THE INTERVIEW

“My village people must be after me”!!! Tunde moaned as he took a closer look at the damage his electric iron had done to his shirt.
He was rushing to get to an interview on the island, the interview was for 1pm and even though it was only past 10am he knew that with the traffic in Lagos he would run late if he didn’t leave almost immediately.

He was not a superstitious person, but he did believe that was his good luck shirt, and now it was burnt too badly to be used…if his girlfriend hadn’t moved heaven and hell to get him the interview he would have just ditched it.

03C37A0E-6A38-4639-982F-83F34C3E3AFE.jpeg
source
He found an alternative for the shirt and rushed out of the house with a speed that would have made the flash Jealous, he waited at the bus stop for a BRT going to the island but it was taking way too long, his phone rang less than five seconds later…it was his girlfriend.

“Hey babe!!! Are you set for your interview ?”
She asked with that care and concern in her voice that always broke down his hard guy demeanor.

“Yea, I’m at the Bus station but it’s taking forever, and I need to be there soon.”

“Sorry baby, I would have dropped you off but my day is just filled with activity” she responded…I know you’re going to do great…you’re very qualified and hard working…Just calm down”.

When he got off the phone with her, he said a little prayer of thanksgiving to God for leading her to his life somehow, she could do sooooo much better than him, she was better off financially, physically and even psychologically.
Years of struggle and depression had taken a toll on his mental health, Three years of Job hunting with a first class degree from one of the most prestigious colleges in the country with no luck had not helped either, before Chidinma Okoli came to his life he actually had very little to be happy about. It felt really good to have a partner who would always support and look out for him.

1EB2211F-7543-47BA-A90C-EA61078A7B26.jpeg
source

When he got to Obalende he was almost late for his interview, he took a bike and then a Keke which had a terrible effect on his clothes, he showed up at his interview looking a lot less Sharp than he would like…and it was just five minutes to one pm, Lagos traffic almost won again.
“Hi I’m here for an interview?” He said to the surly faced receptionist.
“Mr Tunde Afolabi? We’ve been expecting you...Come with me please.”
As he walked into the room where he was to be interviewed he noticed that the man at the head of the table looked oddly familiar, Between the deep piercing eyes and the face, he was sure he had met this man before.
The man who was clearly the boss extended his hands towards Tunde with a shadow of a smile, “Nice to meet you young man, I’ve heard a lot about you…I’m Alexander Okoli…MD of the company”
Tunde groaned as he shook his hand, he was already nervous about the interview and now this??

In the reception Chidinma waited anxiously for him to come out, her father did not approve of her relationship with Tunde and was less than eager to offer him any help, she had to make it clear to him that she loved Tunde and would continue to support him whether he helped them out or not, her father had finally agreed to consider him for the job on the sole condition that he would interview the boy himself, the thought of Chief Alexander Okoli grilling her boyfriend had sent shudders down her spine but she had faith in Tunde, he would be alright…she hoped.

Tunde walked out two hours later, he looked tired but he had a weird smile on his face, he spotted her and walked towards her to give her a hug
“Babe you should have told me I was going for an interrogation with your Dad, I would’ve worn my good luck shirt” he said laughing.
“How did it go? Was he mean to you? I’m sorry if he was mean to you” she said, the words rushing Out all she once.
“He wasn’t, let’s just say he knows I’ll do anything to make you happy”.

Later that night, Chidinma got a call from her father …”Hey Papa bear, thank you so much for giving Tunde the opportunity to come for the interview at the office, I truly appreciate it”
Chief was shocked, he was calling to apologize to her for offering to pay the young man to disappear from her life, Tunde’s adamant refusals had led him to offer almost unreasonable amounts of money, promises of a job, contracts…all of them had met the same response….”No thank you Sir, I really really love your daughter and even though I need what you’re offering I need her more”.

He had berated the young man and spent his drive home wondering if his daughter would ever forgive him so it amazed him that she greeted him warmly…except Tunde hadn’t told her yet.
“Put your boyfriend on the phone princess”
“Hello Sir” Tunde said walking away from his girlfriend who was eagerly trying to eavesdrop.
“I owe you an apology, you are more than qualified for the job and we would be happy to have you join our team”
Tunde was beyond shocked, “What made you change your mind Sir?”
Chief Alex paused as he considered the reason for his change of heart.
“I didn’t care that you rejected my offers, but the fact that you didn’t tell my daughter about our exchange speaks volumes of your character…I look forward to working with you and hopefully one day I will be okay with your relationship with my daughter ”
As Tunde put down the phone he couldn’t hide the smile on his face…his village people hadn’t succeeded.

E3523FC3-33DB-446A-BAD2-CC60E6CAA2EE.jpeg
source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency