(SHORT STORY) šŸŒ˜ Heavier than any Burden

Yo, yo, yo. How's our week going, mm? šŸ‘

šŸŒ˜ In the same world šŸŒ˜
Initiation | A Glint Amongst The Rubble | The Ringing Harbinger | For Duty Untold

This is more of a world-building one. I tried some new things here as well. My main concern with this piece is that it feels unsatisfying. We'll see. And I promise no trigger warnings this time. šŸ˜ Trusssttt.

image.png


Gia picked the lock with ease, shadows ever following.

Inside were more books than she thought existed. She exhaled a long, winding breath trying to calm herself. Control your urges, Gia. For but a second she stood there, absorbing the view in its full magnificence.

I bet this pompous prick doesn't even read these books. He uses them to boast to his friends about how smart he is. She decided to return at a later date and relieve him of his bragging rights. She then realized she hadn't moved since entering the expansive room. Get it together, Gia. You have a job to do.

She scurried around the library like a mouse, devouring every book with startling efficiency. She soon found it: a reprint of a classic children's book but with added illustrations for every story. Gia browsed until she found the poem "Lucky Little Urchins." The corresponding picture showed three kids running away from two guardsmen.

Satisfied, she put the book down. Section three. And scrambled to find the drawer. Second drawer. It was there. Inside was a steel lock-box with a simple lock, inside that were several big jeweled earrings, a pouch of herbs, a hefty bag of coins - and several neatly ordered parchments.

I wager the King's own scribe would be proud with the condition of these. Gia mused as she took the earrings and pouch; she left the bag of coins, they would only be a distraction. Then, with a hand of a practiced thief, she took the green laced letter without disturbing the others.

She went to a writing desk, took out ink, quill and parchment, and started copying...

I have never sinned. And I will go to my grave with that conviction.

I understand now, after all these years I finally understand - our King is God, and we are but ants in his presence. Ants, my friend...

Do not mistake my words for blasphemy. I have always known this to be true, but now I understand it. Many would use such a statement as arrow fletching, so let me explain.

I grew up poor. But not just poor. I implore our colleagues to recall the last time they were hungry. Truly hungry. For hunger creates a beast out of the most learned and creative mind. I was such a beast. I would do anything to survive.

One day, while I and some acquaintances were trying to do just that, a fruit basket fell on my head. This, knocked me out while scattering the rest of my accomplices. They might've been desperate, but they were also cowards and no fools. I was taken and placed into a prison cell for my deviance.

In that cell, I received my first full meal - not for that week, or month, or year - but for my life. At the time, I thought they were just playing with me, setting me up for something horrendous. Like when you fatten a pig before you slit its throat.

As you know, I have certain... proclivities. Our Sovereign understood this before I did, and acted accordingly to save my life. Did he do this for my everlasting service? Unquestionable. Did he save my life from the gutter? Unquestionable.

Unquestionable is my devotion to him. And though I have never met him, his scribe has told me his majesty thinks fondly of his urchin-turned-lord experiment. And if that's all I am: a lab rat primed for testing, I'm still not a dead rat in a sewer somewhere.

I am fortunate to live and enjoy life. And yet... and yet...

I've heard tales of these experiments. Falsehoods I said. Propaganda by the masses. But have I been too far removed from the streets to remember the masses do not care about our King? For a time, mayhap. But my sight is clear now. And I can see what we've become.

My life. My wife's life. My... children's... These are expendable. What are the lives of four nobles compared to the lives of us all? Tell me my friend, and tell it true! If you weigh each on a scale, are you certain which side will dip?

I am. I am certain and I am still writing this to you. I know your prudence and ask for mercy. Think of my words and think with clarity. And when you have - meet with me. With no pretense or judgment. I wish to have a civil discussion with you at a place of my choosing. I am certain you understand.

My life, the lives of my family, and... the world, they're in your wizened hands now. And I have the utmost confidence in your delicacy.

Your friend.

Gia stared at her writing and did not flinch. She read the letter again, too stunned to believe the words. First things first, she returned the original copy back in its place. The letters in the lockbox remained undisturbed with her job complete. Time to head back to the guild.

Gia remembered to grab the picture book on her way out, however. Those illustrations were great.

She found herself on a nearby rooftop, her mind racing to make sense of the letter. It raced, tripped, and fell. You are smarter than this, Gia. And she was. Smart enough to know that a choice presented itself before her.

If she gave this letter to Theldon she would condemn a possible ally. The man might be her guild leader, but he was ruthless, irrational, and unforgiving. If she did otherwise though... she would condemn herself.

The nobility aren't your allies, Gia! And yet, in her pouch, was proof. She couldn't feel it, but it was there - heavier than any burden. And when the chips were down which side was she really on? The guild's? She only joined the guild to help her friends, to fight for those that could not. What happened when the guild interfered with that? Was it still her guild? But if she helped this noble, and got labeled a traitor in the process, she wouldn't be able to help anyone anymore.

What are the lives of four nobles compared to the lives of us all?

Gia bit her lip hard enough to draw blood - the bastard had more courage than her. Weren't all the nobles spineless cretins? Another falsehood.

Theldon was wrong. This person was not their enemy. And her choice was made.

She took out the letter, read the damned thing. Then read it again.

Then ripped it into a thousand pieces.

headers copy.png

I wanna thank the mods for their swift help a couple of days back. An oopsie if I've ever had one. šŸ˜„

As for this story, I have no idea if it worked. I think I should've used more foreshadowing, so it feels like the story has more of an arc. But that made the thing feel...clunky, I dunno. It is what it is. Hope you folks enjoy it. šŸ˜Œ

Image source.

Shout-out to the šŸ•PIZZAšŸ• gang, šŸ¤™ gang. šŸ¤™

Peace. šŸ‘Š

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency