Adam's Quest For Perfection// The Inkwell Writing Prompt

"perfection is possible, don't allow a mediocre to make you settle for less" the preacher said standing on the pulpit. This wasn't the first time Adam had heard him say these words, but today, the preacher had said it with some audacity that challenged his thoughts. Adam is a photographer who has been rejected by many firms, he was considered not good for them. He is 4.5ft tall, fair in complexion, he likes to dress in a corporate white shirt and plain trousers. "Maybe perfection is truly possible" he said to himself "I'll do everything possible to reach this perfection" he added.

img_0.5222163117504227.jpg

Photo source

He tried to find a perfect fit of a man he envisioned who was tall with a broad chest, mustache, and dresses in jackets. Adam knew if he ever was going to be like the perfect man hanging on the wall of his room, he needed to first compromise his dressing style, and do things he didn't do before now. The jacket didn't look comfortable on him but assured himself it was just for a while before he adapted to this new lifestyle, he customized a shoe 1.7 ft tall to complement his height, and hit the gym to enlarge his chest.

"My looks have caused me rejection many times and I need a change" he says each time he is confronted about his new lifestyle.

A year had passed and Adam still suffered rejection. "Maybe I have not done enough" each time he tells himself, thus trying to live a different lifestyle contrary to what he found comfortable. Each month changing lifestyle to suit what looks like perfection.

"I'm tired" he voiced out to Thomas one evening.

"Tired of what exactly?" He asked.

"Trying to live perfectly," Adams said. Thomas chuckled watching how awful Adams is looking in his quest for perfection. The once not so perfect but cool guy looked more miserable than he had started.

"I felt it was my looks that had hindered me from getting those jobs but now I'm confused," he added.

img_0.37126328205448766.jpg

Photo Source

The next day he was out with his corporate white shirt and plain trousers.

"I no longer seek perfection, good and getting better is okay," he said, looking at himself in the mirror.

"I'm short, I know. The chest I have built, I'll learn to live with it, rejection is okay, I'll keep trying until a firm recognizes my worth.

A few months later, Adam was sitting before an interviewer, he smiled after hearing Adam's story.

"I have learned to love myself for who I am, I'm not perfect but I wouldn't rest in being good". Adam said.

"You can resume work tomorrow, your quest has made you better," the interviewer said.

img_0.9604010972005702.jpg

Photo source

Adams met the pastor one fateful evening,

"Sir, you always said perfection is possible, what do you mean?" He asked.

The pastor looked at Adams for a while as if to get a clue to why he asked. "Have you ever heard of the statement, we are just humans ?" Adam nodded.

"That's to tell you humans are imperfect beings, but we can keep growing everyday with the hope of reaching perfection, and that's what makes it look like a possibility but then it's not possible, the day we become perfect is when we cease to be humans' '.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency