Dark Ages

All my life, I have lived in a city where the sun doesn't rise. City of Drith have been covered with dark clouds hovering over the city. It has been this way ever since I was born. I have never known light, therefore I was never curious why we lived in darkness. To me it was totally normal, I never knew we the Drithish people were cursed.

Screenshot_20211204-060201.png
¡Source

On my 20th birthday, my father called me and asked;

"Son do you know why our city is always dark?"

"Kids in school say that the sun fell asleep and never woke up."

"What do you think about this?"

"Dad it's just a fairy tale. There's no such thing as A sun."

"Kris my son, it's not totally a fairy tale. There's some truth to this."

"How so?"

"Drith has not always been in darkness. We were once a beautiful community with so much Love and Life. We used our magic to help each other, to cure the sick and protect ourselves from danger.

Few years later, there was an uprising of the followers of Prince Hades. He practiced dark magic . With The Help of His followers, he penetrated into the hearts of the people of Drith. He taught them how to accumulate more magical powers by killing another Drithish. This made every Drithish selfish and power thirsty, they killed without restrain nor mercy. They all wanted to be the most powerful Drithish.

This made the Sun goddess withdraw her light, sending Drith into endless darkness. The people of Drith all lost their magical powers and became powerless to their enemies. The once beautiful city of Drith became a dark forbidden cage that imprisoned only Drithishs. No Drithish could leave the city. And those who tried, were found dead."

"Dad, is there no way to way to break the curse?"

"It is said that as long as prince Hades' heart beats, Drith Shall forever remain in darkness. Legends have it that prince Hades Confined Himself In His Castle of Darkness. No one enters the castle and comes out alive."


Ever since that day, I have been thinking of ways to break the curse. I learned everything there is to know about Prince Hades and his followers. I read about a Drithish named Hethro who still practiced magic. He lived in hiding far away from the rest of the Driths.

Screenshot_20211204-061038.png
¡Source

When I was 23, I decided to embark on my mission. I knew that as a mortal,i stood no chance against prince Hades therefore I set out to seek Hethro the last magician in the City Of Drith. My Dad argued with me about the mission, but I was determined in breaking the Curse. He had no choice but to let me go. The journey took about a week, but I was fully prepared. I finally arrived at an old cottage covered in snow.

"Peaceful calm Princess.
Please I need your Audience.
Grace me with your Presence."

"Who dares to disturb me
How did you know those words?"

Screenshot_20211204-061848.png
¡Source

A beautiful dazzling princess came out of the cottage.

"I come in peace Princess. I seek your help to kill prince Hades."

"Why should I help you, when you all turned against me and my kind before the curse."

"You would agree with me that it is not only the guilty ones that suffer the curse, but the innocent ones are affected also."

It wasn't easy, but eventually I convinced her to join me in my mission.

"I hope you know that no mortal enters there and comes out alive."

"That's why I have a magician with me."

We got to know each other better as we traveled to the Castle of darkness. She told me how the Drithish hunted their family because they refused to practice dark magic. How they caught her parents and hanged them in the city square.


The castle of darkness had this Scary Ambience that would make you want to forfeit your mission and run for your life. At the entrance were skeletons and several symbols and enchantments.

Screenshot_20211204-062216.png
¡Source

"I sense a Herket spell here."
Princess hethro said.

"What does that mean?"

"It's a spell that made your heart stop the moment you step foot in this castle."

"I guess that's the reason nobody gets past the entrance."

"Yeah. I have to break the spell before we can proceed."

She brought out some items from her bag and started chanting some incantations.

"O! Terrae matri. Deprecor te ut des naturae vires. Potentibus maiorum hekero carmine hic frangi et frangi mando!"

There was lightning and thunder. With this snow started falling from the skies.

"Why Does everything about you have to do with snow?"

"That is A special power given to my ancestors by mother earth and passed down from generation to generation."


We proceeded with Princess Hethro leading the way. I followed with my sword drawn. We had no idea what to expect.

Every were was dark and full of cobwebs. Their were charms hanging at every corner and scary whispers could be heard from different parts of the castle. We headed straight for his throne room, we saw a shocking site. We saw Prince Hades sitting on his throne with his head bowed.

This was hero time, I said to myself and stepped forward with my sword pointed at him.

"Prince Hades of the Dark world. I have come to take your life, today you shall die by my sword."

"Something is not right. If that was truly prince Hades, believe me he wouldn't let you complete that statement before striking you to death."

Princess Hethro said as she walked towards the throne, I followed close behind. With A stick she raised his head only to find out that he was dead, but In his hands was a glass box inside the box, there was a beating heart.

"Seems he sacrificed himself and embalmed his heart in this way it would live forever."

"So if I destroy his heart, it all ends?"

I asked.

"Yes. Once his heart stops beating, ..."

I couldn't wait for her to complete the statement, I snatched the glass box, Smashed It On The Floor and shattered the heart. The moment his heart stopped beating, the castle started crumbling.

"Time To leave!"

The princess said.

We ran as fast as we could, immediately we stepped out, the castle crumbled to ashes. I was still breathing hard for narrowly escaping death that I didn't notice the dark clouds slowly lifting and giving way for sunlight.

Screenshot_20211204-062603.png
¡Source

Princess Hethro looked up and said
"Finally Light Returns To The City Of Drith."

I have never seen sunlight in my life. The sight was amazingly beautiful.

"This is wonderful." I exclaimed.

"Well Kris, the Drithish people will forever be indebted to you for bringing THE SEASON OF LIGHT back to Drith."



This Is My Entry For #TheInkWellPrompt #TheSeasonOfLight. Click HERE To Join The Fun.

Special Mention @samsmith1971

Don't forget To Join #TheInkWell. For Much More.


      $toryTeller👻
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency