The Last Wish.

man-539993_1280.jpg

"Stop there!" The voice spoke while pointing a strange object at the intruder.

"Do not move and drop your weapons." The voice said again in a calm manner.

However, the intruder edged forward, and the voice spoke again...

"You'll be surprised at the next place you'll find yourself if you move again." The voice threatens."



Two Days Earlier.

"Can you explain again? but this time around, think of me as a four year old." Bethany said, staring at her cousin like he had suddenly become a hydra.

"I just need your brain to carry out the operation, Beth. This is a matter of urgency. You need to understand that there's a lot at stake."Adam replied, pulling on his wet hair like a frustrated kid who is having difficulty in picking one out of his three favorite candies.

"Adam, I don't understand you. You have not said any reasonable words since you've barged in some minutes ago." Closing her eyes, she continued when she saw him still pulling his hair. "Don't you think you may turn bald all of a sudden with all the pulling?"She questioned him with pity.

"Don't give me that look, Beth. That doesn't matter, and you do understand what I am saying. I don't know why you are making it hard to comprehend, you..." Seeing the change in her facial expression, Adam pauses before sighing. "I know it sounds ridiculous, but that's exactly what Parenthood does to humans."He said with a huff.

"Well, I am thankful we both understand how ridiculous this sounds. Asking me to do that is not something I am comfortable doing." She said as she walked briefly to her opened window to breathe in fresh air.

Her eyes had a faraway look to it, and Adam understood why. He knows what he is asking. Bringing back a memory she wants to bury forever is not cool, but he has no choice. He needed her brain-work to tell them what to do. Ever since his eight years old child, Tony told him about his friend, Simon, and his last wish, he couldn't help but try helping.

He is willing to be the doer of the action. Stealing is bad. He knows this. However, if stealing is the only way to bring peace into the family, he gladly will.

"Bethany, you don't have to do the acting, I can carry it out alone. Just give me the plans and all and I'll be out of your air." He said with a huge sigh.

"And your son? What would he think of you after this operation?" She asked before placing her hands calmly on her face. "I haven't forgotten about it, Adam. What if someone gets hurt again? Will you... what would you do?" Bethany asked with teary eyes.

"He won't talk to me again after the incident. It has been more than eighteen years now. And you bringing this to me is not fair. I can't watch you go through pain either." She added, touching Adam's face.

Holding her hands, he sighed. "I don't think he is mad at us again. We were kids, and it wasn't anyone's fault. It was bound to happen. So, don't let the guilt get to you."

Letting out a huge sigh, Bethany shakes her head. "Tell me everything again."

"He has cancer. And he won't last long. His parents had done all his wishes except one. They don't know how to go with it. He wants to be a police officer who catches thieves." Smiling, Adam continued. "Tony is sad that his friend is dying, and when he told me his last wish, I knew I could help but not without you. I need you to draw the plan of the operation. How to get in and then, the rest will be my thing." He added.

Letting out a bigger sigh, Bethany spoke. "Does Tony know about your plan?"She asked.

"No one knows except you. Tony can stay with you on the day I leave for the operation." He replied.

"Adam... you know Tony has no one but you. Your wife died in labor, and I can't be a father and mother to him. That is your job. I know you don't like seeing your son unhappy, and you'll do anything to see him smile. But, there are things in life that shouldn't be done..."

Drawing her nose, Bethany continued. "But I know you are very stubborn. Trying to fulfill a child's last wish is a very good thing to do, especially knowing stealing is your speciality." She said with a chuckle. "However, I think it'll be wise to let his parents know what you intend to do for their son. And we need a policeman we can plan with. You don't have to worry about that. I have a friend who is a policeman. So, let's just meet with them all tomorrow. Now, go to your son. It is getting late." She said with a smile before pushing her cousin out of her house.



A Day Before The Operation.

Bethany was still bathing in dreamland when an annoying voice woke her up. Opening her eyes with every cuss word she could think of without coffee in her vein, she rose up from bed and did her morning routine.

As she decided to take her coffee, her phone rang again, and she picked up.

"Just take your coffee first before you start barking at me." Adam said with a chuckle, and Bethany couldn't help but smile before taking a sip.

"You know me well, and that isn't creepy at all." Bethany said with a larger smile.

"I am dressed up. I'll be at the station soon. I'll give you a beep so you can pick me up, and we can both meet up with the boy's parents. I hope you've scheduled a meeting with them?" She asked.

"Yeah... yeah, Miss. Planner. What else do you need me to get in place, ma'am?" Adam asked with a chuckle.

"For a soon to be thief, you seem to be joking around. Just prepare everything needed for your operation and that's all." She responded before ending the call to enjoy her coffee in silence.



police-station-3279881_1280.jpg

Some minutes later, Bethany found her way to the police station, where she explained things to her friend, John.

"I know this may sound crazy, John. But it is all for the kid. My stubborn cousin wants to fulfill his last wish. " She said with a chuckle, and John nodded in understanding.

"That's what parenthood does to us." John replied, and Bethany couldn't help the laugh that escaped her lips.



An hour later, Bethany met with Adam, and they both found their way to the restaurant Adam booked.

"Wow, I love the exterior decoration, Adam. You always have eyes for good things, bravo, bro!" Bethany said with a smile.

"Yes, I know, and that is how I got a handsome son." He replied with a chuckle.

"Welcome to Let Us Serve You restaurant. Do you have a reservation, or would you like to make one now?" asked the waiter that met with them.

"Oh, no! We have a reservation under Tony's name." Adam replied with a smile as the waiter took them to their table.

However, Bethany almost staggered when she saw who was at the table. Swallowing deeply, her hands became wet all of a sudden. She shook her head swiftly like a drunk who was trying to make a speech.

"Ad... Ada.." Closing her eyes, she held Adam's cloth. "Is that?" She asked with her eyes, completing her statement.

"Just sit first. Let's talk." Adam replied.

After sitting, the waiter brought over their order made by Adam.

"I didn't know it was him until this morning when I called him." Adam explained, and Bethany sighed.

Biting her lips gently, Bethany opened her mouth to speak, but Simon's Dad beat her to it.

"I asked my wife to stay with our son. I... I am sorry about everything that happened eighteen years ago. I knew it wasn't your fault, Beth, but at that time, we were only kids. I felt pained and blamed you both. I have forgiven you both a very long time ago." He said with a smile.

"Life is very funny, and I do apologize about your leg. We were just kids who loved playing the game police and thief, and I can't forget how you fell from the stairs and hurt your legs that day. I didn't know the water I was drinking spilled on the floor earlier." Bethany explained, and Simon's father, Anthony, nodded.

"Thank you both for doing this for my son. His cancer came as a surprise to us. It is very painful that we will lose him soon, but I know he will always watch over us wherever he goes." Anthony said with a painful smile.

After speaking for some more minutes. They all departed, and the plan was put in motion some hours later.



"You'll be surprised at the next place you'll find yourself if you move again." The voice threatens."

Closing his eyes, Adam couldn't help the tears that stained his eyelids as the boy spoke. He would have been a very good policeman, he thought.

" Drop your bag and raise up your hands, and kneel." Simon spoke, holding his toy gun at hand.

Adam did as he was instructed and dropped the bag where he took some gold and cash.

”Gently place your hands behind your back." The boy ordered before he called on his parents with a smile on his lips.

"There's a thief here, Dad. Call 911." Simon screamed.

...and some minutes later, a police siren was heard. The thief was arrested, and Simon was praised by the policeman for watching over his family.


Image-Source 1


Image-Source 2


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency