I Experienced That Sweet Love Again

I Experienced That Sweet Love Again

Photo by Nandhu Kumar

"Good morning Emmanuel, I am going to the shop, ensure you cook something for yourself and the dogs when you finally decide to get out of bed" " Mom whispered through my window. Still enjoying the cold harmattan breeze, I covered myself well with my thick blanket and responded, "okay, mom, I heard you, have a fruitful day".

I was very okay before my Mom left, but a few minutes later, my head started aching, and I started feeling so cold. I thought it was normal because there were a couple of times I felt that way, especially if I slept late. "It should be stress, I will be fine later, maybe I just need to get more rest", I encouraged myself. I am so scared of falling sick, the last time I visited the hospital concerning any health challenge was about six years ago.



I dread injections, and you see drugs, I don't want anything to join me with them, maybe you know why I don't like falling sick now. After spending a couple of hours without any improvement, I put on my clothes, took my phone, and went straight to see Mom at the shop.

"To whom do we owe this big visit"? My mother teased me on arriving at the shop. "Come on Mom, don't I used to come to the shop? It's just that since we relocated from this area, I don't find it comfy to come around", I replied.



"Just pulling your legs, I hope you fed the dogs"? Mom questioned. "Em, I didn't mom, I have not been feeling too well since you left the house, my head has been seriously aching, I thought, if I took some walk I'd be fine but I am here and still not feeling alright", I replied. "What? Why didn't you tell me this morning when I spoke with you"? She queried.

“I am sorry Mom, I didn't know it would be this serious", I apologized. "Eat some food then, we will go to the nearest drug store and get you some pills", My Mom replied. I got inside the shop and got some food but I couldn't eat and I was shivering.



When Mom noticed my condition, she said, "Get up, let's go to the store.", arriving there, we greeted the pharmacist and he was like, "Madam you are here again"? "Yes sir", my mom replied. That was when I realized she has been having some health challenges too.

"How may I help you this time around"? the pharmacist inquired, she looked at me and said "Talk to him". "My head has been seriously aching and my eyes are heavy, anytime I walk under the sun, I feel like I am boiling in a pot of hot water" I replied to him.



"Sorry, this is malaria", he responded. He prescribed a few drugs, and we got them from his place and left. I was so broke at that time, I felt bad because I made Mom spend. As soon as we got back to Mom's shop, after appreciating her, I told her I was going home because I was feeling dizzy. She packaged some food for me and her dogs and cautioned me to take the drugs.

When I got home, my condition got worse, I couldn't eat and I couldn't take the drugs. I struggled and picked up my phone and dialed Mom's number. As soon as she picked up, I said "Mom, my condition is getting worse, I can't even walk now". "My God", She exclaimed on the phone.



In no time, I heard the sound of a bike in the compound. It was Mom, "Emmanuel, open the door," she shouted from the compound. I struggled and got the door. When she saw me, she was terrified. "Get on the bike, we are going to the hospital" was what she said after locking my room.

When we got to the hospital, it was like life was going out of me, the pain was unbearable but my concern was not even my health, I was worried that I wasn't having money, and I was going to make that poor woman spend.



After delaying for some moment, we were finally attended to, and some tests were carried out on me, after which we were directed to an office. Mom gave the test result to the tall, handsome, young Yoruba guy who just finished attending to some women and he said, "Madam, your son is going to be admitted", obviously he is the doctor. That was the last thing I heard, I became so unconscious that I didn't know where I was.

Some minutes later, I opened my eyes, and I saw myself in the male ward being dripped, I turned around and I saw that sweet soul sitting close to my head on the bed. I looked at her and said, "Mom, you are the best and Sweetest mother in the world, what would have happened to me if you weren't still alive"? "Come on don't talk like that", she queried me. "everything happens for a reason" she added after stirring at me, with some sweet smiles on her face.



Of a truth, there is no sweet love on earth like that of a mother. Imagine the sacrifice they make to ensure we are okay. Their love is everlasting, whether you are an adult or not, your mom will always see you like her little lad and whatever troubles you is her concern.

After spending a night at the hospital, the next day, my health stabilized, when the doctor came for inspection, he told the nurse taking care of me to discharge us.


Thanks For Reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency