Another Halloween night | Otra noche de Halloween [Eng./Esp.]


¡Eh! Amigo de habla hispana, has clic 👉 AQUÍ 👈 para leer la versión en español…



English Version



Like every night of the thirty-first of October for the past seven years, here I am, sitting at the bar of this dingy tavern, surrounded by bony, bizarre costumes, the men, and ghastly witches, the women. A gloomy atmosphere, dimly lit by strobe lights that showed glimpses of skeletons and magical silhouettes. The rounds of beers are endless, some more daring ask for a repetition of the whiskey to warm up or get into the mood faster. The air thick with tobacco smoke.



There I was, seeking to get drunk alone with my torments of the events of that October 31st, my daughter's tenth birthday. Two thousand five hundred and fifty-five days have passed since Rosario went out with her little friends to knock on the doors of the neighbourhood of this hamlet in the north of Canada...

Rosario's little face shone stars of fairy make-up, she wore a pretty red printed dress with her pink belt, white slippers, a bow that made her look taller and her bag of magic powder where she would receive the sweets when she knocked “Trick or treat!” or as her grandmother had taught her “Trick or Treat!”. The O'Brain family's door was the last door they saw him knock on. According to his little friends, he had to go home because he couldn't stand the urge to pee.



The search was fruitless, my little Rosario never appeared. I am still looking for her in my memories, every moment she lived with them. That night, we would sing her birthday to her. In the morning, when she tried on her costume, with her little wand she would sing abracadabra, abracadabra, abracadabra..., running all over the house. Like all children, he dreamed of this day arriving..., his smile was a reflection of this.



I leave the bar drunk, I don't even know the time. I feel my body heavy, silence drowns the street. A full moon in the firmament envelops the night's haze with greyish hues. To my left, I noticed a singular house in the shape of a pumpkin, from where the chant “abracadabra, abracadabra, abracadabra...”, hypnotised me and made me walk towards it. Through one of the windows I saw my little girl Rosario, joyful in the field while choosing the best pumpkin. From my eyes, tears welled up and a breath of encouragement took hold of me...



I ran, arms outstretched, shouting -Rosario, Rosario... Fire inside my body as I hugged and kissed her. — My child, where have you been? A shrill, mocking, eerie laughter filled the place. Opening my eyes, my arms embraced a hellish skeleton. From its jaws the laughter and the breath of death. I let go of that skeleton, the drunkenness vanished, and I ran, ran, ran, in the darkness of the night.



I didn't notice where I was running, it seemed as if my footsteps were touching sacred ground. I felt the emptiness as I fell to the bottom of an open pit. On an inert body, its humeri, ulnae, and radii intertwined above me. -Daddy, daddy, daddy, daddy...!... A concise tap on my shoulder, -friend, friend..., wake up, we're about to close!...





This is my entry in the challenge: Trick or treat! - Share your scariest story and win your Halloween badge sponsored by @hivebuzz, to which you are cordially invited. Hurry up, you have until 23:59 on 31 October...


CREDITS




Versión Español




Como cada noche del treinta y uno de octubre, durante los últimos siete años, ¡eme!, aquí, sentado en la barra de esta taberna de mala muerte, rodeado de extravagantes disfraces huesudos, los hombres, y de espantosas brujas, las mujeres. Un ambiente lúgubre, iluminado tenuemente por las luces estroboscópicas que dejaba ver destellos de esqueletos y siluetas mágicas. Las rondas de cervezas son interminables, algunos más osados pedían repetir el whisky para entrar en calor o en ambiente más rápido. El aire espeso, lleno de humo del tabaco.



Allí me encontraba yo, buscaba embriagarme solo con mis tormentos de los sucesos del aquel 31 de octubre en que mi hija cumpliría 10 años. Dos mil quinientos cincuenta y cinco días han transcurrido desde que Rosario salió con sus amiguitas a tocar las puertas del vecindario de este caserío al norte de Canadá…

La carita de Rosario brillaba estrellas del maquillaje de hada, llevaba un lindo vestido rojo estampado con su cinturón rosa, zapatillas blancas, un moño que le hacía lucir más alta y su bolsa de polvos mágicos donde recibiría los dulces al tocar «¡Truco o dulce!» o como le había enseñado la abuela «¡Golosina o Truco!». La puerta de la familia O´Brain fue la última que le vieron visitarar. Según sus amiguitas, debía regresar a casa porque no se aguantaba los deseos de orinar.



La búsqueda fue infructuosa, mi pequeña Rosario nunca apareció. Aún, la sigo buscando en mis recuerdos, cada momento vivido con ellas. Esa noche le cantaríamos el cumple años. En la mañana, cuando se probaba su disfraz, con su barita cantaba ¡abracadabra, abracadabra, abracadabra…!, corriendo por toda la casa. Como todos los niños, soñaba que llegara ese día…, su sonrisa era el reflejo de ello.



Salí ebrio del bar, ni siquiera sé la hora. Siento mi cuerpo pesado, el silencio ahoga la calle. Una luna llena en el firmamento envuelve de matices grisáceos la neblina de la noche. A mi izquierda, noté una singular casa en forma de calabaza, de donde el canto ¡abracadabra, abracadabra, abracadabra…!, me hipnotizaba y me hacía caminar hacia ella. Por una de las ventanas vi a mi niña Rosario, alegre en el campo mientras escogía el mejor zapallo. De mis ojos, las lágrimas brotan y un aliento de ánimo se apodera de mí…



Corrí, con los brazos extendidos, gritando —Rosario, Rosario… Fuego dentro de mi cuerpo al abrazarla y besarla. —Mi niña, ¿dónde te habías metido? Una carcajada chillona, burlona y espeluznante llenó el lugar. Abriendo mis ojos, mis brazos rodeaban a un infernal esqueleto. De sus mandíbulas las carcajadas y aquel aliento de muerte. Solté aquella osamenta, la embriaguez desapareció y correr, correr, correr, en la oscuridad de la noche.



No me fijé hacia dónde corría, parecía que mis pisadas tocaban tierra sacra. Sentí el vacío cuando caía al fondo de una fosa abierta. Sobre un cuerpo inerte, sus húmeros, cúbitos y radios se entrelazaban sobre mí. —¡Papi, papi, papi…!… Unas concisas palmadas sobre mi hombro, —¡amigo, amigo…!, ¡despierte!, ya vamos a cerrar.





Esta es mi participación en el reto: ¡Truco o golosina! - Comparte tu historia más terrorífica y gana tu insignia de Halloween auspiciado por @hivebuzz, a la cual estás cordialmente invitado. Apúrate, tienes hasta las 23:59 del día 31 de octubre…


CRÉDITOS


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency