysit again.

img_0.8006237987678912.jpg

Thanks for ready.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency