Gimmick And Gerald

'Fire!!
Cover that man!!
Aim for the snipers.'

Gunshots blasted, bullets rained on the muddy soil. Explosions came from both sides of the trench walls. Meanwhile a soldier was seen trying to make it from one end of the frontline to the other. It was either this young soldier had some magic on him, or favor was fully on his side. He scaled through the raining bullets and explosions. Then there was a dead silence in his head as he saw himself flying in the air in those moments...

8b075dcac49cf6c7935c96a8d05abf17.jpg
Source

HOLD UP

Now, that was me flying in the air, about to meet my maker. How did I get here? Let's rewind a bit.

Many many years ago, There I was, or I guess I was there somewhere. That was my grandmother right there, with my father in her womb.

cf77f15c25e4f3494cdd4878ad972c60.jpg
Source

As my grandmother labored to bring my father into the world, somewhere in the royal castle, two young boys were fighting over a silly toy.

"I am older than you, you must always respect me. Give me the gun!"

"Gerald, Just because you are older than me by three years doesn't mean I should kiss your feet all the time."

"Gimmick, I won the game, the gun belongs to me now."

"No way, you clearly cheated. I am not accepting defeat on this one."

"You really want me to drag that gun out of your hand." The older kid said as he laid down his own toy gun and went over his cousin and dragged the gun, in the process pulling each other to the ground and messing their cloths with mud.

"Where were you when my son and my nephew were throwing themselves in the dirt?"

The Queen questioned my grandmother, whose duty it was to look after the young masters.

"I'm sorry your grace. In those hours, I went to an emergency labor."

"Oh dear! Was it a Boy or girl?"

"It was a boy, your grace."

"Congratulations my dear. In that case I must relieve you. Go and get some rest."

"I appreciate that your grace."

"Honestly, I don't know what to do with Gerald and Gimmick."

"A little advice your grace, let them grow it out, they are just boys."

Unfortunately, my grandmother's theory didn't work, because even as they grew into teenagers, Gerald would always seize every opportunity he gets to bully and harass Gimmick. These two boys were the only male children in the Royal family. No matter how much they hated each other, they could never stay apart from each other. The Royal family tried to ensure that they both get along with each other, because the future depended on it.

Uhhm.. Don't think I forgot about me. I was yet to make my entry into the scene, but believe me I was there somewhere, this time around in my mother's womb.

cf77f15c25e4f3494cdd4878ad972c60.jpg
Source

"Gimmick what is this I hear about you always coming to class late?" My mother questioned the young master who was her student at the time.

"Madam! It is not my intention to be late for class, but my annoying cousin has formed a habit of hiding some of my belongings every morning. Most times I spend hours searching for my shoes, or my pants or my bow tie."

"Gerald is this true?"

"The thing is Gimmick here is very careless and right now his simply trying to blame me for his carelessness."

"I'm so not careless. I'm certain you are the one always hiding my stuff."

"You better prove it or I'll beat the hell out of you for accusing me falsely."

"Stop it the both of you! Don't you have respect for a pregnant lady. Now listen to me closely. You better learn to live with each other. The fate of the Kingdom depends on it. If you keep behaving this way, you will tear this kingdom apart with war."

My mother should be given an award for predicting the future right there, because that is exactly what happened. When this cousins grew into men, each having their own kingdom, their steady quarrel eventually led them into war. I'm sure you can guess who started the war.

The war lasted longer than anybody expected. On day 1342 of the war came the reckoning that every body has been hoping for.

8b075dcac49cf6c7935c96a8d05abf17.jpg
Source

Pardon me for my rude entry into the story. Well I wasn't exactly the reckoning. In the kingdom ruled by Gerald, there was a secret that could end the war. And of course being the hero of my little story, I had to be the one to retrieve this secret.

Since the beginning of the war, the neighboring Kingdoms never interfered because they didn't want to choose sides. Definitely that would change if an evidence comes up, showing that King Gerald has plans to attack other Kingdoms when he is through with King Gimmick's kingdom.

This evidence was wrapped tightly in my hands as I made my way to my Kingdom's trench wall dodging explosions, watching bullets sweep pass me with the speed of light. I was almost there when a bomb exploded couple meters away from me flying me into the trench wall, with a prefect landing on the sand bags supporting the wall. It was indeed a glorious scene.

That was what we needed to gain the support of other kingdoms. With them on our side, King Gerald doesn't stand a chance against us. Any other king would have proceeded with the war and conquer the enemy, but King Gimmick decided to give peace a chance, offering King Gerald a choice to withdraw and end the war for good.

double world To The Multiverse🌀🌀

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency