If I'm To Die Today, I Don't Want To Die Smelling.


El Origen

A black raven perched on the window croaking noisily, the five dogs in my yard started barking fiercely, in the same minute all the lights in the house turned off simultaneously.

"He is here!" I said jerking Rita who have been comfortably sleeping and snoring despite everything happening.

I got up, went to the other room and grabbed the purple wand, torchlight and the salt solution, I returned to the bedroom to see Rita still sleeping. I pulled the covers off her body and pointed the torch at her eyes.

"Seriously Rita, is this how you keep watch on the other side?"

"Wtf Grim, what's the fuss about?"

Rita realized I was serious when she saw the items in my hands.

"Grim, you need to calm down and be sure first. Nobody has seen the reaper in hundred years."

"Yeah, until he showed up and marked me as his next prey. We need to move now!"

I put the items and some some stuffs in a bag, put on a jacket and headed for the door.

"Do you mean like right now, it's 2am, and I need to shower for crying out loud. If I'm to die today, I don't want to die smelling."

I ignored Rita, grabbed the shotgun by the door and went straight to the car. As I started the car, Rita came running and joined me.

"So what's your plan, where are we going to. I thought being a grim on earth was much easier. I came here for a vacation, now this... CAN YOU TELL YOUR DOGS TO SHUT THE FUCK UP! Who drives with five dogs at the back seat of their car."

"Does everybody in your planet talk this much?"

"Actually we don't because we are too busy to chat, but then technically we do because we are always repeating some codes as we work. If you count the xen clan it will..."

"You know what, I don't wanna know. Just keep quiet let me think."

"We should have done the thinking in the house, after a cold shower and a hot breakfast. No better time to think, but no. You do this James Bond thing that you humans always do. I don't know who you are trying to impress."

I brought the car to a hard halt by the side of the road, turned towards Rita and said.

"Listen to me, if you say one more word, I'll have to drop you off my car. I can't think with you blabbing and..."

"I'm sorry to interrupt you. What if you ask me a question, should I remain dumb. And what if I have to pee, how do i notify you."

"I don't see myself asking you a question. And if I do, a sentence is enough for an answer."

I started the car, I was about to move then Rita spoke again.

"You didn't answer the part about peeing."

I ignored her and drove off.

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

It took an hour's drive to get to Dan's Place, He was watching a football match with a beer in hand when I walked into his parlor.

"Great, all your friends don't sleep at night." Rita said.

We hugged each other and he offered me a beer.

"Who's the chick?" Dan asked.

"Hello! I'm not a chick. I'm a Grim just like your buddy here." Rita replied.

Dan looked at me in confusion, I had to explain to him that she was actually a Grim from a different planet.

"Wow! Never knew a Grim could be so pretty."

"That's not why I'm here Dan. I think the reaper is here."

"Are you sure. Just because the FORTUNE teller said he would come for you doesn't mean he is here."

"Same thing I told him," Rita cut in. "What's so special about you that the reaper would awaken from his peaceful hundred years slumber, just for your soul."

"I'm not taking any chances. If the reaper decides to awake, I'll send him back to sleep. Are you in brother?" I said looking at Dan.

"You know I'll go to hell for you brother. Cheers to our last day in earth."

We clashed our beer together and drank with large noisy gulps. Rita who has been standing all along said.

"So now you have time to drink, but you won't let me shower and have breakfast."

"That's no way to treat a lady." Dan said to me laughing.

"Don't mind my friend pretty, there's a bathroom down the hall way by your left. I'm sure we can fix you something to eat when you are through."

"You see Grim, I think I like your friend." Rita said smiling.

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

The large city bell tolled five times indicating 5:am. In the fields behind Dan's house there I stood encircled by fire and some inscriptions on the floor. The circle was laced with the salt solution and in my left hand was the the purple wand. My dogs surrounded the fire with their tongues out, ready for war. Then I saw a figure coming closer, to the fire. I gave a sigh when I realized it was Rita.

"I just wanted to remind you that if you are wrong, and the reaper never shows up, you will be going to hell for nothing." She said.

"I'm fully aware, Is there anybody you want me to greet down there?"

"You know for someone about to die, you should smile for once." Rita said as she turned to leave.

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

Soon after she left, the dogs started barking over and over, the trees were rumbling, the birds were fleeing from their nests. Then I saw him, few miles out. He was standing with his left index finger pointing at me. I could see the green flames in his eyes as he ran towards me.

My dogs charged and ran forward, but they couldn't hold the reaper down long enough. He ran into the circle and held me by the neck.

"Dan now!" I screamed.

Dan came out chanting some ancient spells from a book as he walked closer to the circle slowly. The reaper noticed Dan and turned sharply towards him. The reaper dropped me and in a split second he was facing Dan sending him flying into the dark with a single blow and he came back for me.

"Rita! This is where you come in. You have to find the book and complete the spell." I said to Rita who seemed to be in shock.


el Origen

"Edika Si Mien!"
You Are Mine! The reaper said bringing out his tongue which oozed of a terrible odour.

"Sindika Et Ruben, groche fer turben..." Rita shouted the spells as she walked towards the circle.

On hearing Rita's voice, the reaper stopped, sniffed me and sniffed the air towards where Rita stood. He must have realized that we were both Grim. He forced a smile on his dark face, once again he dropped me and dashed towards Rita. Surprisingly he couldn't see Rita, but her voice was still heard as she read out the spells. Rita had made herself invisible.

"Hey ugly! Get in here, we are not through yet." I screamed at the reaper.

I needed him inside the circle when Rita Completes the spell. The reaper on the other hand had to make do with the Grim he could see. He dashed back at me and picked up where he stopped with licking me.

"... Secturum Sanct Infernum!"

As Rita echoed those last words, the fire round the circle turned red and became thicker and much bigger. The reaper tried to leave the circle, but it was too late. The fire exploded, and with the explosion everything in the circle disappeared, including me.

Everywhere Was Completely Dark For Several Minutes

The next time I opened my eyes, I saw Rita sitting and sobbing inside the circle, in her arms was Dan who was breathing heavily.

"I thought it was only humans that cried." I said as I approached them.

"Holy Shii! How are you still alive?" Rita said trying to hide her tears.

"Let's just say, the devil owes me a favor." I said with a smile on my face.

"And he finally smiles." Rita said.

"I was hit by the reaper and survived, that is some record." Dan said coughing and we all laughed and our laughter echoed in the darkness.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency