The Courier

The Courier

Source

The tree line in the forest had turned from an intermittent line of trees to an unbroken continuous wall of darkness. I walked alone through this space, which seemed to reach all the way up from the ground and beyond, up toward heaven... The green had been replaced by a pitch-black void. It was dark. It was cold.

The road was wet and muddy. There seemed to be no light in the forest, just a few stars peeking through trees that stood tall and thick. The mountains looked like huge peaks of rock covering a bare area of earth, with only a narrow path leading through it.

There was a faint motorcycle light further down the road. As I got a little closer, I realized it belonged to a courier. I started walking fast towards him. Maybe he would help me and take me to a warm café instead of walking alone in the rain.
Taking my hopes in the palm of my hand, I quickened my steps and started walking.

In the woods, there are many sounds that you don't hear out in the open. The wind blowing and leaves rustling, birds flapping their wings with a melody to most people's ears. But I have known certain birds to be like buskers during birds' mating season. In fact, it's quite common to hear an owl hoot in response to its mate's pheromones or even see them bobbing up and down on tree branches or waiting for their prey at night!

When I approached there, I suddenly heard grunting and breathing noises.
This sound, I was not expecting to hear.

Dozens of zombies suddenly appeared around.
I didn't know what to do.
I immediately jumped on the motorcycle and started riding. I had to get away fast and luckily the motorcycle was open. It had the key on it. I had just gotten my driver's license, so I didn't have much experience in driving.

I remember I was speeding along this rainy forest road and I was coming towards my house.
How fast I was going, my heart was beating out of my mouth. I find it hard to remember those moments.

I was home.
Safe...

My hunter's cabin in the forest was beautiful, with the falling rain and also the sounds of wildlife. My cabin had a large forested area surrounding it. It was open on one side and its roof was made up of logs with tar paper draped over them. There were windows on every wall of the building, but they were covered by curtains to let in the little light that there was in the evening hours. It wasn't big enough to sleep five people comfortably, but it would be more than enough for anyone else who wanted to come out into the wilderness and take a breather from civilization for an hour or so.

Suddenly my doorbell rang.
Frightened, I went to the door and opened it. A courier…
A male courier with black hair and a leather jacket arrived at my door. He wore a brown messenger bag over his shoulders and carried several overnight packages.
''Bro, why are you running away with our delivery? I had some food to drop there. I can not believe you! now I'll have to apologize to them because of you!''

I gave him the keys to the motorcycle in shock. Then I got curious and followed him. I knew where he was going.

My house is near the forest so it wasn't hard to find him.

He approached one of the zombies and gave him a package. He apologized to the zombies. That's... What's this?
Suddenly, all the zombies started pulling sauces out of the courier's package.
Barbecue.!
Ranch.!
Bitter Mustard!
Garlic mayonnaise!
Buffalo sauce!
Ketchup!

But there was no food. The zombies, smiling, suddenly exploded one of the sauces on the courier.
Suddenly!
I realized what the zombies were going to do to him...

The food itself was not in the packages, the food itself was ''The Courier...''

Thank you for reading my story. The 30 days 30 stories challange continues.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency