The Inkwell Prompt #56: A Higher Pursuit Than Perfection

Source

wisdom-g12fbf8222_1920.jpg

Delford Drake III and Thomas Stepforth III were best friends, both 16, both with a special bond: the men who bore their names were heroes to their community. Delford Drake Sr. had sacrificed his life to save the lives of his neighbors in the last great race riot in Lofton County; his son, Major Delford Drake Jr., had made the ultimate sacrifice for his country as a whole. Meanwhile, Thomas Stepforth Sr. was the county's first Black billionaire, and he and Major Thomas Stepforth Jr. were leaders in providing education to Black children along with civil rights and self-defense to the entire Black community.

“But this makes life so hard for us,” young Tom said to Dell, “because everybody looks at us like we have to be the first Black men on Mars.”

“The pursuit of perfection our elders have already achieved,” Dell said with a sigh. “I mean, in my case, nobody can even see that Dad and Grandpa were even human. They've been deified in death, and gods don't have to grow up.”

Tom sighed … he was a handsome boy of 16, deep bronze like his father and grandfather, with big brown eyes, broad nose, full lips, and often a huge and gloriously bright smile, but he was exhausted.

“Where do we find room to just be people?” Tom said. “I mean, we're not even men yet – we want to be, but we're not. I love my dad, and my grandpa, but all this pressure is ridiculous. I think about moving out of this county every day because it is just exhausting.”

“I wish I had an answer for you, Tom,” Dell said. “I get a lot of mentoring from Major Dubois, and he and his father are both in that high-achieving demigod tier of Black man in Lofton County too, but at the same time, they are so human. But you know who is extra human in that family?”

“Who?”

“Major Dubois's younger brother Jules. Monsieur Jules has a past, man – he messed up, got disowned, had a Covid scare, repented, and was taken back by his family. He did some wild stuff as a big finance man in New York, but now he's basically the family gardener!”

“What a fall!” Tom said.

“Yeah, but, he's extra human and he's making it somehow!”

“He's coming over here today, Dell, to the backyard so he and Dad can talk about how he is going to join the teachers and mentors at the Stepforth Study Hall. I'm going to get into that conversation!”

“Good plan, man – leave your phone on speaker so I can hear!”

“Will do, Dell!”

Tom had been out running, keeping his track skills up despite the fact that there was no school – but then, he had been on independent study for a year, so that Covid-19 was really no change for him. As he showered and put on his business casual clothes, he considered that Dell and many of their friends had become happier once they also had been able to opt for independent study – and that had to do with Major Stepforth getting home and setting up all the Stepforth Study Hall.

Tom was much happier with his life overall with Major Stepforth home … all the reasons why were there when the major saw his firstborn and said, “Pull up a chair, son,” and then had the hi-five ready for him before a grand introduction to Monsieur Jules.

“This one, right here, is why I do all that I do for every Black child in Lofton County,” Major Stepforth said. “He's my inspiration.”

Monsieur Jules smiled.

“Well, it is nice to meet you, Tom, third hero of your lineage.”

This was such a surprise to Tom that he sort of fell into his father.

“We all have gotten swept into the mission, Major,” Monsieur Jules continued, “so that's a powerful young man you are raising there!

“As I was saying, what I bring is the perspective of what happens when you nurture your dreams of getting to the city and getting rich to the exclusion of understanding personal and financial independence and freedom. I've seen it all, done it all, lost 90 percent of it and abandoned the rest to come to a new home with the same old people!”

“But what's wrong with getting rich?” Tom asked. “Sorry, Dad, to blurt out, but everybody I know is trying to get money, power, and respect!”

“Everybody we know too, son,” Major Stepforth said, “but, here comes someone who can answer your question better.”

“There is nothing wrong with getting rich, grandson,” said Thomas Stepforth Sr., “but unless you understand independence and freedom, you can become a slave to riches. Ask me – or ask your father, your aunts, or your grandmother – how I know that.”

“Wait – you're saying you're not perfect?” said Tom.

There was a pause, and then all three grown men cracked up laughing.

“I think we may have let you in on our secrets today, Tom,” grandfather Thomas said when they finished. “We're just people, just older and wiser after having gotten beat up enough.”

“I was the same as you, Tom, growing up in Black French Louisianan culture,” said Monsieur Jules. Now, in retrospect, I recognize what my parents valued: financial independence and personal freedom. What they built and taught us to build were investments, first the investment of a successful business – they chose how they wanted to make their money, and, free of that worry, they chose how they wanted to live in community. The point was not to stack money, but to be free, free to stop worrying about money, free to stop hoarding it and spending it trying to impress people who don't care the least bit about you, free to discover and live your life.

“So, suppose we teach you, Tom, and your peers, now? There's always some investment doing well even when times get bad – and there are combinations of talents God only gave to you to make a living around once you add skills to your talents. What if you learn now how to be in the system, but not of it – not ever enslaved by it, never having to compromise with evil in order to survive? How about we give you and your peers the opportunity that two of us here didn't know we had?”

Tom considered this.

“That sounds like a plan to me. I was tired of school because the schools here don't respect our people at all. Men and women like us have done all this great stuff for Lofton County and Virginia and this country, and because nobody learns it, they treat all of us like we're not worth anything but being returned to slavery. We even treat each other that way, trying to get to something better.

“I don't want to go into a world in which I have to depend on people who think I'm worthless to have chance. I don't have a problem with working hard and with other people who want the same, and y'all see I'm doing really well now with my education. So is Dell. So are a lot of other kids. We're just trying to find a way to be free.”

“We know, son,” Major Stepforth said. “I told you that you are my inspiration. We're going to make sure you have the upbringing and the tools to start out free.”

“I'm just going to be honest, Dell,” said Tom when he had gotten back to his room. “I started crying, the burden just lifting off of me. We don't have to be perfect; we just gotta learn how to get and stay free.”

“And so we can go to Mars if we want to, but not because we have to!” Dell said.

“Right on, man, right on.”

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency