Edna And The Prince

Greg ran across the hall way and barged into a room full of servants and screamed.

"He is awake!"

The servants gasped, got up and started running towards different direction. One of the servants ran into a kitchen full of stewards and screamed.

"He is awake!"

Likewise, the stewards ran helter skelter, one of the stewards ran to the security post and screamed to the guards.

"He is awake!"

The guards jerked up running towards their various duty post, One of them ran to the city gates and sounded a loud trumpet. A man was seen running as fast as he could, he got to a house and quickly opened the door where a young girl was peeling melons.

"Didn't you hear the trumpet, what are you still doing here?"

"Dad, I know he is awake. I'm sure he can wait a couple minutes. I need to get this melon ready for mum."

"Have you gone mad! You don't want to keep him waiting. I'm sure your mum can wait."

"Dad! He is just a human being like you and I."

"No he is not! He is your future King and you must stop this nonsense this minute and head over there and do whatever he says."

Edna sluggishly got up and walked towards the palace.



¡Source

"You are late, again!" The prince screamed as she walked into the prince's chambers.

"I'm sorry, I had to help my mum. Her sickness is getting worse."

The king walked slowly towards Edna, with his footsteps getting louder with every step.

"I couldn't care less about your mum. You do not talk to me looking at my face you commoner! I'd have you wiped if I wasn't in a hurry. Get on with it, I have to meet the seer soon."


¡Source

Edna Sat on the floor, stringed her guitar and started singing for the prince as was her daily routine. While she sang, servants walked to and fro serving the prince, had him fed, washed and dressed up in his royal attire. He walked out of the room, but Edna wasn't allowed to stop singing, until Greg ran into the room and screamed.

"The peacock has left the building."

Edna laughed and said

"That is one rude peacock. How do you survive dealing with that arse every minute of the day?"

"He would have your head for those words. I got to run sis. I have to meet up with the prince."


"Great and loyal seer! I hear you have a solution for my quest to become the perfect King."

"The answer you seek lies within you. Journey to the Brothe Island, Acquire the fruit from the golden tree and you shall return a perfect King."

"Ah! That is much easier than I thought. I'll have the guards head out at once and acquire this fruit. It should take them seven days tops."

"No! You must retrieve this fruit yourself."

"Oh really, I'll have to arrange the royal entourage then."

"My prince, this is a journey you must embark on your own."

"On my own! That is not possible. I mean you know I can't survive a minute out there, and we are taking about a seven days journey here. Who will bear my flag, who will tend to my horse, who will sing to me, who will make my sleeping place?"

"To be fair, you can pick a person that can do all these you have mentioned and take the person with you."


"Dad! I have to leave this village. I'm fed up!" Edna said walking into the house with a long face.

"My dear what is wrong?"

"That arrogant prince thinks he owns everybody and can order You to do whatever he wants at any point of time. I have a life of my own for crying out loud."

"Shut your mouth Edna. You dare not speak of your future King in that manner. What did he order you to do this time?"

"He commanded me to pack my things to accompany him on a seven days journey on his stupid quest for perfection. I have to bear his flag, sing to him and other ridiculous things he mentioned."

"My daughter, listen to me. You might not see it now, but the universe has a greater plan for you. Just remain loyal and humble."


Eight days later, the King marched into the Seers tent in annoyance with fierce looking guards.

"Is this how you have been defrauding and decieving the people all these years."

The seer who barely woke up from sleep walked out of his tent cleaning his eyes.

"My prince is everything okay?"

"How dare you! You sent me on a futile mission."

"Why don't you calm down and tell me exactly what happened."

"I did as you said, only to get to the Brothe Island to discover that there is no such thing as a golden tree. Do you know what I passed through in those seven days. I had to face harsh weather condition. I had to deal with flies and insects. At some point I had to make my own food. Some nights I had to share a bed with commoners. I had to deal with insecurity, Imagine being defended by a girl and I can swear I found myself developing some crazy feelings for the girl."

The seer smiled calmly and said.

"My prince, I must say your quest was a success. You see, it is not the destination that matters, but the Journey taken. There might be nothing like the golden tree, or a perfect King, but believe me these things you faced in the last seven days will make you a better King and steps closer to being Perfect!"



This Is My Entry For #TheInkwell #Prompt56. ClickHERE To Join The Fun.


            👻$toryteller
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency