Inkwell prompt #58|| The space between us.

img_0.2966597263550965.jpg
Source

It was Saturday afternoon, Luca stayed home with his wife( Lara ), as there was no work that day.
They were having a great time together, talking, laughing, eating pizzas, and watching a movie in the Livingroom.
Everything thing was okay, until, Adam his youngest child walked in, he looked beaten up. But didn't say a word to them, but ran upstairs as quickly as he came in.

Luca looked at look at his wife with a little bit of confusion,

"What was that all about, " he asked his wife

"I don't know, maybe you should check upon him" she replied.

"What?!, No ... No, No, ..his fine, I mean, he's a grown man, he's fine " Luca insisted.

"Honey, he's twelve," Lara said, now getting up from the couch they were both sitting on.

"Really??" He said with a seemingly high pitched voice and a weird face

"Seriously ??, don't tell me you don't know how old your son is .." she said, as she picked up the pizza boxes and the empty glass cup from the table.

"Of course I do, he's twelve, isn't he ?" he continued,

"Oh my God!!, Luca !.... I can't deal with this right now...why are you always like this " she flared.

"Relax...Lara, I was only joking " he said as he moved closer to her, hugging her from behind before saying " you know I gat you, it's me and you for life ... but I don't know how Adam would react to me not being around for so long.."

"But you know, at some point, you are going to have to talk to him, right?!" Lara said now fully calm and looking into his eye.

"You know what ... you're right .. if I keep running I'll never have closure with my son...see that's why I love you, you're so smart, and beautiful, and kind and loving, plus you're an excellent cook"..Luca praised Lara who could only smile and giggle while still maintaining a strong eye contact which him.
"Thanks, babe," he said, as he kissed her on the cheek and made for the stairs.
"How did I ever get a smart woman like you to fall for me ??" He asked smiling as he went upstairs.

"I guess you just got lucky" Lara replied, causing them both to smile and giggle.

"I love you, babe, " Luca said, blowing her a kiss.

She replied by catching it, and doing a little spin before saying, " I love you, darling,....now hurry up, you son's waiting....oh! and take some pizza with you"

Meanwhile, in Adam's room...

Adam walked into his room, locking the door behind him and throwing his bag on his bed.

He took his phone from his pocket and began to a long stare at his phone while wearing a face that screams "I'm in trouble "...

He sat in front of his reading desk and began to cry when he heard a knock on his door.

"Go away, I'm busy " he replied to the knock.

Knock knock knock,

the sound came again

"it's Dad, " Luca said "I come bearing pizza and drinks"

"Go away Dad !!." He said in a sassy manner, I don't want anything thing from you".

"Adam just open the door please.." Luca begged

"Why ?..so that you can come in and go as you please ?". Adam said in a tone that carried both anger and pain. "Go away Dad, I hate you, just lemme alone "...

"Adam, I know you're angry because you think I'm a bad father, but the truth is that your right I am a bad father, and you have every right to hate me ......
Ever since you were born Adam, I've not been able to do things right by you, and it's my fault and I'm sorry ... But I'm here now, even though I know nothing I say or do can ever be able to fix the mistakes I've made, I still want to try with you.
Please son open the door..".

The silence grew and filled the atmosphere, drowning everything in its voicelessness.

Luca Knew his son would not be coming out soon so he dropped the plate of pizza and drink by the door and began his exit downstairs.

Downstairs

Lucas's wife Lara, was watching the desperate housewife TV show when he walked in...

"Hey, honey, how did it go?" She asked half focused on the TV and half focused on him.

" He locked me out,...I mean the kid thinks that I'm a terrible father " he stated

"Well that's what you get for actually being a terrible father," she said, still half focused on the TV and half focused on him.

Silence again thickened for a while, as Lara noticed his mood, she decided to cheer him up...

"At least you didn't run away," she said again as there was an awkward pause for a moment before they burst into a peal of awkward laughter...

Lara returned to watching her TV show while Luca sat depressed, thinking about how he wasted his whole life moving around from city to city, and town to town, all in the name of music. Instead of creating a meaningful bond with his child.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency