This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Adire's midnight encounter.

african-senior-woman-portrait.jpg

"These things aren't real...ahn, ahn. Ahn, ahn. Now, do you see where you've landed yourself now, Miss Superstition aren’t real?" Maami Adire said as she adjusted the wrapper on her hip with a single swing of her right hand to the left.

"Continue sitting there like you have leprosy and don't go inside your room, take your bath and eat your food. You should be thankful your brother has resumed back to college, if not, that food is a goner. You know he can eat a whole house and still look like he hasn't taken a grain of rice." Maami Adire added before going to her room, leaving Adire sitting on the tiled floor like a boneless fish.

Letting out a huge sigh, Adire planted both her hands on her ear like a bomb was about to explode beside her, and she needed to protect her ears from the impact. Her heart heaved up and down as the happening of last night befell her. "No, it is not real!" she mumbled endlessly like a newbie in a psychiatric home as she shut both her eyes.

Suddenly, her breathing became worse as the replay of the event felt real, and with a loud scream, Adire's body slumped on the floor.

Maami Adire quickly rushed out of her room with her husband on her tail as they found Adire's body lying on the cold floor. Her father, who was a retired doctor at a government hospital, quickly swung to action despite his old age and checked on his daughter's pulse.

After checking her pulse and her heart, it became obvious that Adire only fainted because she was stressed. Both parents worked hand in hand by carrying their only daughter and first born to her room to rest on her bed while they both sat close to her bed.

Adire's father left the room later, leaving Adire and her mother, "Be careful with her. She'll be fine. She must still be afraid of whatever she saw. Ask her gently again. Yes, I know you've warned them severally regarding their night movement because of spirits that roams out at night and also for their safety. Now, she will believe that there are things that aren't superstitions. You know I have a live meeting soon with older patients, I have to go now and prepare." Adire's father said before kissing his wife.

Sighing deeply, Maami Adire stared at her baby's face as tears filled her face. She had never seen her daughter like that. If she had known, she would have not left her like she did.

Adire stirred her body a little, making Maami Adire to quickly clean off her tears with the tip of her wrapper before planting a smile on her face.

"Omomi(my child) are you awake?" Maami Adire questioned with a beautiful smile.

Opening her eyes, Adire hugged her mother tightly as her mother returned the same energy.

"Maami... I am scared, I don't think I can sleep or think after what I saw while I was coming home at that time." Adire said out loud between the hugs.

Holding both Adire's hands, Maami Adire sat her down well on the bed. "My daughter, don't be scared. I am here for you so tell me what you saw. You've been like this since I opened the door for you this morning after Baba Jide the hunter and our neighbor brought you home, God bless his soul."

Swallowing the spit in her mouth, Adire began the narration.

"Since yesterday was Friday, I had planned to come visit you and Baami as a surprise to spend the weekend after work since we'd close early. I was even able to leave work earlier, but I got stucked in Lagos traffic. Before the bus finally left Lagos to Oyo state, everywhere was already dark. When I got to Oyo park, the driver said we should stay behind if where we are going is far, saying it was better to leave very early the next day. But I wasn't having that discussion with him by sleeping in the park. So, I left."

Sighing deeply, Adire looked at mothers face before continuing, "At first, it was hard for me to get a bus home, but after taking a long walk, I saw a taxi that was going my way and I boarded it. As the taxi moved on and on, after some minutes, the engine broke down and when I checked the time, it was already 3:30 am so I came down. It was then I noticed that I was almost close home so I just left after paying the man for his half service."

side-view-depressed-woman-indoors.jpg

Adire closed her eyes a bit as her heart started beating faster like it was on a treadmill. Noticing her daughter's mood, Maami Adire held Adire's hands tightly which prompted Adire to open her eyes as her heart calmed a bit.

"I... I started walking down until I got to our street route. As I entered the street, I didn't even know what prompted me to look back and that's when I saw her. At first, I thought my eyes were playing games with me until I saw the person's face clearer and noticed that she was walking but her feet weren't touching the ground. My body became cold and I just stood there shaking before running off. I didn’t even know how I ran or where I was running to. All I remembered was that I hit someone's body which I later knew was Baba Jide our neighbor. He took me to his house but I couldn't sleep and he didn't question me. He brought me home this morning." Adire narrated biting her lower lips.

Hugging her daughter tightly, Maami Adire patted her for some minutes before she asked, "Who did you see?"

Biting both her lips, tears filled Adire's eyes as she stared at her mother. "I saw... I saw Mama Funsho, my primary school teacher who died last year." Adire said.

"Oh, my dear... I know how much you adored her. I am sorry you had to see her like that. Baba Jide must have seen her too, maybe that's why he didn't talk. As a hunter, he gets to see these things that's why he always wears his ancestral charms. This is why you must not walk at night. I have always told you and your brother. There are some spirits that can even harm someone. I am thankful that you were not harmed. Don't think about it too much. Instead of replaying the scenario in your head, pray for her, okay?" Maami Adire said hugging her daughter more.

"Thank you Maami. I have learned my lessons even if it isn't the best way I would have hoped I had." Adire replied.

"I see you are better after talking to your mother." Baami Adire said walking into Adire's room.

"Ah, Baami. Good day Sir." Adire greeted her father.

"You seem to be better now. I just ended my meeting." Baami Adire said.

"Oh, yes. It is Saturday. Your live meeting with older patients who have health issues. I see." Adire replied.

"Now, I am hungry. Ehn, Iyawo mi(my wife) so because your daughter is here you decided to starve your husband enh?" Baami Adire said with a smile.

"You and food ehn, your son took after this your chop-chop (eating) behavior too. Sha, let's go." Maami Adire said to her husband, turning around, she spoke to Adire, "Will you not come and carry your morning food before I go and feed it to my goat?" She questioned Adire with her hands on her hip.

Smiling deeply, Adire quickly stood up from her bed when she saw her father going toward the kitchen. "Baami, leave my food ooo." She screamed.


Image-Source 1 2