THE AFRICAN DREAM

šŸ˜

20220328_165731.jpg

Designed on Pixellab

"Goaaaal!! That was unbelievable, Osimhen dribbles past not one not two but three defenders as he puts it past the keeper" shouted the commentator but i could barely here the commentary as the whole football viewing center exploded.

Nigeria was up by a goal and still had fifteen minutes of play time. This was the first time an African country would be reaching the finals of the FIFA world cup and the whole world was watching.

Two minutes later i was still watching the match when my phone rang, it was my sister and I knew I was in trouble. I stepped out to pick the call.

Bro, where are you mum has been looking for you. It's better you head home now she said immediately I picked the call without allowing me talk

ooooh, I go watch final na ( I went to watch the final) I replied in frustration and in fear.

If you Sabi wetin good for you, dey come house now (If you know what's good for you, come home now) she replied

Still thinking whether or not to risk watching the match till the end, I saw my friend come out of the viewing center to check up on me.

We both decided to head home, even though he wasn't in trouble like I was but Ade was a good friend and always supported me in my decisions. So we headed home.


I didn't know whether I was in a good mood or a bad one as my emotions were all mixed up at that particular moment. Whether to shout with joy or continue to look on in remorse.

(I'm sure you don't understand what I mean by my mixed emotions. Let me explain and then we'll see if you understand or not.)

I was in my room playing the PS5 with my friend Ade. His dad had just bought the PS5 for him to celebrate his birthday about two weeks ago. Today being a weekend, he brought it over so we could play at my house.

We were still enjoying the game, when I heard mum call me from the kitchen.

Emekaaa , where are you? she called out

I was so engrossed in the game, that i wasn't ready to answer her. Ade was leading by 2 goals to 1 and I was trying as much as possible to equalize so I didn't answer her.

Emekaaaa she called out again

Maaa, I'm coming I shouted in frustration, seeing as I didn't have a choice but to leave the game and answer her summons.

Mum wanted me to go give one of her friends some money about three streets away for her Ajo ( Ajo is a kind of money contribution between people). Still grumbling i collected the money and headed to my room to inform Ade.

Five minutes later and we were on our way to the woman's house. We were on our way when Ade reminded me that the FIFA world cup final would be starting in a few minutes. We had planned to watch it at house since my mum wouldn't allow me watch at a crowded viewing center. But somehow Ade convinced me it was much fun if we watched history being made in the company of true football fans instead of my boring room.

Being just twelve years old, and not thinking things through we both agreed that we should watch the match first before heading to where my mum sent me.

That was where we both were when my sister called me. I had completely forgotten i was supposed to go somewhere after being engrossed in the match.

Being partly responsible for my predicament, Ade stuck by me. We both headed to my house unaware that I was already in another problem.

On getting home, mum was very furious with me. I was asked to produce the money, but i couldn't find it anymore. I had probably lost it on my way, or it had been stolen at the viewing center.

I was still at the receiving end of her tongue lashing when Ade rushed in to give me the news. He had been hiding outside the door to avoid my mum's wrath if she found out he convinced me to go to the viewing center.
Upon seeing my mum's face though he rushed back outside, but not without giving me a wink.

Oh i forgot to tell you, the news Ade rushed in to tell me was that Nigeria won the world cup final. This was the cause of my mixed emotion as I couldn't celebrate in front of my mum and still look remorseful enough to avoid punishment.

An African team had just made history, this was the African Dream.

I WAS STILL WAITING FOR MY PUNISHMENT WHEN I WOKE UP.. OH ,IT HAD ALL BEEN A DREAM


Few hours later I was still thinking about my weird dream when Ade walked in with his PS5.

šŸ˜šŸ˜
THE END

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency