Where my peace lies~~ DWOTW/Inkwell non-fiction prompt


Source

Time, they say waits for no one and who am I to disregard this? The way it flies so high makes one question, “Can I ever catch up with it?” And the amazing thing about humans is that we all struggle tirelessly to meet it and sometimes we get close while other times the distance it gives cannot be measured.

I am Jessica, 27 years old and a middle-working-class lady in society and time is what I look forward to meeting fully one day.

I did remember the years I was a baby, barely crawling, and then how I took the first step in life as momma and papa always tell me. All these fill me in on how my childhood was with pictures and videos they could muster up. I am an only child and the dotted love they have for me is something that can never be bought.

I found the world beautiful in their eyes as momma and papa were a giver, they gave to all even before the arrival of Christmas as they both run a bakery in the small town I grew up in.

Sitting on the floor beside my bed, I picked one picture among the many that were scattered on the floor as I move through memory lane. Tears brimmed in my eyes as I looked through these pictures, the transformation from babyhood to childhood then teenage towards adulthood and I’d have to admit, puberty took a toll on me.

Chuckling deeply, I set aside the pictures I held and stared into nothingness, the peace I found in my two-room apartment always calms my heart from the busy life of London.

The smile on my face was large and contagious as I could have sworn I felt the walls smile too as I just stared with peace in my heart. But then, there are three other places I feel at peace and the first is in the midst of children, there is just something wonderful and amazing watching them grow, the feeling is relatable which is one of the reasons I went into the teaching line.

Hearing the chatters of my ‘little creatures ‘ warms my heart though they are times I feel like shushing them all up which I know every parent feels and I do find that fun, and their looks when I become all serious with them with discipline and words of encouragement.

It is never an easy task taking care of kids from different backgrounds, it is hellish and tiring but still very much beautiful and can’t be missed out.

The other place I find peace is in the midst of the ocean, the waves of the sea calm me and soothe my aching heart when I miss my man, hehe, the beauty of the sea amazes me as I find solace in it.


Source

The way the cloud raise above and the changes in the atmosphere when the sun sets right in and the moon comes in afterward. It is an incredible feeling listening to the waves of the sea and walking around as the water that goes back and forth touches my leg and how my feet sinks deep into the sand as I walk which is an amazing feeling and these feeling cannot be bought nor borrowed as the ability to feel and breathe in the salty air of the sea makes my eyes shine so bright it can light up a dark room.

The last place where peace is found is in something so beautiful that I hear the world clasp its hands in delight whenever I find myself there and there I mean with him, and him as my man. The overall peace giver, the one who makes my heart race a million times per second as I am super thankful I met him at the beach that night.

Harry is a scientist whose life is surrounded by nature and scientific elements and to tell you, he does believe in God and that is one of the most beautiful things about him, including his perfectly shaped lips, his blue eyes, neatly shaved jaw, his hairline and his built body that makes me so hungry when I see it, hehe…

I love Harry so much, everything about him, his flaws, his way of life though we do have our differences we’ve learned to communicate and have things sorted out which leaves me with no doubt that I have finally found my soul mate.

My phone screen lit up as a call came in and oh yeah, speaking of the devil, hehe. Pressing the pick-up button, a conversation ensued.

“Is my baby in her nicest behavior and didn’t call me a devil before picking up today?” asked a rich Pinewood voice which makes my underneath drip nicely.

Chuckling loudly, I replied, “Well you can’t blame me, I can’t help thinking or saying that as my man is devilishly handsome and good” hehe…

The laugh that came in between vibrated all around and I felt my smile bigger almost leaving me with a joker's face.

“Always with the punch line and I am never tired of hearing and would never, you make me devilishly handsome Jess and I can’t help but tell you continually how beautiful you are too, starting from those amazing sumptuous lips of yours followed by your green eye, your all figured body, and your long blonde hair, they all fit perfectly in one baby and I love how perfectly made you are, you are incredible that I can’t see myself living without you which is why I am calling tonight baby, would you marry me?" he asked and I could feel the thumping of his heart.

“What!” I asked surprisingly.

“Stand up and look out your window honey pie.”

Standing up, I walked out of my room toward the sitting room and stared out the window, on one knee is my devilish handsome lover with a placard in his hand that says Marry me, baby, and a devilish smile on his lip waiting in anticipation for my reply.

Chuckling deeply, I spoke through the phone, “You are a weirdo Harry and I respect and love you so much my heart scream in delight saying Yes!" I screamed.

I could hear footsteps coming through as I dashed toward the door, opening it, I embrace my beloved as tons of breathless kisses were shared, stopping me from being all smooch with his face, lips, nose, and anywhere my lips could touch, he slipped in a simple yet shining ring and it fits in perfectly as he carried me bridal style toward my room while I stretched my hand and closed the door smiling deeply for the life that lays await and also the judgment that awaits me in the room, hehe…

This is my response to the DWOTW prompt of the year by @samsmith1971 using Time, Distance, and Sanctuary and inkwell nonfiction peace.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency