An Inkwell Prompt story: The Magical Camera

Hello. This is my first time entering the inkwell prompt or posting on the community in general, I decided to enter this prompt because I really like the prompt.
So here is my story I hope you enjoy...

The Magical Camera.

camera-820018__480.webp
source
My ear goes banging early in the morning due to the alarm clock next to my bed. Still half a sleep I am able to stand up but I soon fall back down due to my weak legs. I decide to just sleep for another couple of minutes,but just as i am about to close my eyes I look at the time and realize that it is nearly 9:00am.

I quickly dash to the bathroom and freshen my self up as I think how mad my boss would be, this time I would get fired for sure. I rush my cereal and burst out the door with my coffee in my hand. I attempt to drink it while still running in order to catch the bus.

I finally get to it and take a seat inside. I sat next to an old man who looked at me. I tried to avoid eye contact and started to think of the consequences of waking up this late. I could not afford to lose this job I only nearly managed to get employed.

I began to feel very uncomfortable as the man continued to stare I was about to break out and yell at the man to cut it out. But we had already reached my stop so I just grab my side bag and rush out the bus and cross the street to see my boss outside on a call.

As I got there he hang up his call. I wanted to say something, but decided to just proceed inside the building but he stopped me. I couldn't tell if he was mad or he just wanted to chit chat, but whatever it was I knew it would not be good. He told me then to leave that I was fired . In the mist of my disbelief I could only hear that he said I'm on fire. But I was told to leave immediately.

I left the building almost crying why would a a grown man cry? So what lost you're job get a new one you might say. But that was the only job that could accept me and I screwed it up.

Later in the night....

I was left sort of felling ashamed coming to ask my friend mark for help but he too wasn't even able to help me.

I walked back home while the rain poured down on my coat I decided to wait it out suiting on a bench under some shade.

Then all of a sudden I felt that same discomfort I felt earlier... I looked to my right to find the exact same man from earlier on the bus.

old-man-6939927__480.jpg
source
At this point I was starting to get a feeling of fear how did this man get here?, has he been following me?, I would have noticed if he was.

Before I could ask him any of these questions he stood up from the bench and walked away. I noticed that he left something on the bench so I decided to try and take it back to him, but I then realized that he was gone I looked around and couldn't find him.

I then noticed that the thing he left was a camera. I looked into the lenses of it and took a picture....

Instantly it felt like I was transported and when I opened my eyes I was in bed again.

I stood up unsure if that was just all a dream, but I then saw the camera the same camera next to me. I couldn't even very recall what happened. Assuming it was a dream I stood up and repeated the same actions although this time on the bus the man wasn't next to me. And when i got to work I was told to get inside. This was strange indeed, then that gave me even more confirmation that it was just a dream but then how did I get that camera?

Was I drunk last night I don't remember drinking. A dream was the only solution I could think off.

*Later in the night"

I came back from work and settled down on my couch. I saw the camera next to me where i had left it in the morning. And to test my theory that this was indeed a dream I would have to take another picture. Though the idea sort of scares me a bit, I decided to do it.

I picked up the camera looked through the lenses and pressed the button and took a picture
rain-5917792__480.jpg

source
And as before I felt like I was transported back to the exact same place where I took the first picture in the rain on the sidewalk on the night holding the camera. What was this was I dreaming of me dreaming? No this was all real but how?.

For days I tried to see how this could be possible, and I continued to try to take pictures and I continued to come back and fort from the two different situations of my life.
I concluded that it must be that this camera somehow literally let's me see and participate in life through a different angle, through a different lens.
End

I hope you excel in whatever you do.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency