Confidence!

source
Being the first son of my parents came with much challenges and responsibilities. At home, I'm the next in chain of command immediately after my mother who is professionally supervised by my father.
These responsibilities were assigned to me based on trust which my parents developed for me which started from the day both of them began to leave my siblings behind for work.
I did as I was instructed and obeyed at all times. My duties were well specified and made simple to my understanding.

After secondary school, I enrolled for a scholarship exam which later favoured me through series of exams and interviews.
Studying Civil engineering in the university was a very big thing that really impressed my parents and I also proved their love for me by getting certified with a second class upper B. Sc degree.

source
After graduation, life in fantasy of my parents faded away as much attentions were focused on my juniors.
I continued to apply for jobs up till my fourth year after graduation.
While I was searching for vacancies in almost all the known construction companies in my region, a friend whom I had helped in on of our final exams saw me at Ibiam bus stop, stopped to say hello to a long time friend.

What!!

Ebanga!
Is that you?
He stepped down from his brand new highlander jeep, walked straight to where I was waiting for him and gave me a hug with a smiling face.
"Bro, how are you doing?"
He asked, hoping that my reply would be fine and fantastic, but the reverse was the case.
I sincerely opened up my case before him, expressed myself based on how I felt back then.
He looked up to heaven and said a prayer saying;
"Thank you God for Emmanuel my friend".
I was contemplating on why he said such prayer coupled with the fact that he was yet to say a single word related to my unemployment status.
He gave me his card after a brief discussion on where I'd love to be employed and the position which I'd love to assume.
I answered all the questions like a person undergoing an interview since he has a car and is well looking, wrote some on papers and made photocopies of my documents, filed and gave it to my hope of getting a good job.

source
Ebanga made a promise of getting a job for me before he drove away.
On that day, I went home very hopeful, dreamt of everything good to be owned through the help of my fat salaries and allowances.
He did as promised, found a job for me which the interview took place after three days of meeting him.
I went for the interview, did very well according to the manager and secured my position in the company as the assistant secretary of the supervision team.
From that day, my life got some good features which every young graduate of Civil engineering wish for.
I earned fat salaries and allowances, ate good foods with life insurances, drove big cars and wore beautiful suits, Jens and boots.
Living the good life has much responsibilities attached to it and temptations were lingering at every corner of my walls of understanding.

source
As a person whose self had wanted a companion, a woman to call my own, love and respect, cherish and pleasure with.
I mate Amaka, the last daughter of a rich man who owns another construction company in need of contracts.
She came into my life with much expectations, hungered for my heart and fully respected me for who I've become. I never saw her real intentions and aims of being in a relationship with me until she turned to a Delilah of my days.
She and her father planned on pulling down our company through me by influencing my supervisions and decisions.
She made series of attempts to rewrite my discussions and summary of many meetings with the labourers in my laptop, but forgot that I usually backup my files in the cloud whenever I was done with every key I punched when typing.

source
Amaka, the Delilah of my days exposed her silly attempts by calling my team a fraudster group in a newspaper which wrongly assessed the collapsed building, requested for a summary of my supervision.
To me, it was an attempt which I must overcome with ease.
I quickly read the one on my PC and it sounded not like what I have been doing for years.
I ignored it since I have a backup file in the cloud, that was my savior.
On presenting the backup file to the leaders of my Company, they nodded their heads and hailed me a Bravo.
I smiled within me, knowing fully well that my relationship with Amaka was over with me being on the safer side.
Since then, I've not heard from her, neither have I seen her anywhere.
What a failed attempt!
.
.
.
.
This is my entry to inkwell #60, a contest for all creative writers on hive blockchain.
Below are links of all images used and we're sourced from pixabay.com
https://pixabay.com/photos/board-school-self-confidence-2433989/
https://pixabay.com/photos/business-man-laptop-work-outdoors-2452805/
https://pixabay.com/photos/architect-people-plan-construction-3979490/
https://pixabay.com/photos/woman-floating-portrait-attractive-1866858/
https://pixabay.com/photos/taxes-tax-evasion-police-handcuffs-3856805/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency