The D Day

Time and time again I really wondered what tomorrow holds, I just can't get the thoughts out of my head.
Is this how getting married feels even after living with the one for months and knowing the one for years and it scares me as my legs shakes. I could be a baby all the time.
Who would have guessed, Doris is actually taking me for a lifetime.

Is everything in place? I could here Doris's voice she's really happy this is going down, I could just unplug the switch on this thing called wedding, it feels like a trap right now.
I've always been happy with myself and now I'm about being the man of the moment being put under the spotlight.
I really have no idea why all these thoughts are running through my mind, I'd love to see this through someone else's eye.

pexels-photo-888899 (1).jpeg
Source

What's going on here? Where did all these people come from?

Jeez, I couldn't believe my eyes as I had to close it for 5 seconds, opening it and still seeing this, this is just incredible.

Hello, excuse me who called for this?

Ask the lady behind you, the elderly man said as he closed the door behind him.

I was standing next to my mum as I turned around because I knew she could be the only one to make such a show.

Hi, mum, I said with a reluctance.
Hello, son, I could here the bitterness in her voice.

Raphael told me you were getting married some days ago and you just informed me today when it's tomorrow.

I actually didn't want to make a show, you know how I love things simple and here you are, you've made such a grand style in this hall, Mum I love you but...

But what, Doris screamed from behind.

Not you too, love.

Don't you realise it's just for a day, let her have it.

There was tension in the room that was suddenly increased as I inhaled a strong fragrance in the hall, there was only one man who would make such an entry after his wife has cleared the stage.

The last time I was home, I was told to run the family business along side my elder brother but it seemed I was always the stubborn one because I always wanted to do me.
I've always been proud of my family and what we had accomplished because growing up wasn't always fun and happy.
We had to scrimp and scrounge till it happened miraculously.
I and my siblings were all done with college when the inevitable happened.
We knew the family was blessed but the blessings didn't come immediately, it took years and it happened nevertheless.

The Silva's is such a big name which I never knew about until the last time I went visiting home, everyone was so interested in what the family had to offer, I just couldn't believe my eyes.
I mean I heard the stories which my younger sister always told me but never witnessed it. There were always people coming and leaving the house on a daily.
We came from nothing and now we are here you simply need to understand that those were my pop's words always.

I heard that same word again as he stepped in and my mum gave him that harsh look that I wasn't impressed with the show off they just made in the hall.
Doris couldn't just believe what it had turned to in less than 8 hours and I cared less. Now that the Silva's have some cash to flaunt, they actually did waste no time.

What's wrong man you look unhappy? Raphael said as he held on to Anita for protection but she shoved him towards me with the I told you look.

You know how much I don't like being all stylish and calling attention to myself and that's why I invited them late to prevent this, I don't even know what to call this I said as Raphael just looked at me.

There was quiet around and all I could here was just picture this moment because it's just for one day and that's the most beautiful day of your life at least one of the most beautiful days, let them have it, don't take it from them.

Just for that second, it all became clear to me.
I wanted all these as a kid and never did so I've embraced suffering to create a better life for myself so that my kids would have a better childhood than I did and now I don't want to give my parents any opportunity to have there own time with me, how selfish have I been.
Just realising this my mood was turned from tasteless to tasty just like Jesus had turned water to wine.

I'm really sorry man, thanks for informing them earlier

You shouldn't be thanking me you know.

I got back in and I could tell that the Silva's were not really happy but they could still make a show of wearing happy faces.

Pop, mom, I thank you for this. I really do love it but didn't expect it pardon my negligence but now you guys can do whatever you want because I know there's still a lot under your sleeves.

Mum yelled, sure, you bet.

I actually don't know why I didn't see this coming.

Thanks for visiting my blog, till next time.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency